Customer Reviews for

The Accidental Demon Slayer

Average Rating 4
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Accidential Demon Slayer....

One of the funniest books I¿ve read this year. I loved this book. Lizzie Brown is leading a normal, predictable, boring life until the eve of her 30th b-day. When one knock on her door changes her world forever! A grandma she didn¿t know she had burst into her life...
One of the funniest books I¿ve read this year. I loved this book. Lizzie Brown is leading a normal, predictable, boring life until the eve of her 30th b-day. When one knock on her door changes her world forever! A grandma she didn¿t know she had burst into her life immediately casting protection spells from an old smuckers jar, now filled w/ magic and various road kill organs. Only this is no ordinary grandma. No, she¿s a witch who rides a pink Harley and belongs to a coven with other elderly Harley-riding witches, known as the Red Skulls. Lizzie is informed that she is a demon slayer and thus her journey begins. This whole book was a hoot. Between the trailer park hideouts, imps on a death quest, pulling a dozen of black souls out of werewolves, and journeying to hell, the excitement never stops. From start to finish this book was hilarious and I look forward to book two due out in April 2009. I highly recommend this book.

My favorite authors and books are Kim Harrison-Rachel Morgan series, Jenna Black-Morgan Kingsley series what an innovative concept, Ilona Andrews- Kate Daniels series this character is tough tough tough, Caitlin Kittredge- love her Noctune City series, Rachel Caine- Weather Warden series, Larissa Ione- Demonica series, Richelle Mead- Georgina Kinkaid series and Dark Swan Series, Audra and Stella Price- Eververse series, Yasmine Galenorn- Sisters of the Moon series, Vicki Pettersson- Zodiac series; Jackie Keller- Hell on Earth series, T.A. Pratt- Marla Mason series; Mark Henry- Happy Hour of the Damned

posted by kitkat3ny on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

!

Another book ruined by harriet klausner. Bn, when are you ever going to ban this plot spoiler, delete her plot spoiling posts, and stop her from ruining books? How many more books will you let her ruin?????

posted by 8888649 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Hard to read

    The female lead whines and rambles making it hard to follow the story. I couldn't really get into the characters. Actions scenes were kinda lame.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Ok

    For free i wouldnt buy it though

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Lots of fun!

    A light read, lots of action, likeable characters, and a hot love interest...all I need for a cozy afternoon cuddling with my cats. I'll probably get the next book in the series soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Well?

    This story was well written, but like some of the other reviewers I found myself skim reading most of the book. I think maybe there wasn't enough character back story and development and without it I just couldn't sink into it and invest in the story. I found myself reading not because I cared about the characters or how their relationship finished, but just to see how the plot ended. So with that being said it's free give it a shot it might be a great book for you! It just wasn't for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Ok

    This was an ok read. It was well written, but i just couldnt get into it where i would become a devoted fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book on a pure entertainment level. The character

    I enjoyed this book on a pure entertainment level. The characters are just that - characters. Uptight kindergarten teacher Lizzie turns 30 and suddenly finds herself in a world that simply doesn't fit into her orderly, bland existence. Suddenly she can carry on conversations with Pirate, her terrier, even when she doesn't want to.

    Then there is her maternal grandmother Gertie. Pretty much everything about Gertie flies in the face of Lizzie's idea of what a grandmother should be. For starters she rides a motorcycle, wears skinny jeans and puts rhinestones on almost everything. And then there is her claim that she is a witch who belongs to a coven that doubles as a motorcycle gang.

    From here things really go down the drain, literally and figuratively. As Gertie and Lizzie go running to the coven for some much needed magical reinforcements Dmitri appears on the scene. He is a living Adonis, or at least he looks that way some of the time. The rest of the time he is something out of myths and fairy tales, at least in Lizzie's mind.

    Somehow with every step she takes Lizzie ends up deeper and deeper in trouble. And everyone seems to have their own agenda concerning Lizzie and her newly awakened magical powers. Powers stronger than anyone has seen in ages, but at this point it is all raw, untrained power wrapped up in a neat package known as a Demon Slayer - formerly known as plain old Lizzie.

