Customer Reviews for

The Accidental Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Christian Romance Novel!

    Shay is raising her daughter alone. Her first love left her on the steps of the court house on their wedding day 14 years ago and her husband left her a few years back. She is trying to keep her ranch afloat but is struggling to do so. While this is happening her first love Travis returns. Shay finds herself standing before him in a wedding reenactment as his bride.

    Travis can not believe his luck to get the 2nd chance to be with Shay now he has to get her to agree. When Travis finds out the reenactment actually was a real wedding he takes advantage and proposes a deal to Shay to give him time to prove to her he wants another chance. Will they find true love this time or will time run out?

    I really enjoyed this book. Yes the plot was predicable but not so predictable that you don¿t want to find out what will happen next and there are some twist and turns I did not expect. I really like the characters and felt they where well developed. The back and forth between Shay and Travis has me laughing and smiling a lot. Loved the tension. Even though the plot was predictable at times and even a little unbelievable the author did a great job of explaining how it was all happening so it felt believable. If you like a feel good romance where you find yourself rooting for the couple to get together, you will like this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    An Unusual Premise for a Romance Tale

    The Accidental Bride Denise Hunter ©2011 Thomas Nelson Publishers ISBN 978-1-59554-802-3 (ppbk) Shay Brandebgerger agrees to stand in as the bride in a re-enactment of Moose Creek’s early history. She doesn’t know elderly Miss Lucy has set up Travis McCoy, (who abandoned Shay at the altar fourteen years earlier), to be the re-enactment’s groom. And supposedly the pastor accidentally sends a real wedding license to be registered for Shay and Troy. Or was Miss Lucy behind that, also? Troy discovers he and Shay are really married and asks for five months to prove his love to her. She’s been hurt so often and so deeply she often assumes wrong data so doesn’t trust Troy nor ask him about suspicious incidents. Will their love for each other ever win out? Will Shay lose her ranch and livelihood? What will happen to Shay’s daughter, Olivia when Troy leaves? How will the author resolve seeming impossible situations? The story has sweet moments and tense times, all adding to the allure of this well-written tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    A must read

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Interesting!

    Nice feel good book. Easy read and keeps your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    The Accidental Bride Denise Hunter Book Summary: When a weddin

    The Accidental Bride
    Denise Hunter

    Book Summary: When a wedding reenactment turns real, this cowgirl suddenly finds she’s an accidental bride. Shay Brandenberger is raising her daughter in Moose Creek, Montana on her childhood ranch, nestled against the Yellowstone River. Despite her hard work, she can’t seem to keep her head above water—and now the bank is threatening to foreclose. She prays for a miracle, but the answer she receives is anything but. Having agreed to play the bride in the Founders Day wedding reenactment, Shay is mortified to be greeted at the end of the aisle by none other than Travis McCoy, her high school sweetheart—the man who left her high and dry for fame and fortune on the Texas rodeo circuit. Then the unthinkable happens. Thanks to a well-meaning busy body and an absent minded preacher, the wedding reenactment results in a legal marriage. But before Shay can say annulment, Travis comes up with a crazy proposal. If she refuses his offer, she’ll lose her home. But if she accepts, she may lose her heart. Shay isn’t sure if the recent events are God’s will or just a preacher’s blunder. Will trusting her heart to the man who once shattered it be the worst mistake of her life? Or could their marriage be the best accident that ever happened?
    Review: I liked the 2 main characters and thought they had good chemistry. I did think there were almost too many secondary characters at the start of the book and this made it a little more confusing at times to recall who was who. It did get easier to follow as the book continued. I enjoyed the main characters. Shay was tough and did a lot of manual labor and yet was still feminine. Travis was very masculine and yet very sensitive to Shay. It was believable and yet very enjoyable to see how things were going to be resolved. The marriage license that was old and yet still valid seemed unlikely, although it was easy to suspend belief when the story flowed so nicely and the main characters were enjoyable. It was worth the read and the fact that it was a in a series was not a deterrent it was a good stand alone story.
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Sweet romance, full of fun surprises!

    The Accidental Bride was such a fun book with the most unexpected twists and turns!

    After Shay and her husband split up, she is left to raise her daughter alone in Moose Creek. However, she is nothing less than shocked when her old boyfriend shows up back in town... and they find themselves together in the small town's Founder's Day celebration and wedding reenactment.

