Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of the U-202

Average Rating 3
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Not that great

    I found the style of writing very boring to read. Diary of a U-Boat commander was a much better read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Excellent Book

    Nothing more to say except that this book is EXCELLENT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    An interesting story of a single U-Boat in WW II.

    As a former submarine officer, I found The Adventures of the U-202 interesting, but question some of the technical aspects of the story. Not an exceptionally compelling or exciting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Entertaining - quick read.

    Disappointed that there were no illustrations, photos, etc. Otherwise, a good summary view of a typical U-Boat sortie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Entertaining and Educational

    This is a very short book, but very entertaining. The author catches your attention early on and never lets go. I am fascinated by WWII history, and the first-person account of a German submarine crew is right what I was looking for. Even if you are not into history that much, the stories of the sailors and the challenge of their life is well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    U- Boat story written by the eyes who witnesed it

    World War one U-Boat comander retells an acount of an experience most will Know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Not a bad read for an almost century old story.

    Interesting for those of us with some military background. A WW I German U-boat Captain tells his interesting , if not somewhat self-serving, story. I was left wishing the good Captain had told us more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Personal Account of WWI U-Boat Commander- Vivid Description of his Experience

    The U-202 Story offers commander Baron von Peckelsheim's very human account of his strategies, challenges and ethical struggles as he manages his boat amidst a dangerous war. While the story of the "brutal U-Boat War" is oft recounted in English, this is the story of a man on the other side. The U-202 commander is humaine when he can be and concerned about his victims. I was unaware that the Americans placed a mine field from Scotland to Norway in 1200 feet of water (yes it is true). The Baron took his submarine through the minefield, and his description is "hair raising." This is a fun, brief read that submarine fans will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3