BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Aeneid

Average Rating 4
( 669 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(434)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 669 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Don't be intimidated...

    I am rereading this edition after a lapse of 20 years since my first reading as a student of literature in college. I picked it up again out of curiosity, and found myself enthralled after a couple of pages. I didn't think I would want to keep this book, but it deserves a permanent place in my library. If you have any curiosity at all about The Aeneid, try this translation.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    'I ask no crown/ Unpledged by Fate...'

    This Dover Edition of -The Aeneid- by Publius Vergilius Maro (Virgil or Vergil) is a 1995 reprint of the English verse trans lation by Charles J. Billson, published in London in 1906. To try to render, or match, Virgil's Latin verse, into an English verse 'equivalent' is a tough job indeed. Though, there ARE several English verse translations available in paperback format. As one reviewer already noted, there are no notes or annotations for this 'thrift edition.' This poses problems for those who lack knowledge of Roman history, knowledge of Virgil and his times, and Roman/Greek mythology. On the other hand, it can be a refreshing 'break' for those who want to simply enjoy the work itself (though not in its original language and verse format) in a readable, if somewhat stilted English verse form. The original Latin (from the Loeb Classical Library, Vol. 63) begins: 'Arma virumque cano, Troiae qui primus ab oris/ Italiam fato profugus Lavinaque venit/ litora--' [the prose translation by H.R. Fairclough (Revised by G.P. Goold) renders this as: 'Arms and the man I sing, who first from the coasts of Troy, exiled by fate, came to Italy and Lavine shores--'.] This English verse translation by Billson presents this same opening as: 'Arms and the Man I sing, who first from Troy,/A Doom-led exile, on Lavinian shores/ Reached Italy; long tossed on sea and land/ By Heaven's rude arm--'. This particular verse rendering, I believe, rates 4 stars, while the epic itself rates 5 stars as one of the world's great works of creative art and literature. The poem also became the ancient Roman empire's national epic (celebrating Rome's legendary ancient ancestors and her 'destined' purpose) from the time of the 1st Emperor Augustus onward.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A classic for children and all

    I didn't quite understand this when I read it at 10 years old, but then I read it again at 14, and since then I've asked all of my friends to read it. Now I'm reading this great adventure to my kids, and they love every sentence. Read this, and the Odyssey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Cheap, but Fantastic

    Dover Thrift has long been a great resource for those of us who want to read the classics without breaking our budgets. For students like myself, it could even be referred to as a 'godsend.' Dover Thrift's version of Aeneid is a great copy to introduce one's self to the text with. It's poetic, but reasonably easy to follow. The downside is that there is no introductory commentary or footnote material, but it's still a great place to start your journey with Aeneas. The Aeneid itself is a seminal text. One way to think of it is as the text that linked together Homer and Dante: it utilizes epic conventions, but it also has an original narrative voice that would inspire Dante to follow Virgil--the character--through a fantastic, fictional hell, but also to follow Vergil--the writer's--literary example. A must-read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Wonderful Epic

    Fitzgerald's translation captures what Virgil's vision must have been. Aeneas possesses all the qualities of a true hero. I wept when I read the king's prayer as his son left for battle with Aeneas. The love felt for this son was one of the most beautiful passages I've ever read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    Prism~Song

    Last Resort by Papa Roach

    Cut my life in

    Prism~Song<p>

    Last Resort by Papa Roach</p>
    <p>

    Cut my life into pieces<br />
    This is my last resort<br />
    Suffocation, no, no breathing<br />
    Don't give a f.uck<br />
    If I cut my arm bleeding<br />
    This is my last resort</p>
    <p>

    Cut my life into pieces<br />
    I've reached my last resort<br />
    Suffocation, no breathing<br />
    Don't give a f.uck<br />
    If I cut my arm bleeding<br />
    Do you even care if I die bleeding?</p>
    <p>

    Would it be wrong or<br />
    Would it be right<br />
    If I took my life tonight<br />
    Chances are that I might<br />
    Mutilation out of sight<br />
    And I'm contemplating suicide</p>
    <p>

    'Cause I'm losing my sight, losing my mind<br />
    Wish somebody would tell me I'm fine<br />
    Losing my sight, losing my mind<br />
    Wish somebody would tell me I'm fine</p>
    <p>

    I never realized, I was spread too thin<br />
    Till it was too late and I was empty within<br />
    Hungry feeding on chaos and living in sin<br />
    Downward spiral, where do I begin</p>
    <p>

    It all started when I lost my mother<br />
    No love for myself and no love for another<br />
    Searching to find a love upon a higher level<br />
    Finding nothing but questions and devils</p>
    <p>

    'Cause I'm losing my sight, losing my mind<br />
    Wish somebody would tell me I'm fine<br />
    Losing my sight, losing my mind<br />
    Wish somebody would tell me I'm fine</p>
    <p>

    Nothing's alright, nothing is fine<br />
    I'm running and I'm crying<br />
    I'm crying, I'm crying, I'm crying I'm crying<br />
    I can't go on living this way</p>
    <p>

    Cut my life into pieces<br />
    This is my last resort<br />
    Suffocation, no breathing<br />
    Don't give a f.uck<br />
    If I cut my arm bleeding<br />

    Would it be wrong<br />
    Would it be right?<br />
    If I took my life tonight<br />
    Chances are that I might<br />
    Mutilation out of sight<br />
    And I'm contemplating suicide</p>
    <p>

    'Cause I'm losing my sight, losing my mind<br />
    Wish somebody would tell me I'm fine<br />
    Losing my sight, losing my mind<br />
    Wish somebody would tell me I'm fine</p>
    <p>

    Nothing's alright, nothing is fine<br />
    I'm running and I'm crying<br />
    I can't go on living this way<br />
    Can't go on, living this way<br />
    Nothing's all right</p>
    <p>Here y'alls go. One of my favouritest songs ever. I'll probably be posting several more over the next several minutes.</p>

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Fagles is the best translation

    All the others tend to warp the language to fit English rhymes, or to show how clever they are. Fagles keeps a nice epic rhythm but in plain English word order (no talking like Yoda just to make it rhyme, like Dryden). You get the story and the feel of it, but in modern English.

    FAGLES or none, I say.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Grand Slam

    A translation on par with the best of Fagles and Kaufmann's works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    The beginning of Rome

    A classic in the utmost form of the Greek warriors who began Rome and the Roman Empire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    A Must Read

    The Aeneid by Virgil was excellently translated by Fitzgerald in this classic epic/adventure. I am a Latin student, and I have read the Latin version and Fitzgerald did an excellent job with this. If you like Latin/Roman culture, this is a MUST read. Its a classic, and one of the best books ever written. I don't think there has ever been another legendary epic as good as this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    For those who don't read Latin...

    Fitzgerald's translation of The Aeneid is considered by experts to be the best English version of Virgil's timeless epic. This is a must read for ambitious students and literature buffs. Were it not for good, dependable translations of classical works, the modern reader who knows no Latin could not explore the ideas of antiquity through the writings of its participants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Elizia

    I may or may not be on tonight.<br>If I am it would be after 11:30 EST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Trin+

    -Engulfing herself into flames, she sinked herself in the snowman's body.-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Jack

    Kills sun warriors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Kyoto

    Laughes. "Nope. Plus i plan on becoming a god so... this helps."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Kyotos army

    Cheers at helios defeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Rider

    "No one beats the Prince of the Underworld." He laughed and smiled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    A Cloaked Figure

    -A hand reached out in front of it, creating a thick smoke screen around the sun warriors.-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Jason

    "Thanks" i whisper. My hand sends a small tingle through yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    Damin

    Sighs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 669 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34