Customer Reviews for

The A-List #3: Blonde Ambition: An A-List Novel

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You Can't Always Get What You Want

Wouldn't it be nice to live in Hollywood in a big mansion and go to all the hottest parties around? That's how it is for not-the-best-of-friends, Anna and Cammie in the book "Blonde Ambition" by Zoey Dean. Cammie Sheppard is the daughter of Clark Sheppard of Apex Agenci...
Wouldn't it be nice to live in Hollywood in a big mansion and go to all the hottest parties around? That's how it is for not-the-best-of-friends, Anna and Cammie in the book "Blonde Ambition" by Zoey Dean. Cammie Sheppard is the daughter of Clark Sheppard of Apex Agencies. Anna Percy is an intern for Clark at Apex for the new hit TV show Hermosa Beach. There's one big problem standing in the way of Anna Percy. Cammie doesn't share the attention of her dad, so she does everything she can to make Anna go away.
This story takes place in present day Hollywood. The filming of their new show Hermosa Beach is set in an old hotel building. It has an amazing view of the beach with palm trees all around. While the filming of this TV show is taking place, there is also a lot of drama going on. One minute Anna is with Adam. Then she wants to take a break. Then she is with Ben. Then he goes off to college. Then she meets Danny at Apex and gets really close with him. It's hard to tell what is going to happen next. As for Cammie, she just found out that her step mom has a fourteen year old daughter, Mia, who is moving in with them. Not only is Mia invading Cammie's space at home, but is also getting into some trouble elsewhere. Cammie is at this huge party with a friend and finds out that Mia is there. Cammie finds her laying on the ground, so totally high, with this twenty year old guy hitting on her. As much of a pain as Mia is, Cammie wasn't going to let anything bad happen to her step sister.
This book is an A-List novel, so if you read that series you would probably like this book. It is full of teenage drama and has plenty of twists and turns as well. It is at first kind of slow moving, but once you are into it you can't get out. I personally would look down upon Anna's moving from guy to guy, but in this book it is an interesting part of the story line. I also like how the story mixes the drama with boyfriend-girlfriend, family, and work problems. That keeps it more interesting. Overall I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. Like I said it took a while to get into it, but continued to catch my interest, which is what good books are about.

posted by Erin_Petersen on November 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

i honestly read this book like two weeks ago and i cant even tell you was happened...not memorable at all...

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorta Good

    Ben is madly in love with Anna and she has finally acceptted his appology for his escape performance on New Years Eve and are passionatley in love....or so it seems. Ben should be going back to Princeton, but he gets insanley jealous everytime she even looks at a guy, so things in paradise are not allways as they seem. Meanwhile Adam and Sam are just friends it seems or so Adam thinks since he still is pinning away for Anna but with some sweet-talking and a little persuacioun from Cammie and things are heating up for them and Cammie's stepsister Mia is getting all of her dad's money and attention and just when things can't get uglier between the two add a bong to the mix and viola uglyy battle.On location at Hermosa Beach Anna's running around being a crazy intern and learning all that she can from the hot writer Danny and having fun with endless possiblities and dont forget the classsic scheming from Cammie to add to the pot and you got Blonde Ambition with a little subtle hints from Dee and Djano.But overall it was an ok book. 4.5/10 in my book the frist two in the seres are much better and leave you with a bigger and better cliffhanger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    You Can't Always Get What You Want

