Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Average Rating 4
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A Timeless Classic

This classic of American literature is perhaps the most misunderstood and maligned book since the Bible. Nobody who has ever actually read the book could ever call it racist. True, it is filled with the 'N' word that decent people find offensive, but it was necessa...
This classic of American literature is perhaps the most misunderstood and maligned book since the Bible. Nobody who has ever actually read the book could ever call it racist. True, it is filled with the 'N' word that decent people find offensive, but it was necessary in the context. This wonderful book is just as powerfully anti-slavery as 'Uncle Tom's Cabin' by Harriett Beecher Stowe, but while her book is still praised, Mark Twain's book is being banned from high school libraries. I first read this book at age 12, and have re-read it at least every two years ever since. I'm in my 40's now, but Huck and Jim take me right back to 12 every time I see them again.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Why can't the flaw be fixed? Why couldn't this be properly trans

Why can't the flaw be fixed? Why couldn't this be properly transcribed? How about other public domain books. Almost makes me want to return my Nook Tablet.

posted by apin on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic novel, hard to read.

    Although Huck Finn is a classic book and loved by many, I found it hard to read. It was written in many different Southern dialects, and it had sentences like, "How you gwyne git'm? You can't slip up on um en grab um; en how's a body gwyne to hit um wid a rock?" Reading conversation after conversation like this gets old fast. Overall, it was a great story, and the major theme of "looking for freedom" was pretty cool. If it was easier to read, I would have LOVED this book, and I would recommend it to anyone who can stomach weird dialects and old fashioned writing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    The way that Huckleberry Finn lives

    As you can see its title, the story is about adventures.But I think it is beyond adventures. After I read the second chapter, I couldn't understand the people who joined 'Tom Sawyer's Gang. The rule of the band doesn't make sense to me.The rule is saying that everyone wants to join the band has to write his name in blood and kill the families of the boys who told the secrets of them. I think Huckleberry Finn and I are really different people in characteristics.I don't like adventures but there would be no Huckleberry Finn without adventures. I don't like the character but it was good experience that made me to think about the people that are totally different from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Its an ok book to read.

    I think this was an ok book. I wished it had more action in it. Huck Finn to me is a little boy that is interested in what the world has to offer and he finds out when he goes through the adventures he encounters. I would recommed this book because it makes you think alot about salvery and what it must've been like for Jim and put yourself in Jim shoes, its just something to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Jessica add on

    That had so many typos o.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    I cant decide..

    I like classics but idk if its good or not. There are lots of good and bad reviews idk which to do

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    A good read.

    I have wanted to read this book for years. Now I have. Even tho our language has changed over time. The story is still the same. Don't let the verbiage turn you away. It's a good read. One can look at the story several different contexts. A fight for personal freedom from society or a little boys having an adventure before adult life puts restraints on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Speaker

    I'm like a river,<br>
    Rolling across a plain.<br>
    The grass may change its color,<br>
    But l will stay the same.<p>

    Suddenly l'm a poet. v.v

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    It

    Rocks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Its worth reading

    I loved it, it really is a good book. At first I didn't wanna read it but I had to for English tests, a book report, and a okay grade. I was glad I read it because sometimes its boring, but over all it gets really good. If you are into adventure and into a twisting story- this book is for you. I think Twain made a really good story, and story line. To be honest, I dont really like to read-but when I started reading this book, I really didn't wanna put it down. I probably got 'docked points' for reading it in all my other classes. So its a good book, and I highly recommend it. Mostly to the ppl who just like to read for fun, and it doesn't have to be the 'best book in the world,' it just has to be really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3