Customer Reviews for

The Accidental Demon Slayer, An Urban Fantasy Romance

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

love this humor in this book. and the coven lol . You wont be di

love this humor in this book. and the coven lol . You wont be disappointed reading this book, it has it all, comedy, adventure, lust.

posted by silverwolf5p on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Started off amusingly but stayed at cartoon or caricature level

Started off amusingly but stayed at cartoon or caricature level the rest of the way through its tale. Carpe Demon is much better written than this.

posted by franklymydear on April 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    love this humor in this book. and the coven lol . You wont be di

    love this humor in this book. and the coven lol . You wont be disappointed reading this book, it has it all, comedy, adventure, lust.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox 3.5 stars Great comedy

    The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox 3.5 stars
    Great comedy and characters, lost a half-star for a rushed romance

    Sometimes, Amazon’s ‘Freebie” program turns up a jewel. And with The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox, I am thrilled to say I wound up with a ruby. Hey, I like rubies better than diamonds, so sue me!

    Come on, who wouldn’t be thrilled to have a kick-butt, 70-something, pink-Harley-riding grandma show up on your doorstep on your 30th birthday to help you kick demon backside? Well, if you happen to be the ‘turning-thirty-preschool-teacher” hiding in the bathroom from said grandma, things can get a bit confusing, but come on. A Pink Harley? Got to love it!

    And the action only starts there. Strap your hyperactive Jack Russell into a ferret bag across your chest, hop on the back of Grandma’s Hog, (even if you do get carsick in anything faster than a tricycle) and take off for the Red Skull Hog Ridin’ Grannies biker bar, with demons in pursuit. What happens after had me grinning like a crazed biker granny myself, as Lizzie and Grandma kick fanny and take names across the American South – and a good portion of Hell.

    This is the first time I had heard of Angie Fox, and I am thrilled to say it won’t be the last of her books that I intend to roll around in like a dog in road kill (hey, you will get the reference when you read the book – and DO read the book!) Her whole Accidental Demon Slayer series (two three-volume sets) is already on my Nook and set up to read. I also grabbed the first in her Monster Mash series (the 3063rd M.A.S.H. unit, location – limbo). Angie has a wicked sense of humour, a brilliant touch with her characters, and her writing shows great pace and timing. In Accidental there is, of course, a ‘love interest’, and as usual said romantic twist rolls forward much too quickly for reality, but I have given up on the idea that any book with romance included as part of the plot isn’t going to include rolling around in the sack and declaring undying love within the first two days of meeting. Meh. At least in Angie’s book, Lizzie isn’t totally spineless. She stands up to betrayal and kicks it in the cohones. And the betrayer, too. So, no harm, no foul as they say.

    I admit, I had to laugh at some of the low-star reviews. Come on, people! This is fantasy!!! I think that, sometimes, people get so wrapped up in their expectations, whether they be expectations of “realism” or expectations based upon what other writers do (“familiars” and whatnot) that they can’t just sit back, relax, and enjoy something new. It seems that some people wanted formula – shapeshifters shifting every two seconds, ‘my dog is my familiar’, I just suddenly know how to do everything magical even though my life has been totally mundane forever. Puh. Get over it, sit down, and read the book for what it is, a comedy that takes the old formulas and turns them on their head. Get over it!

    Overall, Angie goes in my ‘must read when I am reading just for myself’ pile. She made me laugh, and her story was a pure, guilty pleasure. What more can I ask?

    Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    awesome

    Will buy the rest of the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Started off amusingly but stayed at cartoon or caricature level

    Started off amusingly but stayed at cartoon or caricature level the rest of the way through its tale. Carpe Demon is much better written than this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Peter

    A tall boy with black hair and eyes the color of a grey slush. He wears a black shirt with a fit leather jacket(brown) with cargo pants and brown leather boots. He likes to shoot his bow and arrows and he is funny. Very protective

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME! It was hilarious and kept me guessing all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I love this series!

