Customer Reviews for

The Age of Miracles

Average Rating 4
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

One of the most engrossing books I've read in years, The Age of

One of the most engrossing books I've read in years, The Age of Miracles tells the story of the end of the innocence and blind faith of childhood against the background of our world on the edge of extinction. As the world begins to crumble and deteriorate around us, so ...
One of the most engrossing books I've read in years, The Age of Miracles tells the story of the end of the innocence and blind faith of childhood against the background of our world on the edge of extinction. As the world begins to crumble and deteriorate around us, so does Julia's childhood, and a haunting story of the inevitability of loss unfolds. This is a a fabulous display from a prmising new author.

posted by Myzeri on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Is That All There Is?

The story was an engrossing one but it ended with a disappointing fizzle. It left me crying for at least some kind of explanation or denouement. Perhaps a sequel is in the works.

posted by whoficwriter on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Interesting concept, but falls flat

    Most of this book was well written and provided an interesting concept. However, it felt as if the author ran out of ideas. I was very disappointed with the ending. It probably ended too soon.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    The only "miracle" was that the book eventually ended.

    I had very high hopes for this book, given its interesting premise and great ratings/reviews. But I was sorely disappointed. The characters were shallow, and the storyline thoroughly depressing. Many potential plot developments were left unexplored or dropped completely. I'm not sure what "miracles" the author refers to in the title, because there certainly weren't any in the book. Wish I could get back the hours of my life that I wasted reading it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    I cannot find one redeeming quality about this book. The story

    I cannot find one redeeming quality about this book. The story begins with the earth having more minutes in the day, and the set times and periods of the day run amiss. The story centers on an eleven year old girl, Julia, and her family and friends, as people feel the end of time draws near. The story line is tedious and mundane. Nothing could compel me to finish the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    A really big downer.

    I really wanted to like this book. I had heard about it on the radio and thought it sounded like a great basis for some good storytelling. When I realized it was set exactly where I live and I recognized all of the geographical points the author mentioned, I was even more excited. But, alas, it was just page after page of discomfort with no payoff. There was not a single character that made sense to me except the protagonist. I realize it was written through the eyes of an 12 year old but it would have helped if, somehow, the characters had been more deeply drawn. or if she could have offered another view of the story such as a member of the news media or a scientist. The author is a San Diego local and I might have even stood in line near her at a local grocery but I did not like her book at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not sure why everyone else likes it. Found it slow and depressing

    I'd heard a lot of buzz about The Age of Miracles (an adult apocalyptic book with YA appeal) so I thought I'd give it a try. It didn't go well.

    I really didn't care for this book at all. The premise of how the Earth's rotation is starting to slow should have been enough to keep me invested but it wasn't. The start of the slowing is interesting to read, with the days steadily growing longer, but the story starts to drag rather quickly. With animals and people starting to die and a world wide panic taking hold there should be a lot to grab onto but there just isn't. The novel quickly becomes depressing, hopeless and a bit pointless as the citizens begin to feel there's nothing they can do, so why do anything.

    The story is told by Julia, an 11 year old in middle school who's a keen observer of all the things going wrong with her town and the people in it. However, Julia's a very passive character spending much of the novel alone. She has little self-confidence letting her parents and especially other kids run her life. Though Julia is easy to sympathize with, I wouldn't say I liked her. Truthfully their weren't that many characters I liked anyways. Julia's grandfather and best friend Seth are the only characters I felt any affection for and neither are used enough in the story.

    You're probably wondering why I kept reading the book since I had so many issues with it. I was curious to see how it would end, but that too was disappointing. After finishing the book I struggled with trying to figure out what the point of it all was. Honestly I still can't figure it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Karma & Talon's Kits' Bios

    [Enjoy our creative imaginations ^-^] <p> Confinement (&male) - A solid pale yellow with light green eyes. He's anti-social, and is crazy. He gets into trouble quite often. <p> Nerve (&female) - Russet pelt. Black paws. Light brown eyes. She's very annoying. She asks alot of questions and enjoys making others aggrivated. <p> Disgrace (&female) - Black and white tuxedo cat. Four white paws. Amber eyes. She is rude, mean-spirited, hardly cares about others' feelings, even her parents'. Disobeys anyone and everyone. A little deceiving; enjoys hurting others emotionally and physically. She likes to make fun of Confinement fairly often. Her and Homicide are very close and like to cause mischeif together. <p> Dull (&female) - Blue fur. Pale sand-coloured tail tip, ear tips, paws, and her nose is pink. She had golden eyes. She gets bired very easily, but is very kind, and puts up with alot befire finally snapping. <p> Homicide (&male) - Brown fur with black tail tip, ear tufts, and a ginger splotch on his right shoulder. Grey eyes with very small blue flecks in them. He has the same personality as Disgrace, except he likes to make fun of all his siblings, even Disgrace. <p> Extinction (&female) - Red fur, with black, brown, and yellows spots. One brown eye. One green eye. She is stubborn, funny, a litt rude, can snap depending on her mood, a little quiet, and very wise. <p> [Ask to RP one at BloodClan camp!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Ok.......:(

    I have not read this but i dont thibk i dont even want to by all of the reviews.o thought i might like this book just by reading the back of the book but i am 12yrs old i just dont think i want to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    What was the point of this book?

    This was definitely not the book for me. There was no climax. There was no resolution. I kept expecting to see what the point was, but there never was one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. All those fabulous reviews must be the

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. All those fabulous reviews must be the authors relatives because I'm not going to spoil it for anyone (because there is nothing to spoil), but the story just dragged on and on and there is something to be said about the writer when the reader can guess everything in advance before even reading it. It screams &quot;this is my first book&quot;. I get very annoyed when I waste my time on something like this because there are so many really good books to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Yuck.

    Didn't like this book one bit. Too sci-fi, disturbing and depressing for me. Felt more like a teen book vs. an adult book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Disappointing

    Rambles on...and on...and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Horrible

    I cant believe this book got any good reviews
    If you want to kill time with boredom this is perfec

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Awful

    Do not waste your time or money on this one. So sorry I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great premis

    I loved the idea behind this book whatmayhappen nextkeptme reading. The book ended and I am still waiting. I would waste mytime reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    For the first time in my life I read a book and put it in the ga

    For the first time in my life I read a book and put it in the garbage. There is nothing to reccomend here, so don't waste your time or your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1