    Wouldn't it be nice to live in Hollywood in a big mansion and go to all the hottest parties around? That's how it is for not-the-best-of-friends, Anna and Cammie in the book "Blonde Ambition" by Zoey Dean. Cammie Sheppard is the daughter of Clark Sheppard of Apex Agencies. Anna Percy is an intern for Clark at Apex for the new hit TV show Hermosa Beach. There's one big problem standing in the way of Anna Percy. Cammie doesn't share the attention of her dad, so she does everything she can to make Anna go away.
    This story takes place in present day Hollywood. The filming of their new show Hermosa Beach is set in an old hotel building. It has an amazing view of the beach with palm trees all around. While the filming of this TV show is taking place, there is also a lot of drama going on. One minute Anna is with Adam. Then she wants to take a break. Then she is with Ben. Then he goes off to college. Then she meets Danny at Apex and gets really close with him. It's hard to tell what is going to happen next. As for Cammie, she just found out that her step mom has a fourteen year old daughter, Mia, who is moving in with them. Not only is Mia invading Cammie's space at home, but is also getting into some trouble elsewhere. Cammie is at this huge party with a friend and finds out that Mia is there. Cammie finds her laying on the ground, so totally high, with this twenty year old guy hitting on her. As much of a pain as Mia is, Cammie wasn't going to let anything bad happen to her step sister.
    This book is an A-List novel, so if you read that series you would probably like this book. It is full of teenage drama and has plenty of twists and turns as well. It is at first kind of slow moving, but once you are into it you can't get out. I personally would look down upon Anna's moving from guy to guy, but in this book it is an interesting part of the story line. I also like how the story mixes the drama with boyfriend-girlfriend, family, and work problems. That keeps it more interesting. Overall I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. Like I said it took a while to get into it, but continued to catch my interest, which is what good books are about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    i honestly read this book like two weeks ago and i cant even tell you was happened...not memorable at all...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    LOVE

    i love all the books in the series , this was great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good book with surprising twists!

    the a-list series is very good! each book has its own surprises and twists to the classic beverly hills love story. this story line is about a girl named anna percy being done with her boring new york city prep school life, so she decides to move in with her father who lives in beverly hills. there are hookups and tramatic events starting right when anna steps one foot on the plane to cali. she doesnt know it, but she will impact everyones lives at beverly hills high . her being there causes a chane of events of breakups and people youd never expectbto fall for eachother to fall for eachother. this series causes instant surprises and i enjoy it! i hope u decide to read it too. it may end up shocking you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Blonde Ambition

    In this book, the third one of Zoey Dean's A-list series, all the crew is back and more dramatic than ever. Shortly after moving to L.A., Anna has found herself caught up in the fast paced moving life of a Cali girl. After finding romance with Ben they took some time apart. Now they are back and hotter than ever...or so he thinks. Anna takes a job with well known agent Clark Sheppard as an intern. The only problem? Clark is high maintenance Cammie's father. This of course does not sit well with Cammie and she begins to turn her nose up even higher to Anna. Sounds like some sweet revenge is coming... Anna begins to question her attachment to Ben. She starts thinking about exploring her options. While working she meets screen writer, Danny, and becomes closer and closer to him. Also, can not forget about her father's new car driver, Django. He is intriguing to Anna as well. As for her sister, Susan, back up east she is doing better. After a stint in rehab Susan is a changed girl- almost too changed for Anna's taste. Sam Sharpe, daughter of famous movie star, Jackson is working on her goal to someday become a film writer and director, and somehow Anna finds herself wrapped up in the middle. This makes Sam and Anna's friendship grow. As always, these books are the best to read if you like hit names and brands and a little bit of drama on the side. Perfect for the high school teenager who wants the life of an A-lister. The plot will have you turning the page and staying up all night to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    2

    not read yet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    i love these books!

    I absolutly love this series! i stayed up all night reading the first book cause i couldnt get enought of it. Then the nest day i bought the next 2 books and 2 days llater i had finnished them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Fabulous!

    This is the third book in the A-list series and picks up from the second with Anna and Ben the morning after getting back together. The beginning is about her sister and how she's returning to rehab and the rest is very boy based. First Anna is with Ben but when he becomes insanely jealous over a boy named Danny, who Anna ends up later dating, they break up and her returns to Princeton. The rest is the cat fight of Cammie vs Anna, and full of boy drama. Cammie now likes Adam, Sam got over it, and Anna is back and forth between Django and Danny. This book was great, this series reminds me a lot of the OC which I also adore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    I hate this series!

    Ive been reading the It Girl Series and I loved it!!!! So while I'm waiting for the next book to come out me and my sis decided so read this series we're only up to #3 but I hate it!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    blonde ambition

    In Blonde Ambition the third novel in the A-list series by Zoey Dean,Anna becomes an intern for a hit TV series as Cammies father as her boss. And as we all know Cammie does not share her father¿s attention with anyone, especially Anna, an upper east coast boarding school girl that has recently moved to L.A. and has managed to win the heart of the only boy Cammie has truly loved. As a result Cammie decides to get revenge on Anna but her revenge might just come back to haunt her. Meanwhile, Anna is failing out of love with Ben and definitely not in love with Adam but there is Danny a writer for the hit series Anna is interning for, and Django, her fathers show fur. Sam is getting closer with Anna and they produced a short film for school that turned out to be WAY more than just a project for school! Zoey deans books are so well written, they make you feel like you are watching a TV series and not a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    i loved this book. despite what others have said.. the plot is not hard to follow, the storyline is great, and the characters are all individuals with different thoughts and it is genius to get to read what each character is thinking. so those people who think there was to much cussing and sex, should maybe try the children's section for something you wont be offended by.. because hate to break it to you but that stuff is out there and your fat kids are probably doing it right not. so get over yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    whoa....

