Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Classic Starts Series)

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

you should read this book

This book is about two boys named Tom and Huck. They heard about a treasure buried somewhere. They are trying to find out where the treasure is buried but they have a little problem--other people are looking for the treasure too. Injun Joe is also looking for the tre...
This book is about two boys named Tom and Huck. They heard about a treasure buried somewhere. They are trying to find out where the treasure is buried but they have a little problem--other people are looking for the treasure too. Injun Joe is also looking for the treasure and he is the meanest person that no one likes. One night Tom and Huck were walking in a grave yard and saw Injun Joe kill a guy. So now Tom and Huck are scared of Injun Joe. Then Tom ran away to an island because he wanted to try living on his own. Everyone in the town thought Tom and Huck died, but they didn┬┐t. On the day of their funeral they showed up and surprised all the grown ups. Do they find the treasure? Read and find out. This was an easy book to read because it was short. I liked this book because it had a lot of adventure.

posted by Anonymous on June 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

Awesome BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!^_^

posted by 14143870 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    ALEX DADDARIO

    I love this book because it is a fun,loving and an overjoy CLASSIC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    &real&iota&alpa<_>l&tau&sigma

    :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    It might encourage reading if told that mark twain was not

    Considered proper reading for children or ladies as being coarse and its humor common and irreligious. Right uo there with the "

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

    Must Read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    best book

    This is one of the best book i have ever red but i would never read it over and over agin cause some parts are boring but others and really good cause i am reading this in class and my teacher is awsome whn we are in class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    2

    Kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    hi

    wont donlowed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    For you

    I read it and im 11 and didnt understand half of it but my sister (13 years old) was laughing her head of every ten minutes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Wut

    What is this

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    How old

    How old would you recamend when you read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Tom Sawyer!!

    Read this book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Netchkin's Nook hacks and cheats v1.05

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Lovde the book

    It is intresting and mysterious.Great children's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Someone chat with me plz im bored

    I like the book really fantastic writing i saw a play of it onse at school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Great writing

    Like I said above, this is good writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Tom Sawyer: Spirited Child or Budding Sociopath?

    When one reads The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain, at first Tom seems to be the picture of "boyness." He is what we expect boys to be--and maybe some of us dreamed about being such a boy (even if we were girls). The whitewashing incident shows Tom to be a master manipulator, but that particular time it is just clever. He found a way to make a chore look like fun--and apparently was successful in convincing everyone. As I read the book more, I became a little horrified by both Tom--who I saw more as a little sociopath--and society's attitudes of that period. First, society's attitudes. I have to say I am very glad I didn't grow up then. Several times children go missing in this book. The townspeople search anywhere from three days to a week at most. Many people give up after three days, and after a week the attitude is, "Oh, well. They're dead. We'll have their funeral on Sunday." I realize probably there were many ways to die then. I realize people have to go back to their lives. But really! Pedophiles must have had a field day during these times! If you could remain undiscovered for a week, then you were in the clear. Tom Sawyer seemed like a budding sociopath to me about the time he first disappeared. Granted, children can be thoughtless. They sometimes do things without realizing the worry they put their parents through. However, I think most kids--if they realized they were worrying their loved ones--would stop whatever it is they are doing that is causing the worry. Tom witnesses the grief of his family, he knows that he and his friends are believed drowned--and yet he waits to reveal that they are alive and well. This goes beyond regular childhood insensitivity. I was pretty much convinced he was a little monster the second time he disappeared. I didn't think it was an accident he got lost in the cave with Becky. While Becky got weaker from lack of food, Tom didn't seem to suffer so much (which makes me think he had a hidden store of food). He just happened to have kite line with him, which comes in very useful much later. He doesn't mind going back to the cave soon after he is rescued. I think most kids, if they had spent three days lost in a cave--no food and in the dark--would probably be reluctant to go back. In fact, I think most would develop phobias that would haunt them for the rest of their lives. But what really convinced me he did it on purpose was what he told Huck about how robbers make women they abduct fall in love with them by keeping them locked in a cave for two weeks. That passage really creeped me out. I wanted to scream at Judge Thatcher--who has a great opinion of Tom, "NO! Don't let him anywhere near your daughter!" I believe Mark Twain made Tom Sawyer respectable in later books. Supposedly, Tom is a compilation of several boys Twain knew. I don't know if he actually meant to make the child a monster. I am very curious about how psychiatrists would view Tom Sawyer now. What is interesting is that the pariah child, Huck Finn, actually seems to be a decent person. The book was well written and an interesting read, but I didn't find it charming like I was supposed to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    There are a lot of typos

    It is free , so what do you expect!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Dialect, not misspelling!!!

    So, I have to read this book for school and so far it's really good. Gotta love the classics! But some idiots here are posting reviews like "I'm eight and even I could find all the spelling errors!". Being eight and reading a classic doesn't make you smart, and it's not misspelling, but rather a combination of dialect and sheer age. This book is almost 100 years old! Don't post stupid recviews if you have an IQ below 95.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12