Customer Reviews for

The Affair

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    A riveting story about an affair, what caused it and the effects

    A riveting story about an affair, what caused it and the effects it has on the parties involved.

    This is not a story about love, nor is it a story about commitment. This story is about real life and how it can come between a husband and a wife. The author, Colette Freedman, does a wonderful job of presenting the story from the point of view of the people affected by the story - the wife, the husband and the mistress.

    From the start I related to Kathy. Her life and circumstances, similar to that of many married women, drew me into the story. Her feelings and her thoughts were brought to the page in a way that made it easy for me to relate to her and to feel her confusion and desolation. Her point of view was realistic, although she was angry and upset, she accepted her part in the current state of her marriage. She acknowledge that she placed her attention solely on the house, the kids and the day-to-day life of a stay-at-home mom neglecting her role as a wife. I appreciated that the author brought all this to the surface, otherwise the story would have lost its appeal to me.

    When Robert told his part of the story, I was already siding with Kathy. Through his hesitation, doubts and heartfelt musings, I saw the other side of the story. I could understand where he was coming from, but I could not sympathize fully. He displayed some questionable behavior in terms of laying the blame, often assuming what Kathy was thinking or feeling. In the end, I think he understood what a fool he'd been and that it really was more a lack of communication than a lack of love that tore his marriage apart. I enjoyed his voice and the way that the author brought his hesitations and justifications to the page. His conflicting thoughts about his affair served to make him feel more real to me and connected to him in a way that made me understand him better.

    Stephanie. Well, not my favorite character by any means. She may not have been at fault in Kathy and Robert drifting apart, but she certainly did not help. Her point of view only helped in making me dislike her even more. The reasons she used to justify starting the relationship in the first place were absurd. She came across as selfish and demanding when she knew what she was getting into from the start. I didn't see her as Robert saw her - supportive and understanding of his career and devoted to him, especially there at the end when she made it clear to me that she saw him as someone below her professional stature.

    The writing was very good, even if in the final confrontation the points of view overlapped and I was confused as to who was saying what. The main characters were complex and interesting to get to know and the insight into their conflicting thoughts added to the overall story. From hesitation and doubt to loyalty and desolation, the scope of emotions brought to the page were overwhelming and realistic.

    This book managed to touch me deeply and gave me insights into a situation many married couples struggle with - drifting apart, its cause and effects. It opened my eyes and made me realize how lack of communication can lead to the death of a marriage.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    This is a riveting account of an affair told from the three pers

    This is a riveting account of an affair told from the three perspectives of the husband, wife and mistress.
    The writing is very strong, immediately drawing the audience into each of the character's mindsets.
    I particularly liked Jimmy Moran and his mentor/father like relationship with Robert.
    He is a funny character who jumped off the page and gave the audience a peek into Robert's
    own future if he doesn't change his ways. I also enjoyed Maureen's sass and Rose's earnest
    accounts of her philandering Tommy. The main characters were wonderful,
    but it was the supporting characters who really made the book worthy of five stars. Strongly recommend.
    Would make a great film. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Just stayed up until 2:00 in the morning to finish Colette Freed

    Just stayed up until 2:00 in the morning to finish Colette Freedman's "The Affair." Beautifully compassionate look at an affair from the perspective of each of the three people involved in it. Great book club discussion questions at the end too. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    A compelling read about three people caught up in an affair. Fre

    A compelling read about three people caught up in an affair. Freedman does a beautiful job expressing each person's motivations and gets inside of their heads as they each become deeper and deeper embroiled. Honest and raw, each character is equally unapologetic and likable and their dialogue is rich and unique. I could not put this book down and while the stylistic choice of repetition was sometimes grating, it did not detract from the fast paced and engrossing story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Colette Freedman's The Affair is a compelling and wonderful read

    Colette Freedman's The Affair is a compelling and wonderful read. The story centers on the lives of three people; a husband and wife and his mistress. It details the turbulent and emotionally fraught situation that occurs when one spouse decides to stray. The characters are wonderfully drawn and believable, I found myself, shockingly rooting for the mistress. Freedman does something very clever and traces the affair over a period of a few bays, each section is told from one of the character's POV and it provides wonderful texture to the story. It is a fast read but completely enjoyable. I thought it was going to be sinfully fluffy but Freedman manages to pack in a lot of pathos and I was pleasantly surprised.  I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone searching for a fun, thoughtful read. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Extremely well written A wonderful read Could not put the book

    Extremely well written

    A wonderful read

    Could not put the book down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This is a good book.  I just didn't like that it repeated itself

    This is a good book.  I just didn't like that it repeated itself several times. Who wants to read the same scene three times from each character? I found myself skipping several pages because I didn't want to read the same thing again. Overall, it is a great book that has you turning the pages to see what happens next. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Just finished this book, staying up LATE LATE LATE to reach the

    Just finished this book, staying up LATE LATE LATE to reach the end. Couldn't put it down. Fascinating look into the politics/emotions/personal logic of an affair. You get to ride along with the wife, the husband, and the mistress; just when you side with one character, you see another point of view and everything alters. This book will start AMAZING discussions! Perfect for a book group. I couldn't stop thinking about it (and yearning to get back to it) while I was reading it.... and I'm still thinking about it now. BIG recommendation for this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Colette Freedman has taken three ordinary people with ordinary p

    Colette Freedman has taken three ordinary people with ordinary problems and joys--and woven a fascinating story about how they come together--she has written a real page turner which keeps you wondering about what will happen next--and it isn't always what you expect!  She is an author who knows the human condition, and has gone about creating living, breathing men and women.  Can't wait to see what she does next!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    ok read

    not the best book I have read but OK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Good

    Liked the point of view from the three characters. Pretty much knew how it would end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    I like pie

    Give me pie

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    This book tells the story of an affair from three points of view

    This book tells the story of an affair from three points of view: the suspicious wife; the lying, cheating husband; and the "other woman" who is 16 years younger than the cheating husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Dull

    Incredibly redundant and dull. Pages and pages of the exact same dialogue three times over. I should have saved my mon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Not great

    Mindless, silly book. Premise good - looking at the "affair" from the perspective of the wife, husband, and mistress. Could have been a lot better thought out though. Well, you ASKED for my review!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Perfect Book Club Book This was an incredibly thought provoking

    Perfect Book Club Book
    This was an incredibly thought provoking book which I raced through. It is an insightful look into the complexities of relationships and Freedman does a terrific job intertwining the lives of Robert, Stephanie and Kathy.The Affair is a page turning, easy to read story with compelling characters and questions at the end which will make you want to invite a bunch of friends over and dish. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I really REALLY liked the final three chapters. I was surprised

    I really REALLY liked the final three chapters. I was surprised and impressed with what Freedman had the characters say and do. It's a good read and has just enough tension to move along nicely. But oh boy! I really loved the ending. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2