BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Average Rating 4
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

A Timeless Classic

This classic of American literature is perhaps the most misunderstood and maligned book since the Bible. Nobody who has ever actually read the book could ever call it racist. True, it is filled with the 'N' word that decent people find offensive, but it was necessa...
This classic of American literature is perhaps the most misunderstood and maligned book since the Bible. Nobody who has ever actually read the book could ever call it racist. True, it is filled with the 'N' word that decent people find offensive, but it was necessary in the context. This wonderful book is just as powerfully anti-slavery as 'Uncle Tom's Cabin' by Harriett Beecher Stowe, but while her book is still praised, Mark Twain's book is being banned from high school libraries. I first read this book at age 12, and have re-read it at least every two years ever since. I'm in my 40's now, but Huck and Jim take me right back to 12 every time I see them again.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Why can't the flaw be fixed? Why couldn't this be properly trans

Why can't the flaw be fixed? Why couldn't this be properly transcribed? How about other public domain books. Almost makes me want to return my Nook Tablet.

posted by apin on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 344 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Huckleberry finn

    It's a great book, but it has mistakes that make it harder to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Huckleberry Finn

    One of the best books that I have read this summer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    BAD

    this book isnt good at all, and the way it written is annoying

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    AdventurfuL!

    this is a fun book. read it! i think youd all like it...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    The way that Huckleberry Finn lives

    As you can see its title, the story is about adventures.But I think it is beyond adventures. After I read the second chapter, I couldn't understand the people who joined 'Tom Sawyer's Gang. The rule of the band doesn't make sense to me.The rule is saying that everyone wants to join the band has to write his name in blood and kill the families of the boys who told the secrets of them. I think Huckleberry Finn and I are really different people in characteristics.I don't like adventures but there would be no Huckleberry Finn without adventures. I don't like the character but it was good experience that made me to think about the people that are totally different from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    One Reader's Response to Huck Finn

    Overall, I found this book to be great. Twain's characters were lively and energetic. His use of the southern dialect in Huck's narrative and in the dialog between characters added a certain depth to the novel. It made the characters seem more realistic because the story was set in Missouri along the Mississippi River, and for them to have been speaking proper English would have been hard to swallow. Twain's characters were interestingly crafted as well. Huck and Jim were both amusingly superstitious, the King and the Duke were brilliant and stupid at the same time, and the contrast between the Widow Douglas and her sister on their views on Christianity was very striking indeed. The only negative thing that I found in the book was the use of derogatory names for the slaves. Of course, these names are expected to appear in the novel due to its setting in time. Other than that, the book was great. It was full of adventure, cultural color, and vivid imagery. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    It weren't to bad!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book was a very southern style book.I have to say Iactually did like the book pretty good.It was a very adventourous book with Huck and Jim headed north up the Mississippi River. The story gave a pretty great picture of the way the south is and that might be my favorite part about the book. It also reminded me of the kinds of books my elementary school teachers would read to my class.It is aanother good adventure book that needs to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Its an ok book to read.

    I think this was an ok book. I wished it had more action in it. Huck Finn to me is a little boy that is interested in what the world has to offer and he finds out when he goes through the adventures he encounters. I would recommed this book because it makes you think alot about salvery and what it must've been like for Jim and put yourself in Jim shoes, its just something to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2001

    Mark Twain's Fantastic Finn

    Mark Twain has created a world of adventure and curiosity. For Huckleberry Finn his new life of wealth and civilization is more than he can stand. All he can do is wait for an adventure that will free him of his boredom. When his Pap comes back to town, Huck must go and live with him. Pap is an abusive alcoholic. Huckleberry can't wait to get away. After feigning his own death, Huck takes off down the Mississippi in a canoe. He runs across Jim, Miss Watson's runaway slave. Together they sail down the river on a raft, encountering many different people. The scheming Duke and King, the violent Grangerfords who are feuding with the Sheperdsons, and even Tom Sawyer's Aunt Sally gets pulled into Huck's journey. Huck's good luck and sharp wit saves the two friends from peril on more than one occasion. Mark Twain has done a wonderful job of showing life on the Mississippi River. The language used is what one would expect to hear people from 19th century Missouri using. Twain's atmosphere absorbs the reader into Huck's world of mischief and mayhem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    the adventures of huckleberry finn

    ¿THE ADVENTURES OF HUCKLEBERRY FINN¿ The book of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn takes place in the Mississippi River. Huck is a boy that likes to be traveling around the world; he doesn¿t like to stay in one single place. He started to get out of the town because he had a father (Pap). He threated him so badly that he was living with two ladies the Widow Douglas and Miss Watson. They tryed to civilized him, but he didn't like that way of living that he ran away from them that was when he started his adventures. We witness the critique, presentation, themes, realistic, entertaining of Huckleberry Finn book. This all started when Huck ran away from his house, and he found a slave named Jim he was Miss Watson¿s slave. He didn¿t like to be a slave, so he ran away too. He was going to look for his family. They got into many adventures together. With these I learned that there are people who don¿t like slavery in the year that this story happened. The true thing about slavery and friendship is that when you don¿t have a true friend, but when we find one, we try to be trustful with it. It showed a good way to know about the adventures of one or more persons. It showed also good numbers of settings. Well all of these things look and tell what we can live today in these days when you run away from home to get some joy in the world with adventures. This book was really good because it had good setting . They show us the importance of friendship. In this movie, we saw child abuse and alcoholics and other things. When the main character showed what was his ideas, it got my whole attention because he was so smart to do all of those things to help Jim, his true friend. This book didn¿t affect my thinkings because it helped me to appreciate all of my friends for what they are and what they have inside, not what they can do for me or what is my convenience with them. It tells me many things about friendship of how important it is for all of us, and when to know if a person is your friend or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    A suspenseful trip down the Mississippi River

