Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Average Rating 4
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A Timeless Classic

This classic of American literature is perhaps the most misunderstood and maligned book since the Bible. Nobody who has ever actually read the book could ever call it racist. True, it is filled with the 'N' word that decent people find offensive, but it was necessa...
This classic of American literature is perhaps the most misunderstood and maligned book since the Bible. Nobody who has ever actually read the book could ever call it racist. True, it is filled with the 'N' word that decent people find offensive, but it was necessary in the context. This wonderful book is just as powerfully anti-slavery as 'Uncle Tom's Cabin' by Harriett Beecher Stowe, but while her book is still praised, Mark Twain's book is being banned from high school libraries. I first read this book at age 12, and have re-read it at least every two years ever since. I'm in my 40's now, but Huck and Jim take me right back to 12 every time I see them again.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Why can't the flaw be fixed? Why couldn't this be properly trans

Why can't the flaw be fixed? Why couldn't this be properly transcribed? How about other public domain books. Almost makes me want to return my Nook Tablet.

posted by apin on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Totally One of the Greatest books Ever!!!!

    "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn," by Mark Twain, is a book about Huckleberry Finn, the namesake of the book. Continuing the events of the last book "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer," Huck is living with widow Douglas, who has adopted him. Huck gets bored of the widow trying to civilize him, he runs out and his abusive father finds him. His father takes him in, and Huck tries to get out. He finds an old saw and cuts his way out of the house and fakes his own death. He catches a canoe and hides out on Jackson's island, Huck finds the widow's slave, Jim, who is also hiding out. Tom and Jim build a raft, and escape down the river. <BR/> <BR/> <BR/> During their trip, Huck and Jim meet a few colorful characters, including two feuding families, and two cons who claim to be a king and a duke. Huck may not seem so, but he is very clever, and able to see through the king and dukes' antics, which makes him sick to his stomach. Huck is always trying to do good, and sometimes has a conflict with himself in deciding exactly what is good. One night, he even thinks about turning Jim in, because he feels bad for helping the widow's slave escape. He tells two white men in a canoe to check the raft, claiming his sick uncle to be on it. He ends up convincing them that his uncle has smallpox, so they give him 40 dollars and leave him alone. <BR/> <BR/> <BR/> I think that this book is great. One of the best I've ever read. This book's plot may be a little over-used, a boy helping a slave escape from his master, but you never really know what's going to happen. Mark Twain is one of the best authors from whom I've ever read. This book easily makes me want to read some other books of his. There are twists, turns, and, like a punch to the face in a dark room, you never see them coming. If your okay with a few politically incorrect words (The book was written in the 1800s, when slavery was legal) and you love adventure, I definitley recommend this book to you.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Anonymus,on Jan.21

    Awesome!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I just llove this bio I just love this book

    :D

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Wow really

    Seriously those flaws were not flaws and its called a southern diuloge over all its a great read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Huckle berry Huckleberry finn

    Great book love it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Must read

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Huckleberry finn

    It's a great book, but it has mistakes that make it harder to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    It weren't to bad!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book was a very southern style book.I have to say Iactually did like the book pretty good.It was a very adventourous book with Huck and Jim headed north up the Mississippi River. The story gave a pretty great picture of the way the south is and that might be my favorite part about the book. It also reminded me of the kinds of books my elementary school teachers would read to my class.It is aanother good adventure book that needs to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    the adventures of huckleberry finn

    ¿THE ADVENTURES OF HUCKLEBERRY FINN¿ The book of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn takes place in the Mississippi River. Huck is a boy that likes to be traveling around the world; he doesn¿t like to stay in one single place. He started to get out of the town because he had a father (Pap). He threated him so badly that he was living with two ladies the Widow Douglas and Miss Watson. They tryed to civilized him, but he didn't like that way of living that he ran away from them that was when he started his adventures. We witness the critique, presentation, themes, realistic, entertaining of Huckleberry Finn book. This all started when Huck ran away from his house, and he found a slave named Jim he was Miss Watson¿s slave. He didn¿t like to be a slave, so he ran away too. He was going to look for his family. They got into many adventures together. With these I learned that there are people who don¿t like slavery in the year that this story happened. The true thing about slavery and friendship is that when you don¿t have a true friend, but when we find one, we try to be trustful with it. It showed a good way to know about the adventures of one or more persons. It showed also good numbers of settings. Well all of these things look and tell what we can live today in these days when you run away from home to get some joy in the world with adventures. This book was really good because it had good setting . They show us the importance of friendship. In this movie, we saw child abuse and alcoholics and other things. When the main character showed what was his ideas, it got my whole attention because he was so smart to do all of those things to help Jim, his true friend. This book didn¿t affect my thinkings because it helped me to appreciate all of my friends for what they are and what they have inside, not what they can do for me or what is my convenience with them. It tells me many things about friendship of how important it is for all of us, and when to know if a person is your friend or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    A suspenseful trip down the Mississippi River