    This book is packed full of very likable, or at least entertaining characters that are brimming over with personality. Combine them with a nicely paced story arc and you have one very fast & entertaining read that left me looking forward to more books in this series, no doubt about it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    3.5 Stars from me! While I do enjoy funny stories, you know the

    3.5 Stars from me!

    While I do enjoy funny stories, you know the ones I’m talking about, the ones where you can’t stop laughing while you read reading them. You will have tears running down your face because you are laughing so hard, those types of stories. There is that line that is there, the one where the author can pass the line between being hilarious, and being way too much funny.

    That is the case with this book. I did enjoy reading it because there were some parts of it that were just hilariously funny and I didn’t want to put the book down because I wanted to find the next funny part. But that’s the only reason why I was reading it at the time, was because I wanted to know the next smartalec thing that was going to be said. I didn’t get lost in the story itself like I normally do with books, I got lost in the funny.

    Now this story does have some “serious” undertones, when it comes to demons and the rings of hell of course it’s serious time. I was upset that there wasn’t more in the training part of the story, as well as what hell was like. Lizzie’s character didn’t seem like she was that different than other characters out there. Besides the fact that she was a demon slayer, she didn’t stand out in any sense to me.

    But if you are looking for a great funny read, than this is the book for you to check out!

    Review provided by Crystal's Many Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Not bad

    I agree with the other reviewer who said something was lacking but could not figure out exactly what that is. It was entertaining but could not get totally into it. Somethings needed to be explained more like her powers and how they worked. But its free so if you have the time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Cute

    This is a cute book. Took me a while to finish it, I just kept putting it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    ..

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a nice story I enjoyed reading the book. 

    This was a nice story I enjoyed reading the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ok

    The author left a lot of holes in the story while trying to make it through the plot. Sometimes she jumped from point a to b without really explaining how the characters got there. The romance bit was entertaining. Good overall concept. Just wished it had been more developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Fun

    This was a fun book. I enjoyed the story and love the dog. The author could use a thesarus, at times words were over used-- ie hollering-- words like yell, call, shout would do well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Sorry, cant stand the way it was written

    Stupid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Different

    I thought the plot had some originality. There was some humor too. I kinda thought the supporting characters like the dog and biker aunt were stronger and better portrayed than the two lead characters. I cant put my finger on what exactlybut they were lacking something. All and all decent read especially as a freebie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Ok

    Stats: 620 nook pages. Paranormal adventure romance. Wacky off-beat humor. Rated R sex scene. Adult language. Some gory violence. I was bothered by how instinctual Lizzie's powers were, when every other slayer had to train for years. I won't pay for other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    On her 30th Birthday, Lizzie (Elizabeth Gertrude Brown) expected

    On her 30th Birthday, Lizzie (Elizabeth Gertrude Brown) expected a hot night at a local bar with her friends and a guy she's been crushing on., what else would a preschool teacher expect..what she gets is mystical demon slaying powers, meeting her Harley riding grandmother and the ability to hear her dog talk.  If that isn't bad enough, a demon shows up on her toilet and tries to kill her.  Nope definitely not the night she had planned.

    Pulled into a world she never new existed, Lizzie must decide who she can trust in this new and precarious world.  Complicating the matter, a hot griffin has his sights on Lizzie and fuddles her every chance he gets.

    <i>The Accidental Demon Slayer</i>
    is a humor filled adventure.  With road kill banquets, sequenced clothing, peculiar witch rau motor cycle gang  and a magical shield that turns into unusual protection garments, <i>The Accidental Demon Slayer</i>
    provided an original fun read.

    I received this copy of <i>The Accidental Demon Slayer</i>
    from Season Publishing - Angie Fox in exchange for a honest review.  This book republished May 23, 2013.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Good

    It was good. I just kept forgetting she is 30 because she acted like a teen in some parts. Book was good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Sepioth

    Silvee hair red eyes 16 or 21 wears a blagk coat has a scar on nose that makes a X

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4