Customer Reviews for

The Accursed

Average Rating 2.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Absorbing

Oates has written a fascinating novel featuring historical figures and the upper crust of Princeton at the dawn of the twentieth century. In her world, however, these sons and daughters of privelege are haunted by a mysterious curse, claiming them, one by one, to the ho...
Oates has written a fascinating novel featuring historical figures and the upper crust of Princeton at the dawn of the twentieth century. In her world, however, these sons and daughters of privelege are haunted by a mysterious curse, claiming them, one by one, to the horror of the polite and sheltered society.
All of this is narrated by a rambling characture of a historian, whose writing style is very much of the time period in which he has absorbed himself.
The effect is that the whole account, which includes diary entries, letters, and dialogue, maintains the flow and continuity of a novel, despite the use of a contemporary narrator. It is fascinating, unpredictable, and impossible to put down.

posted by oluckyme on March 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slog through the Bog

Why someone as talented as Joyce Carol Oates would spend time and effort writing such a book escapes me. The concept of an historical Gothic fantasy is clever, but she turned it into a tedious, repetitive exercise. To make matters worse, it's too long by about two third...
Why someone as talented as Joyce Carol Oates would spend time and effort writing such a book escapes me. The concept of an historical Gothic fantasy is clever, but she turned it into a tedious, repetitive exercise. To make matters worse, it's too long by about two thirds. I pride myself on finishing the books I start and keeping an open mind, but this experience seems so twistedly wasteful as to make the reading truly shameful instead of a guilty pleasure! -- catwak

posted by catwak on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Absorbing

    Oates has written a fascinating novel featuring historical figures and the upper crust of Princeton at the dawn of the twentieth century. In her world, however, these sons and daughters of privelege are haunted by a mysterious curse, claiming them, one by one, to the horror of the polite and sheltered society.
    All of this is narrated by a rambling characture of a historian, whose writing style is very much of the time period in which he has absorbed himself.
    The effect is that the whole account, which includes diary entries, letters, and dialogue, maintains the flow and continuity of a novel, despite the use of a contemporary narrator. It is fascinating, unpredictable, and impossible to put down.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Jm

    This book is not worthy of the author. I can only guess that she was trying to capitalize on the not so recent popular interest in daytime television soap operas that erroneously include vampires. I found this book to be extremely tedious and dull. Don't waste your time or money!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Slog through the Bog

    Why someone as talented as Joyce Carol Oates would spend time and effort writing such a book escapes me. The concept of an historical Gothic fantasy is clever, but she turned it into a tedious, repetitive exercise. To make matters worse, it's too long by about two thirds. I pride myself on finishing the books I start and keeping an open mind, but this experience seems so twistedly wasteful as to make the reading truly shameful instead of a guilty pleasure! -- catwak

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Fan of the author....

    But not of this book.....100 pages in and trying to stay with it. TORTURE to read!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    I am trying to forget...only long habit is making me finish this

    I am trying to forget...only long habit is making me finish this miss mash, cudda been good but WAS NOT!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I couldn't get into it

    I tried and tried with this book. I gave up halfway through, which I never do with a book. It jumps around so much, I felt myself wishing she would stick to one story and get on with it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Not a fan

    I was excited to read this author since she has written such wonderful books in the past, but I found this painstakingly long and difficult to finish.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Although a HUGE fan of JCO for decades, this one I couldn't get

    Although a HUGE fan of JCO for decades, this one I couldn't get into and stopped reading after 100 pages or so. Not up to par with most of her other novels .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Wonderful read! So gothic and juicy. Terrific characters.

    Wonderful read! So gothic and juicy. Terrific characters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Loved it

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Horrible.

    Horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Good book.

    Deep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read

    Joyce Carol Oates never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    First 300 a gem

    Rest, not so much...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2