Customer Reviews for

The 9/11 Commission Report: The Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States (Authorized Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    We all seek the truth

    Just like the Warren Commission Report, the 9/11 Commission Report is one of the biggest lies ever told to us Americans. This books makes interesting reading in my position as a investigative journalist, I read it from beginning to end. I'd like to thank my colleague David R. Griffin for writing down his comments on this report. I hope he's safe and well -- in the movie JFK, Mr. X, a character played by Donald Sutherland, we hear, 'Fundamentally, people are suckers for the truth.' I'm one of them, and this has brought me to the point where I found myself unable to work under my real name (Monica de Bruyn), and forced to continue my business under my middle name and husband's name. We all seek for the truth most Americans have watched the Inside 9/11 series on National Geographic. We have a new Oliver Stone movie coming up: World Trade Center. Will this change the American people's view on this book? Mark my words: it will.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    Must Read for All

    It comes down to this: no matter what your political persuasion, every American should read this. This report lays out in minute detail the failings of two administrations in keeping America safe. In addition, it gives us an opportunity to make sure it never happens again, at least make it as difficult as possible. This is not a Republican issue or a Democrat issue, it's an AMERICAN issue. If we bury our heads in the sand or close our minds because of partisanship, we are doomed to repeat the mistakes of the past. Do we really want to lose another 3,000+ innocents?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    America's Wake-up Call

    The tragedy that unfolds throughout the pages of the 9/11 Commission Report is a reminder to each and every reader that individuals cannot change the events that happen during a lifetime but individual lives are changed by events. Read the book and use all of the emotions that it evokes to make meaningful changes in your own life. Commit to living each and every day to the fullest. Regardless of how the terrorist attacks happened, we can all agree that the events before, during and after that unforgettable September morning were life altering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    Fact is More Engaging Than Fiction

    The authors of the Report have managed to so subtly impress order on a vast amount of information that they have recreated not only the events of September 11, but the atmosphere in which they unfolded. The result is a narrative which neither trivializes the public and personal cost by opting for sensation nor minimizes the reality by resorting to a sterile recitation of innumerable facts. The reader is impelled by the flow of information; and this is as it should be for so overwhelming a day. The facts are what they are. The art is in the accessibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    should be read by all

    It might seem long at first, but it is any easy read, very accessible - the style is more like a novel than anything else. If you only read the 'report' itself it is a shame because many of the interesting hard facts and factoids are to be found in the foot/endnotes - the 'meat' is there, the reader must just make the effort to read everything. Same for the recommendations, they make sense, but their application seems uncertain as they are over-broad in some cases (increasing congressional oversight?!) or bound to become political hot potatoes. The bi-partisan approach shows in such that the errors made by both administrations involved are mentioned. The style might detract from the importance of what is written, but overall this should be definite required reading for all. May there be more commission reports published in a similar way on issues just as important, if not more! (as medicare, ..)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    A must read!!!

    I havent gotten all the way through yet but this book is very imformative and lets you understand what the government knows about the goings on in the plane during the hi-jackings and also the type of man Bin Ladin is. This is something everyone should read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    All US Citizens must read

    I admit, I haven't read the whole thing yet, but I already know that each and every citizen of the US should read this report. Have a copy in every home for younger people to read when they are old enough. 20 years from now this report should still be mandatory at every high school in the country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Great book

    I picked it up the day it came out, I've never put it down more than 3 times since then. It's really a great book, and you can finally get a sense of closure from the terrorist attacks. The timeline is so amazingly on track, and it's amazing to look at the time, and think what you were doing at that exact moment on 9/11. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants closure from the attacks. No one is to blame for the attacks, it was a series of poor communication, and false information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Awesome

    I also admit that I have yet to finish this excellent report. Many meaningful facts are presented in this book as well as insights to what went wrong on that horrible day. Also included are ways to prevent future attacks. The dialogue of the terrorists onboard American 11, 77, 93, and 175 are very chilling, as well as the calls made by passengers, very sad. I believe that in the future, this report will be a mandatory read in many high schools, as it should be.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Amazing reading...