    In the book 'Adventures of Huckleberry Finn' by Mark Twain, a boy and a runaway slave try to get away from life by evacuating their own town and making their way down along the Mississippi River. Huck Finn who is 14 years old is a boy whose dad is an abusive alcoholic arranges his fake death to get away. Huck is a trouble seeking young boy, but he does mean good. Huck is also the narrator in this novel. He meets up with Jim a little ways down the river. Jim a very soft hearted caring slave. They meet two men who a con artists who pretend to be the King and the Duke. They cause Huck and Jim a ton of trouble. Then they meet up with Tom Sawyer, Tom is adventure seeker and will go out of his way for a little fun. As Huck and Jim make their way down the River Huck accepts Jim as a friend not as a slave. Their struggle is trying to make their way down the Mississippi through all the mishaps that happen along the way. Huck was very confused about whether he should turn Jim in or not. For readers who like suspense and adventure I recommend The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    Finn to winn

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain is absolutely a tremendous classic novel. The book is good and lively, all the way through. Not the least of its qualities is the fidelity with which it paints the characters and the scenes with which the story deals. Twain paints living pictures, and he makes his young rebel hero a character that the reader is bound to like, in spite of himself. The story begins as Huck Finn, a 14 year old houligan, growing up on the banks of the Mississippi River, runs away from his abusive, alcoholic father. The story progresses quite a bit from there. Huck meets up with Jim, a free slave, who also wants to get away from everything. The two venture down the Mississippi and get into all sorts of crazy predicaments. They then meet up with Tom Sawyer. His presence only adds to the duo¿s hi-jinx. The story then takes a surprising turn and ends with a - Bang. So if you can't wait any longer to find out what happens, pick up a copy now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    A piece of literary work that you would not want to miss.

    Mark Twain's Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is just an awesome book. When assigned this book to read, one browses through to see how long it is. In this case, it was 42 chapters long. At first I was a little uneasy but once I got into it I couldn't get out. This book was full of adventures and eye opening moments. Reading this book, makes one wish they went out into the Mississippi and lived their life one day at a time. Whatever comes and happens just comes and happens.That's why I like it, it tells one that it is ok to be and feel free every once in awhile. A great piece of work, it has been for years and will continue to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    wonderful

    It's the best book I've ever read, it caught my attention since the first time I read it. I'm a black boy and this story means a lot to me because I could see how my people were treated and I also saw that there were some white people that helped us to become free, i liked this story a lot, it was so good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    great book if u read between the lines

    in my LA class we read this and i loved it its a must read, for me i never read i hate books but i loved this one!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    Good Book! Yet..not quite great!

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is without a doubt the better of the two between Tom Sawyer and itself. The ending is great, it has good description, and so on. But it's just on the thin line between Near Classic Novel and Classic Novel. You have to love Mark Twain's anitcs in writing in numerous astrics to show the usage of slang in the book. This shouldn't falter your steady reading pace unless, you are a young adult. The only reason for earning a 4 star and not 5 star is that this book really dosen't CATCH! your attention. I had difficulty becoming engrossed in this book opposed to other classic novels. But don't get me wrong it's a wonderful book. Just don't become aghast when you find yourself uninterested like so many other people that have read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    This book was great

    This book used numerous dialects and had plenty of action to keep me entertained throughout the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Xgdggfdhhdhfhffb

    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    I love this book

    Because of how he lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Penguin has also reissued an edition of the classic novel, Adven

    Penguin has also reissued an edition of the classic novel, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, a tale that has more controversy surrounding it than the Tom Sawyer story penned by Mark Twain.   For this is the story of Huck Finn, a young boy who travels with a runaway slave, Jim, for the purpose of obtaining his freedom. 
    Huck is fleeing his alcoholic father’s abusive ways, a part of the story that may seem like adventure initially when read at a young age but which becomes a journey surrounded by starkly harsh reality.  Huck’s cheery attitude must be a partial façade that covers over a mass of wounded spirit.  At times those wounds leak out in the cruel way he speaks to Jim.  However, living in a stable family environment is not something Huck can stand as proved by his escape from the widow Douglas. He has something of the “wild” in him, perhaps a tad of his father’s spirit or upbringing than we would admit.  Either way, Huck is beholden to no adult, not even Jim, at least not early on in the story; later both change because of the intimate conversations they have on their dangerous journey down the Mississippi River, including getting involved in a family feud, consorting with thieves, pretending to be his old buddy Tom Sawyer, and much more.
    Rasmussen has again penned an interesting introduction in which he explores the “bad boy” image Huck seems to have maintained for as long as it existed, the false comparisons with Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe, the lack of purpose other than adventure with some morality embedded within the story, and more.  
    Huckleberry Finn is a wonderful story about a young adult who shows his simple and unrefined nature over and over in the way he craves but fears danger, his wise nature when he sees through the duplicity of those who claim to care for their slaves (using the “n” word common in that time of history), his own prejudice when he threatens to turn Jim in which would have guaranteed the most brutal punishment possible if not death), and so much more.  They will meet friendly men and women and thieves of every type as they travel downriver. 
    Reread this new edition and note the genius of Mark Twain who writes stories that can be perceived as just that or with layers of critical satire that forced America to confront its lack of tackling severe problems such as dysfunctional families and parenting, criminal activities pervading every town in America, the acceptable and unacceptable values within the friendships and acquaintances made by Huck, the lack of adult courage that stood out in stark relief through the actions of a young boy, and finally the need to find justice in the most intolerable circumstances of time, without the hindsight of history to help!
    This reviewer loves this book and highly recommends it as a first, second or umpteenth read – a TRUE CLASSIC, a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 344 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18