Customer Reviews for

The Accidental Demon Slayer

Average Rating 4
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Accidential Demon Slayer....

One of the funniest books I¿ve read this year. I loved this book. Lizzie Brown is leading a normal, predictable, boring life until the eve of her 30th b-day. When one knock on her door changes her world forever! A grandma she didn¿t know she had burst into her life...
One of the funniest books I¿ve read this year. I loved this book. Lizzie Brown is leading a normal, predictable, boring life until the eve of her 30th b-day. When one knock on her door changes her world forever! A grandma she didn¿t know she had burst into her life immediately casting protection spells from an old smuckers jar, now filled w/ magic and various road kill organs. Only this is no ordinary grandma. No, she¿s a witch who rides a pink Harley and belongs to a coven with other elderly Harley-riding witches, known as the Red Skulls. Lizzie is informed that she is a demon slayer and thus her journey begins. This whole book was a hoot. Between the trailer park hideouts, imps on a death quest, pulling a dozen of black souls out of werewolves, and journeying to hell, the excitement never stops. From start to finish this book was hilarious and I look forward to book two due out in April 2009. I highly recommend this book.

My favorite authors and books are Kim Harrison-Rachel Morgan series, Jenna Black-Morgan Kingsley series what an innovative concept, Ilona Andrews- Kate Daniels series this character is tough tough tough, Caitlin Kittredge- love her Noctune City series, Rachel Caine- Weather Warden series, Larissa Ione- Demonica series, Richelle Mead- Georgina Kinkaid series and Dark Swan Series, Audra and Stella Price- Eververse series, Yasmine Galenorn- Sisters of the Moon series, Vicki Pettersson- Zodiac series; Jackie Keller- Hell on Earth series, T.A. Pratt- Marla Mason series; Mark Henry- Happy Hour of the Damned

posted by kitkat3ny on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

!

Another book ruined by harriet klausner. Bn, when are you ever going to ban this plot spoiler, delete her plot spoiling posts, and stop her from ruining books? How many more books will you let her ruin?????

posted by 8888649 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Accidential Demon Slayer....

    One of the funniest books I¿ve read this year. I loved this book. Lizzie Brown is leading a normal, predictable, boring life until the eve of her 30th b-day. When one knock on her door changes her world forever! A grandma she didn¿t know she had burst into her life immediately casting protection spells from an old smuckers jar, now filled w/ magic and various road kill organs. Only this is no ordinary grandma. No, she¿s a witch who rides a pink Harley and belongs to a coven with other elderly Harley-riding witches, known as the Red Skulls. Lizzie is informed that she is a demon slayer and thus her journey begins. This whole book was a hoot. Between the trailer park hideouts, imps on a death quest, pulling a dozen of black souls out of werewolves, and journeying to hell, the excitement never stops. From start to finish this book was hilarious and I look forward to book two due out in April 2009. I highly recommend this book.<BR/><BR/>My favorite authors and books are Kim Harrison-Rachel Morgan series, Jenna Black-Morgan Kingsley series what an innovative concept, Ilona Andrews- Kate Daniels series this character is tough tough tough, Caitlin Kittredge- love her Noctune City series, Rachel Caine- Weather Warden series, Larissa Ione- Demonica series, Richelle Mead- Georgina Kinkaid series and Dark Swan Series, Audra and Stella Price- Eververse series, Yasmine Galenorn- Sisters of the Moon series, Vicki Pettersson- Zodiac series; Jackie Keller- Hell on Earth series, T.A. Pratt- Marla Mason series; Mark Henry- Happy Hour of the Damned

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a winner!

    So, after reading many positive reviews, I took the bait and got book 1 in this series. I love books with witty, grown-up banter, with characters who are interesting and layered and with a storyline that is new with a different twist. This, luckily, fits all of those categories and more. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although there are many specifics I could mention, it is much better to just read for yourself. You won't be disappointed. This is pure escape. And I'd definitely read again. For now, I'm on to book 2. I am anxious to see where this story will lead.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    !

    Another book ruined by harriet klausner. Bn, when are you ever going to ban this plot spoiler, delete her plot spoiling posts, and stop her from ruining books? How many more books will you let her ruin?????