    The information in this Report is absolutely stunning. What happened during the time of the 9/11 attacks was riveting reading. It is also important for Americans to truly understand the nature and intent of the attackers and their deep hatred of America and what we stand for. It can and will probably happen again unless we change our way of doing things in the world. Just increasing security in airports wont cut it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Readable, fascinating, important

    Why isn't everyone reading this book? I commute by train, and in the week I spent carrying it around and reading it, I never once saw a fellow reader. If you're afraid that it's a turgid 500-page government memorandum, you'll be pleasantly surprised. The prose style is graceful and sometimes inspired. The factual chapters are real page-turners. (I confess I skipped around once I got to the policy analysis at the end, but a different reader might flip straight to that section.) Unless you've been living in a cave these past three years, you've seen some of this material before in news articles and other books. This book weaves the story together, integrating facts from many different (and often contradictory) sources and specifically debunking various news stories. But that's not the best part. I was fascinated to learn how the enemy works, in intensive detail. The hijackers were NOT religious fanatics drunk on the fumes of unstable millennialist passion. They were operatives in a very structured organization. They filled out applications (I kid you not), attended training sessions complete with binders and CD-ROMS, and attained their infamous place in history through competitive selection (and in some cases nepotism). Al Qaeda itself is straight out of a business-school textbook, complete with organizational charts, salaries, press releases, brainstorming meetings and cost-benefit analyses. Sure, the Commission made choices, and radicals on either side may be disappointed to see that their favorite theories are given short shrift. But there's a lot in there, much of it based on classified intelligence reports that you wouldn't ordinarily see. Read other books too, but be sure to read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    A must-read for every American

    This book must be read by every American. It is essential reading before you cast your vote in November! I forsee that this publication will eventually be required reading on the high school and/or college level. It is captivating, sad, frightening and enlightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    Stunning

    This is a must read. Prior to reading this book I don't think I had a clue about what was going on. Now I feel enlightened by the facts. I think this an historic read that will be remembered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    The 9-11 Commission Report is over 500 pages long. In the prefac

    The 9-11 Commission Report is over 500 pages long. In the preface the authors say that the report was written to provide the fullest possible account of the events surrounding 9-11. However the collapse of Building 7 wasn't even mentioned in the report. Building 7 was a 47-story skyscraper which was not hit by a plane. It fell straight down symmetrically into its own footprint at virtually freefall speed. And they completely ignored it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Lies

    9/11 Was an inside job wake up people. The taliban held a press conference 10 days after 9/11 and said they are ready for the trial for usama bin laden if the united can provide evidence. And guess what we didnt because their is none. Look it up it was on CNN. 9/11 Isnt even mentioned on his FBI poster Wake up

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Absolutely no complaint on the product itself, but...

    Exactly what I had ordered and was expecting.
    Unfortunately, always consider the latest date of delivery: when they say, between 8 and 14 days for delivery, it means 14 days.
    In other words, it came very late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Good read. Interesting. Doesn't go into any unexplained issues

    I've seen other reports on 9/11 and this report goes mostly into how the terrorism happened, the profile of the terrorists. This book does not address things like: missing plane parts from the pentagon, firefighters talking about hearing explosions, strange unexplained plane characteristics, or even flashes from the plane right before entry into the building etc. etc.

    So don't expect the dissolution of conspiracies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    9/11 Commission finds fault, but displays impotence in casting blame

    This is an excellent report by the 9/11 Commission. They point out all the problems that occurred and the lack of preparedness of the United States. However, they do not cast the direct blame to Bush and his faction, rather they illuminate the systemic problems of all agencies involved. Therefore, the Commission proves that this attack was allowed to come to its fruition, because of every government agency's quantum incompetence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    its a good read that will make you wish they had investigated futher and better

    Ok no mater how you feel about sept11 (if it was a conspiracy of united porportions or just a conspiracy from al-Queda) you should read very carefuly the things that the 911 report suggests in order to keep our country safe it would alow the government to rob us all of our basic liberties and what makes America Great. The Comission is used when ever the current administration trys to fight for the patriot act and they say we need this because it potects us. Read the comission and always think what will us changing this to make things safer do in the long run. Beacuse when you give them a little they will take a lot and it wont stop. Social Security was sopossed to be a temporary solution also and look how long its been running. Maybe if we as a society stop being afraid of atacks and accept them just as we accept drive bys and gang style shootings maybe then the terror atacks will stop because we wont be afraid of them how many people do we see die on the news every night with out a seconds thought yet we will do anything within our power no mater what we loose in the process to make sure no one can attack us from abroad. Why is that?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Disapointing

    No mention of the fact that Mr. Bush and Mr. Chany had to have a private-no notes-off the record meeting with the 911 Comission. No accountability found in this book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2