    Hold on to your seats ~ this book is full of fun surprises, and sweet romance.

    It had me hooked, and is definitely a must-read. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    This was my first Denise Hunter story - and she is one of my new

    This was my first Denise Hunter story - and she is one of my new favorite authors! This was just a fun easy read and I really liked the characters and the setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Anonyomous

    Really liked this book. It mixed cowboys, God, and romance into a cute story. My favorite book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Really enjoyed this book, read the first in the series plan on reading all of them. Denise Hunter weaves a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Extremely entertaining

    It was a very well written book and kept my interest going. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    It looked like a cute story, so I thought I would check it out.

    It looked like a cute story, so I thought I would check it out. I was drawn to the characters and found myself rooting for Travis to win her heart and that she would finally let her guard down and let her true feelings through. It was also refreshing to read a story with the characters praying to God and quoting bible verses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Read

    If you like Christian romance, you'll love this one! It is such a cute story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Okay Read

    From the publisher: Two high-school sweethearts, a wedding reenactment, and one absent-minded preacher. Is it a recipe for disaster or a chance for a new beginning?
    Shay Brandenberger is a survivor. She's lived through a crazy childhood, a failed marriage, and single parenthood-with her confidence intact.

    But not for long. Because when Shay participates in her town's Founder's Day wedding reenactment, she finds herself face-to-face with the one man who takes her breath away and leaves her weak in the knees: Travis McCoy.

    Travis is back in town after years way on the rodeo circuit. His one regret in life is breaking Shay's heart when they were high-school sweethearts. He's determined to get it right this time.

    So when their Founder's Day "marriage" is accidentally made official, Travis seizes the day. Can Shay put aside her pride to let Travis help her, or will their accidental marriage be dissolved before it can begin?


    My thoughts: It was an okay book. I didn't love it. Perhaps because I found Shay to be a little irritating. Granted she's been hurt before, but she was rude, stubborn, selfish, and unforgiving. I've never experienced the things that this character has, so I can't imagine the pain this character would have been feeling. But at some point it got a little frustrating. I can't say much more on this point without giving things away so I will stop there.

    I liked that this book tied into the first in the series A Cowboy's Touch. It was fun revisiting Abigail, Wade, Aunt Lucy and Maddy. Many of the other characters in the book were enjoyable. I just had a few issues with the leads.

    It was hard for me to swallow that this man pined for this woman for 14 years and then when he accidentally marries her he puts up with the behavior she hands out. I did like how the book addressed not trying to do things so that others can see, or to impress them. It's a message that I think a lot of women and girls need to be reminded of from time to time.

    Would I recommend the book? It was an okay book as I mentioned before. I'm not sure it's one that I would reread again. As an ebook it is one I will keep because it isn't taking up valuable real estate on my sole bookshelf. If you're looking for a book about first loves, missed chances, second chances, being hurt than this may be for you. It was a book that I picked up once in awhile when I had time.

    I would give this book 3/5 stars.

    (I was given a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes and am under no obligation to provide a certain review. All opinions in this review are my own.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it - fun and fast

    This was a fast read-and made my imagination soar. I really enjoyed the plot, the characters and the witty dialogue. Nice job. I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    great read! *no spoilers*

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the second installment in the Big Sky series. As the author noted she did take a few liberties to make the re-enactment marriage legal, but it was well explained and frighteningly plausible.

    The plot moves slowly, as it should since it is an easy, faithful romance, but it was a VERY pleasant way to pass a dreary winter afternoon.

    I personally do not enjoy being 'preached at' by authors and I haven't experienced that in any of Ms. Hunter's books.I've recommended Ms. Hunter to a lot of my customers when asked for a sweet, faith-filled, Christian Romance, and this book is an EASY hand-sell.

    I was provided a free digital review copy from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read

    I would like to share with you a book I recently finished called The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter.

    Shay Brandenberger has lived a hard life. She wants something different for her own daughter, Olivia, but she has a difficult time making ends meet as a single mom. She's fearful of losing her family's ranch, a ranch that has been in the family for three generations. Shay is asked to play the bride in her town's Founder's Day re-enactment. She doesn't realize until she walks down the aisle that the group is Travis McCoy, her old high school sweetheart who left her at the altar years ago. Shay makes it through the ceremony and thinks it will all be forgotten until she finds out that, due to a mistake by the preacher, the pretend ceremony was actually real. She is now married to Travis.