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Funny, Witty, Sexy story

    In her first of the series, Angie Fox gives us Lizzy who on her 30th birthday finds out the hard way that what she carries in her DNA is a Demon Slayer. This book was a humorous look at some scary situations involving some pretty dastardly characters from the demon realm. The author is a genius with her dialogue and her storytelling is unmatched. Her characters are charming and sexy and scary. There is an underlying love story with a sexy griffon, but that in no way takes away from the story only adds to it. The plot is so unique and original that it's obvious she didn't copy from the many, many other paranormals out there.
    I would recommend this book to any one who loves a great paranormal read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    NOT another slayer knockoff story

    This book is funny and just an enjoyable read, I was a little cynical and was expecting to groan aloud about cliches but surprisingly I found myself laughing out loud and smiling throughout the entire book. My mother also enjoyed it and she rarely ever reads fiction.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    o

    I did like this book and it had some comedy in it and some lust. I pretty good hope to read more of this author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    Angie Fox provides her bewitching spin with her preschool teacher

    Adopted as a child, Happy Hands Preschool teacher Lizzie Brown lived the normal American life until the day she turns thirty years old. That is the day an older woman wearing a ¿Kiss My Asphalt¿ T-shirt and driving a pink Harley arrived at her Atlanta home. The woman who called her the day before claims she is her biological grandmother and that her coven is on the run. The tattooed stranger Gertie insists they need Lizzie, a genetic demon slaying witch, whose powers are about to erupt like Old Faithful counting down the final seconds like a space mission as Lizzie becomes the Exalted Demon Slayer of Dalea. Fearing more for her Jack Russell and her floor as Pirate senses trouble, Lizzie assumes she let a nut in her home until she goes to the bathroom. Sitting on her throne is an ugly demon.----------- To her shock Pirate not only adapts quite well, he becomes an eloquent English speaking terrier. With grandma and her dog at her side, Lizzie flees before all hell breaks loose. Joining the trio on the lam, as she learns to use her sudden bewitching skills is her self-proclaimed protector shapeshifting first class hunk (in human form) griffin Dimitri Kallinikos.----------------- From the moment that Gertie meets Lizzie, the atmosphere in Atlanta changes as she brings with her eccentricity, humor, and an odd mentoring as she claims Lizzie is the next generation in the DNA demon slaying pool. She also brings her coven and a horde of demons with her who all shares an identical focus for varying purposes: Lizzie. This sudden invasion turns Lizzie dizzy as her chick lit perspective provides urban fantasy fans with a frightening yet courageous superhero fans will know one thing as Lizzie kicks demon butt: she has Grandma¿s warped sense of humor. Somewhat on the surface similar to Julie Kenner¿s demon slaying soccer mom, Angie Fox provides her bewitching spin with her preschool teacher.------------ Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Lots of fun!

    A light read, lots of action, likeable characters, and a hot love interest...all I need for a cozy afternoon cuddling with my cats. I'll probably get the next book in the series soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Hard to read

    The female lead whines and rambles making it hard to follow the story. I couldn't really get into the characters. Actions scenes were kinda lame.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Ok

    For free i wouldnt buy it though

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    .....

    Good book..... This isnt a dating site

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Wtf?

    Did this just turn into a dating site for teenagers...that by the way SHOULD NOT be putting themselves out there like that!!!! Youre supposed to write a review on the book not on yourselves!!!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    difficult to get through

    The book had a few funny parts but was otherwise hard to get through. I found my self skimming instead of reading just to get it over with. The same goes for the rest of the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Good book

    I can discribe this book in two words that i never would have thought went so well together: roadkill magic.

    There is romance and action and hilarious scenes. Try it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Ok

    This was an ok read. It was well written, but i just couldnt get into it where i would become a devoted fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    3.5 Stars from me! While I do enjoy funny stories, you know the

    3.5 Stars from me!

    While I do enjoy funny stories, you know the ones I’m talking about, the ones where you can’t stop laughing while you read reading them. You will have tears running down your face because you are laughing so hard, those types of stories. There is that line that is there, the one where the author can pass the line between being hilarious, and being way too much funny.

    That is the case with this book. I did enjoy reading it because there were some parts of it that were just hilariously funny and I didn’t want to put the book down because I wanted to find the next funny part. But that’s the only reason why I was reading it at the time, was because I wanted to know the next smartalec thing that was going to be said. I didn’t get lost in the story itself like I normally do with books, I got lost in the funny.

    Now this story does have some “serious” undertones, when it comes to demons and the rings of hell of course it’s serious time. I was upset that there wasn’t more in the training part of the story, as well as what hell was like. Lizzie’s character didn’t seem like she was that different than other characters out there. Besides the fact that she was a demon slayer, she didn’t stand out in any sense to me.

    But if you are looking for a great funny read, than this is the book for you to check out!

    Review provided by Crystal's Many Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Not bad

    I agree with the other reviewer who said something was lacking but could not figure out exactly what that is. It was entertaining but could not get totally into it. Somethings needed to be explained more like her powers and how they worked. But its free so if you have the time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    Well dog was funnt.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Meh

    It was ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    WHAT THE HELL IS THIS ??? IM LOOKING FOR REVIEW NOT A DATE CAN S

    WHAT THE HELL IS THIS ??? IM LOOKING FOR REVIEW NOT A DATE CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN? I HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15