Customer Reviews for

The Alchemy of Forever: An Incarnation Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Entertaing

    Really entertaining, full of adventure and a dash of romance, and extremely easy to follow. Highly reccomend.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    This was the worst and the best book I have ever read. I loved i

    This was the worst and the best book I have ever read. I loved it all the way through but I couldn't stand it when it ended! If you like a book that keeps you interested the whole time, you will LOVE this book. It has a perfect mixture of romance, edge and mystery. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Wow

    This is a great book. I was able to finish it in 45 min. to a hour...I can't wait for book two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    If you could live forever with just one stipulation, would you?

    If you could live forever with just one stipulation, would you? What if that stipulation was the death of a person, would you feel that it was worth it?

    As an incarnate, one who has the ability to detach a soul from a body and then jump into said body, Seraphina has had to struggle with this decision for over 600 years. In the year 1349, after a brute attack by two drunks, 14 year old Sera is left bleeding to death in the arms of her crush and admirer, Cyrus, the apothecary’s son. By the miraculous powers of a alchemist potion brewed by Cyrus himself, Sera awakes in the body of one of her would-be attackers. In that moment Sera makes the decision to pledge herself to Cyrus by running away and living out their immortal life together and in love.

    Fast-forward to the 21st century and you’ve got quite a different story. After 600+ years of taking human lives, (turns out about every 10 years at the latest an incarnate needs to hop into a new body) Sera is fed up. After taking many lives and succumbing to the sadistic, cruel and obsessive loving tendencies of Cyrus, Sera devises a plan to break away. Although she originally decides to truly die, in a bizarre twist of fate, Sera accidentally ends up in the dying body of a teenage girl. Breaking away from Cyrus and the “coven” (group of other incarnates) was the hardest thing Sera has had to do, that is, until now. In her new body, surrounded by a loving family, friends and a potential new romance, Sera struggles with ending her existence. After centuries of wishing she was dead, Sera’s now realizing that there’s so much to live for.

    The Alchemy of Forever completely blew me away. The synopsis sold me instantly. Who hasn’t wished they could live forever? Or even, who hasn’t wished they could be someone else?

    I loved Sera SO much. Out of all the incarnates she is truly the most caring and thoughtful one of the bunch. The others could care less when it comes to body switching, a past time they do quite frequently although it means taking the life of another. After witnessing the cruelness both the world and Cyrus has to offer, Sera has remained remarkably staunch. Although she at first appears fragile, deep down her will is incredibly strong. I found Cyrus to be downright tragic. I don’t doubt that he once sweetly and purely loved Sera, but through the years he has become twisted and power-hungry. He’s the leader of the incarnates, controlling who does what and when. He especially controls everything that goes on in Sera’s life right down to the new body she’s forced to take every 10 years. I was so incredibly happy for Sera when Noah enters her life, well, Kailey’s life. As a kind-of friend and lifetime next door neighbor, Kailey Morgan never really gave Noah a second glance. However this all changes once Sera becomes Kailey. She recognizes the goodness in Noah and is completely enraptured by his sweet-natured ways. The romance between these two is innocent and warm and completely unlike anything Sera has experienced before.

    The Alchemy of Forever is one of those incredible books that still sticks in your mind days after you read it. I’m literally still reeling from the shocking cliffhanger. Williams is a fabulous writer, able to weave a story full of originality and fill it with vivacious and vivid characters. I cannot wait for book two!! After the sneak peak shown in the soft cover edition of book one, I firmly believe that the sequel will be just as good, if not better!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I absolutely could not put this book down! I fell in love with t

    I absolutely could not put this book down! I fell in love with the boy next door right along side Sera and every breathtaking moment kept me breathlessly wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    I LOVE this book! Such an interesting plot, not like any I have

    I LOVE this book! Such an interesting plot, not like any I have read before. I wish someone would make a movie out of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Amazing

    Great read. Super fast paced yet engaging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommend this Incarnation Novel!!! The heroine is amazin

    Highly Recommend this Incarnation Novel!!! The heroine is amazing and very unique. The story line was very entertaining and
    a good read! If you are looking for a new book to read this is the one. You won't be disappointed! It is about school and family and
    then again, the main charter has lived for thousands of years! And NO. She is not a vampire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I want to read this!!!!

    !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Charismatic & ingenious read that fast becomes one of your YA favourites!

    THE REVIEW

    The story of THE ALECHEMY OF FOREVER starts in the year 1349 in London. The prologue introduces us to the two main characters, our heroine Seraphina and her boyfriend Cyrus and the original time they lived in. But it’s only a short glimpse we get. We are fast thrown back into present time, now to San Francisco. Here lives a group of extraordinary humans. A bunch of immortals thanks to Cyrus and centuries old alchemy.

    Seraphina has lived many lives and claimed the bodies of countless young women over the decades. Now she decides that she wants to let go of this world and don’t live the life of others anymore. Seraphina is one of the YA heroines who actually thinks about her decisions thoroughly. She is so courageous and humble. I could really feel her despair to die and still understand her struggles to survive as long as possible.

    Luckily a chain of events prevents her suicide and Sera gets a last chance to live a new life in the body of teenager Kailey. Apart from tyrant Cyrus. She might have had many different lives, still to me it felt like this one in Kailey’s body was her first real existence after her life in England.

    Like many other stories, Seraphina’s story is about a boy. A beautiful and understanding boy who is there when he is needed. Noah. He and Kailey’s parents and brother are the first people beside her best immortal friend Charlotte, who make her feel home again. After such a long long time. I loved how Noah and Sera or ,as he knows her, Kailey got closer. I would have appreciated a stronger profile of Noah though. More about his past with Kailey or a deeper insight into his feelings for Kailey and in how far her sudden change in personality influenced them.
    It seems like Noah always had feelings for Kailey, but now that she’s changed into a different, caring and open minded, girl, what does he think of her exactly? More Noah in the sequel to THE ALCHEMY OF FOREVER please!

    Seraphina’s way from being a wealthy dying woman dependent on her centuries old lover to a teenage girl with a crush on her neighbour Noah is plastered with adventurous chases. So compelling! The concept of alchemy giving humans the power to be immortal for centuries is very clever. I was eager to find out more about Cyrus' tricks and the possibilities of something as powerful as old magic.

    Cyrus might be Seraphina’s first love and a charming man in 14th century England, but he is the perfect antihero in present San Francisco. Cyrus is cruel and controlling. An evil mind that has no rival in THE ALECHMY OF FOREVER. He is reckless and that’s what makes him such a dangerous enemy.

    Avery Williams did a perfect job with her contrasting characters! I especially liked Sera and Noah and Cyrus as unequal opponents in the fight for Seraphina’s love. The story is told from Seraphina’s point of view as a 1st person narrator. Scenes are rather short, just as the book itself. But they give us sufficient details and fabricate an unique story.

    The sequel to THE ALCHEMY OF FOREVER better comes out soon, because the ending of book one nearly killed me. I cannot believe Avery Williams left us at that!


    THE VERDICT

    5/5 ***** THE ALCHEMY OF FOREVER- A Charismatic & ingenious read that fast becomes one of your YA favourites!

    THE ALCHEMY OF FOREVER is a quick, nevertheless genial, read by debut author Avery Williams. I’m in need of a sequel and can’t wait to read it as soon as possible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Best

    Loved this book just finished it. The endikng killed me though i hope there will be a second i want more...great book and its an easy read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    I really like this book. I literally just finished it and really

    I really like this book. I literally just finished it and really enjoyed it. Can't wait for the next one, hopefully. It's certainly worth the read and chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2