    I read the whole series i loved it it was funny and a perfect blend of mythical creatures and romance i was super sad the see the end of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Recommend

    It was humorous and fast paced. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Mari

    16 year old girl long brown hair and dark chocolate brown eyes :) I've got a hellhound for a pet named Jimmie and a tiger named Cliff. I love to read different book and have a tendency to get lost in a really good book... Fav holiday would have to be Halloween.... I like to bike and swim, shot paint balls every now and then.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Angel

    Do u mean me amour?

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Amour

    Female. Tall slim blond with blue eyes. 18. One kinda-sister (long story) Jayme. Rottweiler named Rogue. Dating Shade. Dislike hopeless flirts and dumb people. Loves sports

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Sepioth

    Silvee hair red eyes 16 or 21 wears a blagk coat has a scar on nose that makes a X

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Tori

    Tall fourteen year old with curly light brown hair and blue eyes. Sometimes shy but mostly not. Single and has a crush but thats none of your buisness. Always wears a black tanktop a faded denim army jacket camo shorts and cherry tomato chucks. Likes hockey, soccer, chocolate, taylor swift music, music in general, and fun overall. Dislikes pink, justin beiber, ballet and onions.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    allegra

    13 almost 14. Shy but is very adventurous and out going once you get to know her. Her mood can change quickly. Has long black hair that she usually has pulled up in a pony tail. Enjoys reading, swimming, and hanging out with friends. Honest and caring and trust worthy.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Colten

    Name colten age 16 hom result twelve on a dairy farm an looking for help

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Breanna/Brooke

    My name is Breanna Brooke Lanae. I am 14, but am mature for my age. I have long dark brown curly hair lightened with blonde highlights. I have medium brown eyes that are round and big but they fit my face. I am very tan, being that i live in the south. I was originally born in Flordia but moved to South Carolina at a young age. My family lives in Florida and Georgia. I am athletic, i play volleyball and run track. I am a very energetic person. Once when i was little the doctors told me i needed to be put on ADHD (i know it doesnt even make sense) medicine but my mom refused and dealt with me, so im a naturally energetic person. I apparently talk to much as ive been told. But whatever. Hmm..i love the color purple, sweet tea, country music, Hunter Hayes! Wooh he is amazing! I listen to diff kinds of music but alot of country. I dislike rude obnoxious people, someone just looking for a gf/bf. Gosh get to know people first! yea..so i hate really immature people. I hate people who lie, just tell e things straightforward dont lie. I am a very blunt and honest person. If you dont want to hear the thruth about what i think of you then dont come near me. "I'd rather tell someone the truth and make them cry then lie to someone and make them smile" see im viscious! Lol I tend to have this issue with my mouth and yea i cant keep it shut. Sorry. Anyways um i have a dragon named Sparkles or Spark for short. Shes a medium grey with lavendar eyes. I am usually wearing ifferent thigs but it mostly consists with jeas a shirt and either my lavendar vans or my track running shoes. I wear glasses but mostly contacts. Hmm i think thats it. Oh well bye for now! Talk to me if you want to know more! Oh and ive heard im a really good and easy person to talk to, i give good advice and most follow it. I love talking to people so come see me.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Annabeth O'Daely

    Name: Annabeth. Looks: long curly red hair, pale skin, blue eyes. Freckles on her nose. Skinny but curvy, 5'4". Wears whatever she wants. She wears a brown leather bracelet that lunas gave to her and a locket with a picture of her twin sister in in. Age: 15. History: born in ireland, her mom mived to america to dump her and her twin with their dad then run off and become a strip.per. Her twin recently killed herself. Crush: none ya. Boyfriend: none. Other: can play pretty much any instrument, draws, sings, paints, writes, does not understand sports at all.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Lunas's Bio

    Name-Lunas A'arjakkto~Looks-Black hair, blue and grey eyes, wears a soccer jersey, jeans, and RayBans~Personality-Intelligent but kinda shy. He acts normally around some people. He likes archery, soccer, music, and llamas. He dislikes alot of things~History-He is the son of Marie and Ian. He had two brothers named Marshall and Jacob but know they are dead. He has no current gf~That's all! Hope you like me!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2