    I absolutely HATED this book. There was cussing in every conversation and the storyline wasn't clear at all. There was also *ahem* unrespectable content in this book. The author jumped from character to character unexpectedly. The beginning was not interesting and the ending could not even be called an ending. I was embarrassed to even let anybody read over my shoulder! I am sorry I wasted money on this book. I hope this helps!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    Amazing

    I loved the A-List series and it keeps me enertained and wanting to read more! I thought it was great! I hope she keeps going with the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    OHH EMM GEE OSHH

    This was a great book! I absolutely love this series. I am so hooked on it. Now i cant wait to read the 4th book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    The A-List's New Amibition

    Blonde Ambition Little, Brown and Company, 2004, 233pp., $9.99 Zoey Dean ISBN 0-316-73474-8 ¿Anything was possible. Anything.¿ (p233) At least that¿s what those in Los Angeles think. Anna Percy, at the age of 18, is staying with her father in Los Angeles California. Anna takes the spot light and everything that comes along with it including boys, best friends, and even jobs when it comes to entering the scene of Hollywood. Unfortunately Cammie Sheppard is not ready to share the spot light. Cammie is an 18 year old girl whose father is one of the biggest film producers in Hollywood. Cammie gets what she wants, well at least that¿s how it use to be. Anna Percy has become high in the social order of the Beverly Hill¿s High School A-List. Anna is a sincere girl who works hard for what she wants. Luckily for her many people love her ambition and want to become friends with her. Anna not only steals the spot light from Cammie but also steals the hearts of many boys, some of which Cammie even cares for. Anna works for Cammie¿s dad, Clark Sheppard, as an intern. Cammie also has to deal with her family problems which include her new stepmother and sister. Anna seems to unconsciously steal the heart of every man she meets. This creates a problem when Cammie has feelings for Adam Flood, who is in love with Anna. Cammie¿s mottos are that anything is possible and that she gets what she wants. This means its war for Anna Percy. Zoey Dean does a fabulous job on expressing the emotion and thrill of teenage drama. Dean addresses many dilemmas in Blond Ambition. One is how some people have different sides of them, which they never show for the fear of being hurt. One character who primarily goes through this problem in the book is Cammie. Blonde Ambition shows the transition from High School to the real world of college, jobs, and having to make some of the hardest decisions of your life. Dean also addresses the heart breaks and thrills of young love. You won¿t be able to put this book down. Blonde Ambition is a great book for young women. If you¿re a romantic, if you like wittiness, if you like adventure, or if you just like having a good read then this book is definitely for you. Blonde Ambition is somehow both hilarious and exhilarating while still heart warming. I loved Blonde Ambition by Zoey Dean. I think that this is Dean¿s best A-List book yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    OMG! TIS WAS AWESOME!!!! :3

    I loved this book! It 'takes you into Anna's life'! AND YOU GET TO READ ABOUT RICH AND FAMOUS PEOPLE! I think that it gives the reader a chance to look into someone's life (a rich person's life) and get to experience the magic and troubles of love..... i wont say anymore, you'll just have to read it!!! k, now go on and get readin!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    FABULOUS x 5738192

    I love these books, but this one is by far the best. I could read it a million times. This author is fabulous and I hope she continues. The A-List stories are very interesting and hard - to- put - down kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    So dumb

    Dont get me wrong I LOVE books like these gossip girls, the insiders usually all books that are on the more stupid side but fun to read so I thought Id love The A-List too but I just find the books really dumb and not what I expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Oh My Gosh!

    I absolutley LOVE this series! I just casually started reading the first one while i was helping a friend out, not thinking i would get much into it but now i can't wait until friday so I can get paid to buy the 4th one, i've read the first 3 in about 3 days! All of my friends are hooked on it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5