    This was a cute book and easy to read. I enjoyed reading it, like the characters, and look forward to more books from this author. As I was reading, characters seemed familliar to me. I realized that this book is in the Big Sky Romance series. I have previously read A Cowboy's Touch and reviewed it here.

    One part that has stuck with me after reading this book is how Shay was always worried about what others thought of her. Her friend reminded her of a verse from Galatians 1:10--"Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ." This was a great reminder for me personally as I think of what I do and why I do it.

    This book was provided to me for my honest review by Audra Jennings and the B & B Media Group. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Single mother, Shay Brandenberger, thought that playing a bride in the Founder’s Day wedding reenactment would be easy, that is until she found out who the groom was - Travis McCoy, her high school sweetheart who left her standing at the alter fourteen years earlier. Despite wanting to run, she goes along with the fake wedding. Well, Shay thought it was fake at first, but she soon finds out that her the marriage is actually legal. Was it the preacher’s mistake? Or was it an act of God?

    The Accidental Bride is the second in A Big Sky Romance series from author Denise Hunter, and it is surprisingly likeable from the very first page. Circumstances occur that results in the main character, Shay, accidentally marring her ex who left her at the alter years before. Sure, she could just get annulment, but her Travis McCoy may be the only one who can save her childhood ranch. The author did a remarkable job setting up the plot and writing fun, entertaining characters. I recommend it to all romance readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter

    The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter was my first book of 2012 and what a way to start! I was a little skeptical about how the whole accidental wedding plot was going to come off. Denise admits that she took a few liberties to make it possible, but I thought she pulled it off well. It was a bit of a stretch, but I was okay with it. It's fiction after all, people!

    I really liked Travis. I felt like he got a bad rap from Shay throughout much of the book, but I could see how hard he was trying! At the same time, though, I could see how badly Shay had been hurt . . . time after time. I was torn the entire time trying to decide who to pull for. :)

    Denise also did a great job weaving in elements of faith. It wasn't too over-the-top but Shay faced an honest struggle with not worrying so much about what everyone else thinks. I think that's something we all deal with from time-to-time.

    Being the second book in the Big Sky series, I also liked catching up with old friends from the first book A Cowboy's Touch. You certainly don't have to read the first one to keep up, but I'm sure that you'll want to!

    Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed The Accidental Bride . . . even better than the first one in the series! It's a light-hearted, fun read. Definitely add this to your TBR list!

    I received a free copy from Thomas Nelson via The B&B Media Group and FIRST Wildcard Blog Tours in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    The Accidental Bride

    Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter. The title of this book may sound like those typical romance that you can finish in 2 hours time, but you’re in for a surprise if you’re expecting a typical romance. This is no typical romance or a chic-lit. It’s a Christian romance and have loads of moral values embedded in it. Among it is that trusting Him and living for His glory instead of just trying to please the people around you. This book also tells you that when your world is upside down, He will make it all right again, in His time.

    A very wonderful and entertaining book to read and you could almost feel for the character when you read this book. The plot is rather slow, but bearable.

    I highly recommend this for those who are looking for something easy and entertaining to read. Would be perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    An Enjoyable Cowboy Romance

    In The Accidental Bride, Denise Hunter sets up an almost impossible situation...two people who planned to elope as teens, now find themselves married through a fake ceremony. As I was reading I kept waiting to see how she would pull it off -- boy did she! Shay can't stand the thought that her neighbors are watching her to see what another man wiill leave her. Travis just wants a do-over of the past tired of living with his regrets. The valid marriage license seems to be the ticket to make Shay give him a chance. She needs money to save her ranch and he needs time to prove his love is real.


    While I could anticipate where the story headed at times, that didn't rob the joy of the journey. Instead, as a writer, I couldn't wait to see how Denise would work Shay and Travis out of the impossible situations she wrote them into. These characters have a spark between them and a brokeness that made me root for them. I wanted to see love win because they both needed it so deeply. The setting makes it a cowboy tale with a twist. A very enjoyable read -- just what I've come to expect from Denise Hunter. A contemporary romance that leaves me with a smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2