Customer Reviews for

The Accidental Bride

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    ,oved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Excellent

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Accidental Bride by Christina Skye ISBN: 9780373776597 Jil

    The Accidental Bride by Christina Skye
    ISBN: 9780373776597
    Jilly O'Hara runs her own restaurant and is very happy with the progress it's made since she opened its doors.
    Caro MacNeal and Grace Lindstrom were worried as they'd not heard from Jilly in some time. They were in the knitting shop on Summer Island, Oregon.
    They were restoring an old house to bring it back to its glory as an old landmark on the island.
    After Jilly has a heart emergency and is told to take things easy, no more cooking, her 3 best friends set up a cooking retreat for her in Wyoming.
    Problem is things are not what they seem...
    At the small airport she met a man, Walker Hale and his service dog, Winslow but he was difficult to get much out of their conversation.
    She is quite taken with him and his dog and learns how the town has never forgotten the hero he is although he was never given a parade or any other recognition for saving many lives.
    She is starting to knit now and accepts dinner from Walker and as things get heated he gets many phone calls about the trip he's taking in the morning but she hears things that make it sound dire, so desperate he has to leave that night. She has agreed to watch the dog til he gets back...
    It's suggested to raise the morale of the owner of the retreat that they get married...
    He's kept a lot of secrets from her and she's kept many from him and they all come out eventually and it's interesting to see how they handle the truth...
    Love the knitting and the references to their relationship with one another.
    A series where the other woman have their own story, super! Many references to everything taught in this book are noted at the back.
    Can't wait to get the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    The Accidental Bride by Christina Skye 4 STARS I really enjoyed

    The Accidental Bride by Christina Skye
    4 STARS I really enjoyed the Accidental Bride. It has good friends,loveable dogs and caring comunity. Lots of laughter and sweet emotion too. Jilly has a heart attack and told she needs to leave her stressfull job. She owns her own restraunt, a line of sauces. She was in the middle of dinner rush when she had her attack. After all the tests come back telling her she can't have the stress of cooking and running her restraunt. Her friends rush her to the airport for a flight to whyoming. They tell Jilly its a cooking classes at a resort. So she can relax and brush up on some cooking. They are really sending her to the resort but it is a knitting classes thats thier right now. In the airport waiting for taxi she spills contents of her luggage that her friends packed for her and snacks and underwear spill out in front of a tall handsome guy. She makes friends with his dog even as he warns her he not to good with strangers. Winslow likes Jilly and he really likes the jerky in her pocket. His owner Walker has some good looks too. The next day Jilly finds out that thier are no cooking class but she meets the chef and he has her sauces and uses them. She goes into town on a bike to the coffee shop thier and orders a special coffee. As she thinks of the commitment of cutting out the cafine. She is only one in the store and the clerk asks her to watch the shop while he runs to the bank. A customer comes in and asks were Jonathon is. When she is told he is at the bank the girl is disapointted because she is in a hurry and really wants a fancy coffee. Jilly tells her she can get it for her. Makes her a perfect cup and all fancy. Walker and Winslow comes in and wants just plain coffee. She talks him into trying something and when she is done he really likes it. They flirt a little before he leaves. Jonathon gets told about how good the coffee is. Jilly explains what and how she did it. She had worked in a coffee shop for a couple of years and sat down and explained to Jonathon about his equipment ect. Next day Jonathon asks her to borrow car from resort and come help him for awhile. Thier is a big line out the coffee shop. The girl talked her coffee up and everyone wanted to try it. Walker only came to town once in awhile but meeting Jilly he started showing up more. Walker was a hero who wrisked his life to save others in the community that served with him in the war. He and Winslow were both released for medical injuries so everyone was willing to help him to find love. Walker and Jilly were talked into being married for a good cause. Thier were a few love scenes in the book. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 09/25/2012 PUB HarlequinHQN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    B rating...

    My Review:
    Hmm, while the story overview above is accurate, it really isn't a very good descriptor of this book. Jilly is an overworked, highly motivated chef who has her own restaurant, her own food product line, and plans for several other business propositions in the works all at the same time. She's only 27 years old. The book starts with her having a heart attack. She has a defect to her heart which means EVERYTHING about her life has to change. This is NOT a girl who sits around...EVER. She's constantly going and doing something and just can't see how that can change. It's just not who she is. Her friends convince her (through some lying manipulation) to take a vacation so that she can gain a fresh perspective on how she can change her life and that's how she ends up in this little Wyoming town and guest resort.

    Walker is a war hero. He and his working dog Winslow both served (active duty....and now they do freelance work) in Afghanistan where they both almost died saving a whole platoon (?) of soldiers. He moved to this little Wyoming town two years ago and is known as a loner. He likes his privacy and being alone, but he meets Jilly as they are both arriving at the airport and he feels an immediate draw to her. Even more, Winslow immediately falls in love with her...and he's not a dog who gets attached to strangers like that.

    This is NOT a book about a fake wedding. In fact I was 2/3 of the way through the book before I even got an inkling of what the title was referring to. This is about two people whose lives have not exactly gone as planned finding one another. It's about a sweet little small town and resort and finding a home where you least expect it. Jilly was an orphan raised in a series of foster homes. She has three friends who have been her family, but in this small town, she actually finds someplace that feels like a home to her. Everyone from the town barista to the resort chef to the knitting divas welcome and embrace her.

    This is one of those books that's just a sweet read...and not even necessarily for the romance. I loved Jilly's character and you can't help but feel for her as she's watching everything she's dreamed about and all her hard work being taken down by a bad heart. She's not a quitter, but she doesn't know how to move forward. I loved Winslow, the dog, and the way he attached to her. I loved Walker and his quiet alpha take-charge attitude. I would have liked to have delved into his character a bit more because there's a LOT to his back story. It was an entertaining book and I'm glad that I read it.

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable, but....

    While this book was enjoyable, it wasn't outstandingly memorable. For a light read, though, it did manage kept my interest for a few days, even if I did find parts of it to be a bit much. I liked both the leads, Jilly and Walker; however, I have to say that Walker's dog, Winston, was by far my favorite character. Maybe because he is just so amazingly well-behaved when compared to my dog? Not sure--still, he was fabulous.

    Walker is the perfect blend of hunky, ex-military loner-ness. I found him to be a likable hero, and my biggest complaint where he is concerned is just that the town's hero-worshipfulness of him seems to be a tad bit over the top. Even when he explains it--sort of--it feels out of proportion. Jilly is a fairly standard workaholic heroine, married to her job and missing what she doesn't have but too busy to do much about it--until she collapses in her restaurant's kitchen. Like Walker's hero status, though, Jilly's illness also felt forced. It appeared to jump up and be noticed when needed for a plot point, but tucked itself neatly away when the crisis was over. As someone who lived a good chunk of my life with a person with a heart condition, it just didn't feel genuine to me.

    I guess my main problem with this book is that even though it's a fairly lengthy book for the genre (close to 400 pages), just about every problem seems to get solved far too easily. Witness Jilly's near-phobia of knitting: her close friends have tried to get her to learn the craft for years, to no avail. A few lessons from new friends at the retreat, though, have her making a full-size afghan in no time. Most of the conflicts in this novel had a similar feel, and were either not terribly convincing as a real problem, were resolved far too quickly, or both. It all left me feeling vaguely unsatisfied. This was my first book by this author; so far she's on my "I'll give her another try" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1