Customer Reviews for

The Abandoned

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this book

I really enjoyed this book and was skeptical if I would as ghost stories are usually dumb and of no interest to a nonbeliever of such nonsense. The book however was well written, flowed well and was easy to get into the characters. It was short but contained enough hi...
I really enjoyed this book and was skeptical if I would as ghost stories are usually dumb and of no interest to a nonbeliever of such nonsense. The book however was well written, flowed well and was easy to get into the characters. It was short but contained enough history and suspense to keep you entertained and to explain the concept of the story and to introduce you to the characters in the following book. I will definately read the next one.

posted by 9454498 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

REALLY, IS THAT ALL SHE WROTE ?

This is a good book and I enjoyed reading it but is it seriously worth $2.99 ? Not ! It's only 66 pages, that's like 3 Chapters in a book. I plan to read The Restorer since I liked the story line. I sure hope it's longer.

posted by NookGirlPA on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY, IS THAT ALL SHE WROTE ?

    This is a good book and I enjoyed reading it but is it seriously worth $2.99 ? Not ! It's only 66 pages, that's like 3 Chapters in a book. I plan to read The Restorer since I liked the story line. I sure hope it's longer.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Great, but has little to do with the series...

    I don't know how to rate this novella. On its own, I'd give it a 4/5 because it's a really great read that will have you reeling after it concludes. It's very short, but packed with suspense and is extremely creepy. It does leave the reader with many questions though, but as it's a prequel, I was under the impression that the answers would be revealed in The Restorer. This, unfortunately, is not the case. Actually, the prequel and The Restorer seem to have little in common aside from the fact that Oak Grove Cemetery is a hotspot for activity, Amelia and Devlin are characters in both stories, and there is a mysterious group of elite that go by the name of The Order of the Coffin and the Claw. Yet, neither Amelia nor Devlin play a big part in the prequel, as they do in The Restorer, and The Order is never fully explained in either text. While the cemetery is eluded too through unexplained events, that too is vaguely touched upon in the prequel. Instead, The Abandoned deals with two main characters, Ree and Hayden-a student and a paranormal investigator. While the story surrounding these two characters is interesting and even frightening, it is not fully concluded, and these characters and events are never mentioned in The Restorer, making me wonder what the real purpose of the novella plays in the series. It is apparent that those in The Order of the Coffin and the Claw take part in scary rituals and delve in the dark arts, covering up for each other, but anything beyond that is still a mystery.

    I really did like the novella but, after having read The Restorer, I am saddened that there is not more of a connection between the two stories. Of course, I suggest reading The Abandoned, but keep in mind that it really isn't a precursor of events in the main novel and, therefore, not mandatory to understand The Restorer. Either way, I did enjoy The Abandoned; I just wish it had more to do with the actual story in The Restorer. Three and a half stars for this novella!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    The Abandoned

    My biggest problem with this book was that it just seemed too short. I liked the plot and characters and was left wanting more. Having just read some of the other reviews, it has come to my attention that this is a prequel to a series. I'll have to go take a look at the other books in the series. Maybe those will be a bit (longer) more to my taste. :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    novella

    I enjoyed the author's first book in the Graveyard Queen set so thought I'd enjoy this intro. It was ok but didn't truly meld with the other book. We'll see if the next one pulls it all together. If you like stories set in Charleston SC, you will enjoy these books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this story. It held my interest more than any shorter

    I enjoyed this story. It held my interest more than any shorter nook book has. I wish it were longer. There are a couple of grammatical and formatting issues, but other than that, I think it was written well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    interesting but short

    Different fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Not bad.

    I like this book. Worth the 2.99.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    O.k.

    O.k.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I liked it.

    It was a good story and i liked the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Good read

    Not at all what I expected, good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Cookie cutter thrillee Cookie cutter thriller

    Entertaining, quick read with no surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2