Customer Reviews for

The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Listen to the bells, they toll for thee

    This is a new Author for me, and I am impressed, the story line is fairly simple, straight forward us against the really bad guy,lacking the multiple sub plots that can sometimes be distracting. I like the original form of magic used here too. There is plenty of action and cliff hangers to keep you turning pages. I bought the box set trilogy and I am glad I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    This book ROCKS!

    I loved this series, Its a Refreshing change from the norm of this genre. The author managed to write a story that traps you within its pages and doesn't let go until its finished with you. In the first three days I read the entire first book and the next day I read a quater of the second. I would suggest this book to anyone looking to break away from the overdone Dungeons and Dragons type storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Trilogy

    These books were wonderful, I read them in my preteen years and was amazed, this was one of my first book series that I was ever really into. It is an excellent read for teenagers, and great for book reports! I loved them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    This is the BEST contemporary fantasy series by far.

    Garth Nix has managed to weave engaging and unforgettable stories that take fantasy, a dilluted and done-to-death genre, and breathes new life into it. Vivid imagery and characterization abound in this breathtaking series that skillfully avoids every fantasy cliche. No evil dragons, magic wands and predictable plot revelations here, every aspect about these novels is unique and fresh. You don't even have to read fantasy to enjoy these books, and readers of any age will revel in these shining examples of what fantasy was meant to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful, a Dead Ringer!

    Though there are some pronunciation issues with names and cities and other places... I highly recommend this for the fantasy hunter that falls in love with the characters, and feels what they are going through and can in someway relate. Although according to Publishing News, Garth Nix was preparing to pitch a 'Sabriel' film to studios in mid-2008 via Steve Fisher at APA. Nix co-wrote the screenplay with Dan Futterman, actor and Oscar-nominated screenwriter of 'Capote', and Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner at Plan B Entertainment were to produce. The director would be Anand Tucker. Planning for the pitch was delayed by the writer's strike, and resumed the following February. While the current status of any film is unknown, Garth Nix is now represented by Matthew Snyder at CAA. Also for those that have read the book and loved them...This fall, September 2014 we will see the release of CLARIEL: The Lost Abhorsen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Trilogy This trilogy was definitely an interesting r

    Interesting Trilogy
    This trilogy was definitely an interesting read...it has a lot of depth and danger to make you really feel the tension and the stakes at risk. However, I found myself not caring as much as I wanted to about the characters...something I think that had to do with where the second book picks up from. However, if you like epic fantasy with real life stakes then definitely check this series out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I read this book as a kid, I have the original set I had as a ki

    I read this book as a kid, I have the original set I had as a kid but its in another state, Im in college and I need to find my niche back, I loved reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent fantasy

    The last time I read epic fantasy was in college when I stumbled upon a copy of the Lord of the Rings and figured that I might as well give it a try because the calculus textbook wasn¿t ever going to become even remotely interesting. Tolkien¿s heavyweight was definitely better than calculus and helped pass the time but it didn¿t thrill me (yes, I know, blasphemy) so when I realized that the Abhorsen Chronicles is also considered epic fantasy I proceeded with caution. The box set was already there though and there were girls on the covers so seduced by the promise of girl power I read on.
    This was a rather dark series set mainly in the first half of the 20th century on a continent reminiscent of Great Britain, which is split in two by a great ancient wall. On one side the world is modern with technology thriving and phenomena explained by science. On the other side the world is archaic because none of the new inventions will work there, magic is everywhere and even the calendar is different. I really enjoyed the parallels between the worlds in these books and the Europe of that time - it was an interesting take on the reasons behind the World Wars and the part the people who were at the helm played in the events. These parallels weren't immediately obvious but as the story progressed I felt they were undeniable.
    The first book, Sabriel, sets the stage for the events that take place in the second and third volumes and prepares the reader for all the magic, action and a bit of drama that unfolds as the great battle that holds life and death in the balance approaches. The pacing lagged a bit in some instances when some of the main characters had to grow up a bit before they could continue on their quest but the general feel of the series is not slow by any means. There are several plot lines and mysteries that arise and develop throughout the books and Nix skillfully drives them either to a logical conclusion or untangles the secrets in a very satisfying way that isn't forced or contrived. When I turned the last page of the last book I felt that everything was as it should be, which can be challenging with as many character and story arcs as we have here.
    Garth Nix does a great job of developing the characters in the trilogy. These books are as much about a quest and a battle as they are about growing up, learning about oneself, accepting who one is, owning it and becoming stronger for it. All the main characters start out in the story when they are teenagers and they all have challenges they must deal with, be that their past that haunts them, their perceived shortcomings or a destiny that feels completely wrong. I was very impressed with how their personal growth was woven into this mainly plot-driven story and how in the end every oddity became a perfect puzzle piece.
    This series was on the Goodreads Best Fantasy list and I thank those who included it and voted for it to push it up higher in the rankings. These books are some of the best I've read this year and if you enjoy fantasy I recommend that you check them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    You really should check the trilogy out, don't take my word for it...

    It's a rare book or series that has me coming back to read it more than once, but in the past 10 years I have read the Abhorsen trilogy several times over. I always pick up on some new thing I had missed the previous times I read, and I am always sad to say good bye to my friends at the end of the last book. I know this is written as young adult fantasy, but it is definitely interesting to those of us who don't fall into the "young adult" category anymore. The characters are well-rounded and the plot is well-written. I don't really like cats, but I think my favorite character might just be Mogget; although the Disreputable Dog is also a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    THE BEST

    These are the best books ever they enhance you take you into a world of magic and fantasy. I haven't read the Abhorsen yet but i'm sure it will be really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2