    In the book 'Adventures of Huckleberry Finn' by Mark Twain, a boy and a runaway slave try to get away from life by evacuating their own town and making their way down along the Mississippi River. Huck Finn who is 14 years old is a boy whose dad is an abusive alcoholic arranges his fake death to get away. Huck is a trouble seeking young boy, but he does mean good. Huck is also the narrator in this novel. He meets up with Jim a little ways down the river. Jim a very soft hearted caring slave. They meet two men who a con artists who pretend to be the King and the Duke. They cause Huck and Jim a ton of trouble. Then they meet up with Tom Sawyer, Tom is adventure seeker and will go out of his way for a little fun. As Huck and Jim make their way down the River Huck accepts Jim as a friend not as a slave. Their struggle is trying to make their way down the Mississippi through all the mishaps that happen along the way. Huck was very confused about whether he should turn Jim in or not. For readers who like suspense and adventure I recommend The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    Finn to winn

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain is absolutely a tremendous classic novel. The book is good and lively, all the way through. Not the least of its qualities is the fidelity with which it paints the characters and the scenes with which the story deals. Twain paints living pictures, and he makes his young rebel hero a character that the reader is bound to like, in spite of himself. The story begins as Huck Finn, a 14 year old houligan, growing up on the banks of the Mississippi River, runs away from his abusive, alcoholic father. The story progresses quite a bit from there. Huck meets up with Jim, a free slave, who also wants to get away from everything. The two venture down the Mississippi and get into all sorts of crazy predicaments. They then meet up with Tom Sawyer. His presence only adds to the duo¿s hi-jinx. The story then takes a surprising turn and ends with a - Bang. So if you can't wait any longer to find out what happens, pick up a copy now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    wonderful

    It's the best book I've ever read, it caught my attention since the first time I read it. I'm a black boy and this story means a lot to me because I could see how my people were treated and I also saw that there were some white people that helped us to become free, i liked this story a lot, it was so good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    Good Book! Yet..not quite great!

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is without a doubt the better of the two between Tom Sawyer and itself. The ending is great, it has good description, and so on. But it's just on the thin line between Near Classic Novel and Classic Novel. You have to love Mark Twain's anitcs in writing in numerous astrics to show the usage of slang in the book. This shouldn't falter your steady reading pace unless, you are a young adult. The only reason for earning a 4 star and not 5 star is that this book really dosen't CATCH! your attention. I had difficulty becoming engrossed in this book opposed to other classic novels. But don't get me wrong it's a wonderful book. Just don't become aghast when you find yourself uninterested like so many other people that have read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    This book was great

    This book used numerous dialects and had plenty of action to keep me entertained throughout the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Okay

    OKAY book but hard to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I read this book when I was about 7 or 8, an altered version, th

    I read this book when I was about 7 or 8, an altered version, then about half the unabridged version when I was 10. At times it was kinda
    hard to read because of the southern dialect, but I loved the book. Its very interesting and adventurous. Id recommend this to anyone, 
    but I wouldn't say its all good moral values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Totaly amazing!!!

    Just started and i already love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The book The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a story were Huck

    The book The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a story were Huckleberry Finn a middle class young boy with a large imagination for his own good who lives in St. Petersburg Missouri, stumbles upon a robber’s stash of gold on one of his adventures out in the woods.
     As a result of his discovery Huckleberry Finn runs into a lot of money and gets a new life of cleanliness that he is not to thrilled upon, Tom Sawyer tell Huckleberry Finn that in order to keep his money and stay in Tom’s new robbers gang he must stay respectable. All is well until Huckleberry Finns drunken father reappears in the town demanding Huck's money and this is where the story begins.
     
    Huckleberry Finn is a spectacular novel and keeps you wanting to read more throughout the whole story. I would recommend this novel to anyone who wants to read a timeless classic. The book is very intuitive, if you do not want to read the story
    You won’t be caught by the action or the shock in the book. The book catches your attention by its simply amazing story line and its plot. All and all I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun read and is wanting to have their attention caught by a truly amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    The novel The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain takes

    The novel The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain takes place in Missouri and along the Mississippi river. Huck is a rebel child that doesn’t want to be civilized by his adopted parent. He runs away with a slave named Jim and gets himself into all kinds of adventures along the Mississippi river. Huck has many conflicts within himself. The biggest one has to be that he is helping Jim, a run away slave from his home town. Huck knows that in his society it is against the law to help slaves gain freedom by escaping to the south.
    Throughout the novel Finn meets many interesting characters. Such as the “Duke” and the “King”. These two men are older and are con artists. They drag Huck and Jim into their web of lies. The Duke and the King try to expose Jim as a run away slave. But Huck, a loyal friend, tries his best to not let that happen.
    Another conflict that Huck endures is his struggles with his father Pap. Pap is an alcoholic and beats Huck. Huck was separated from Pap and then adopted by Widow Douglas. But Huck came into money and Pap finds out and he returns, upon Pap’s return he kidnaps Huck and threatens to kill him so Pap may take Huck’s money. This is when Huck escapes and begins his journey down the Mississippi River along with his new friend Jim.
    Although this book is controversial and may be called racist it is a great read and teaches others the value of friendship and lets you get a view of the prejudice times of the eighteen hundreds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Logan

    Test.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4