Customer Reviews for

The Age of Miracles

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I loved the voice the author gave to Julia throughout the book.

I loved the voice the author gave to Julia throughout the book. I found all of the characters relatable and full of depth. The story wows you as it weaves it's depictions of the huge catastrophe happening outside into the every day mundane. I found myself looking at my ...
I loved the voice the author gave to Julia throughout the book. I found all of the characters relatable and full of depth. The story wows you as it weaves it's depictions of the huge catastrophe happening outside into the every day mundane. I found myself looking at my world a little differently as I read. I would definitely recommend!
My only critique is the ending. I was left wanting a more concrete answer, but as the good books often do, I found myself having to guess at what the future for these characters would hold.

posted by insatiable22 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Is That All There Is?

The story was an engrossing one but it ended with a disappointing fizzle. It left me crying for at least some kind of explanation or denouement. Perhaps a sequel is in the works.

posted by whoficwriter on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    One of the most engrossing books I've read in years, The Age of

    One of the most engrossing books I've read in years, The Age of Miracles tells the story of the end of the innocence and blind faith of childhood against the background of our world on the edge of extinction. As the world begins to crumble and deteriorate around us, so does Julia's childhood, and a haunting story of the inevitability of loss unfolds. This is a a fabulous display from a prmising new author.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    loved, loved this book. Could not put it down - finished it in

    loved, loved this book. Could not put it down - finished it in a day. I look forward to more from this author

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    fantastic book. makes you see the world in a new way. highly r

    fantastic book. makes you see the world in a new way. highly recommended.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Fantastic Page-Turner

    An extremely well-written piece. Mrs. Walker was able to make Julia into someone I cared about on the rare level of greats like Stephen King. All of Julia's hopes, triumphs, and heartbreaks resonate from the pages, culminating in the most distinct message we all hope to leave when we are in that same point in our lives, and beyond. The book ended quickly, but appropriately, and I was so engrossed in the story that I didn't realize I was near the end until a mere ten or so pages from it.

    An excellent debut novel, I look forward to more releases from Mrs. Walker.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love, love, love this book and all the characters! I finished it in 2 days! It's so full of suspense, I couldn't put it down.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. Full of suspense. Was sorry to see it end

    Very good book. Full of suspense. Was sorry to see it end

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Good Summer Read

    Really goid read fir the summer not so much about tge end of the world and more about the end of innocence of childhiod

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Great read!

    I loved this book. Read it in a day. Can't stop thinking about it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Beautiful.

    I read a review that said this book is "science fiction, but not" and that really sums it up well. I loved it, though the ending seemed a bit tacked on and rushed..still, it's a small quibble and doesn't at all detract from the rest of the novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Worth a read!

    What would happen if the earth's rotation progressively slowed? As seen through the eyes of a lonely 12 year old who watches as things fall apart both on the outside and at home. At 225 pages a brisk, engaging read which makes the unimageable quite real.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Loved it!

    Definitely a good read. Finished it in two days!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Loved it

    What would happen if the world slowed down its rotation? How would that impact our everyday life? The story of first love makes the loss and sadness even more real. A wonderful summer book. Very thought-provoking and touching.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Spectacular Debut Novel!!

    Told from the view of an 11 year old girl going through the aches and pains of puberty, greatly compliments the changing of the planet. This book is scientifically well founded and you can tell if you watch as much Science Channel as I do. This is a great book club book! Please read it and help support this author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A beautifl story

    I loved this story! Just finished it and can't get it out of my mind. I was sad when it ended. I wanted to find out more about Julia's life. It was meloncholy and beautiful. It made me realize how we take our beautiful world for granted. I thank God every time I walk out the door and everyrhing is normal!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great read!

    I loved this book. Such a unique subject and I loved the main character. It was addicting and I was sorry to see it end!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Ding919

    Great story ! Must admit.... a little disturbing, really stays with you. Should make for an interesting movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Great story.

    Flashback story is from an adult looking at her younger self coming of age, while the world around her was coming to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    This was one of those books I didn't want to put down. I loved t

    This was one of those books I didn't want to put down. I loved the pacing and character development. Before I began the novel many of reviews I read touched on how the ending was disappointing. Now after having read the book I can see why they may mention this and I sort of agree. However, this is a case where the brilliant completely outshines any negatives. I loved it and was sad to have it come to an end! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Well written

    Write some more please Karen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    An unusual little gem.

    I loved the piercingly sharp, while also fragilely fresh, voice of the narrator - also reflected in the characters who are her peers. It rings very true. Excellent use of a sci-fi premise to get at the fundamentals of real life. Lovely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6