Customer Reviews for

The Alexandria Project: A Tale of Treachery and Technology

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Addictive thriller - hard to put down

    This book was hard to put down a must read for sci-fi fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Delightfully unpredictable!

    I'm somewhat jaded by thrillers where the plot twists are obvious long before they actually happen. No fear of that with this book! Updegrove has managed what many attempt but few can execute: a plot that is both credible and surprising. As with the best genre books, I learned quite a bit about the way technology works by following Frank's adventure, but without the heavy preaching that some authors find necessary. The story moves so nimbly that it's final twists are startling; that said, the vulnerabilities in our system that Updegrove exposes are all the more upsetting because the source is so credible. A great read - I can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Compelling plot, engaging characters

    I read a lot of novels and this is a very good one. The characters are believable and engaging and the plot is compelling with several clever twists along the way. Updegrove also displays strong knowledge of the numerous technologies supporting the story which adds much to its credibility. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Excellent and accessible techno-thriller

    The Alexandria Project is an extremely enjoyable read and I recommend it highly. The complaint I have with most novels in which "technology" plays a pivotal role - and this is particularly true in the mystery/thriller genre - is that the authors can't seem to help showing off their very specific knowledge in a way that crowds out the story. That's not the case with Updegrove and The Alexandria Project - he clearly knows the subject matter inside and out, but is too self-assured and smooth a writer to hide behind that insider's knowledge. Without condescending or preaching, he actually presents some frightening truths built into the technology we all enjoy and rely upon in a way that is wonderfully accessible to the non-technical reader. His protagonist, Frank, is an original, amusing creation who is very well suited to carrying this sort of story. The stakes are high throughout, but the story is also lighthearted in many places and features a number of satisfying twists and turns leading to its rollicking conclusion. Finding a quality piece of work like this is what makes reading such a pleasure, and I look forward to Updegrove's next book with great anticipation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    The Alexandria Project by Andrew Updegrove is a cyber mystery th

    The Alexandria Project by Andrew Updegrove is a cyber mystery thriller that will give you lots to think about in terms of how vulnerable we could truly be in our world today. There are twists and turns in this story and just when you think all is straightened out a new and much more dangerous threat emerges. There are personal threats to the main character as well as larger threats to the country and the world at large. This was quite an interesting book and I look forward to the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    The novel opens with an eerie moment where an unknown virtual e

    The novel opens with an eerie moment where an unknown virtual entity slips in the backdoor of our largest and most secure (we thought) server warehouse. The U.S. is under cyber attack - and we're clueless to the threat.

    Through a purely happenstance moment Frank Adversego, a master cyber-sensation with the Library of Congress IT department, pulls up a file only to receive a message about contributing his file to the 'Alexandria Project'. The file disintegrates and disappears into the ether. There's nothing on back-up after back-up as Frank digs through the system all the way to the wall to find it is gone forever - as if it had never existed. When that and more unintended deletions come to light, Frank is immediately suspect number uno. But the revelations have only begun.

    Frank may be the most brilliant technological mind around, but his personal life is a shambles. Once harboring an enormous chip on his shoulder, Frank is unable to connect with the greater humanity around him. Couple that with an inability to focus on a task to completion and events take this once promising individual - a McArthur Foundation 'Genius' Award recipient - down from dizzying heights to barely getting by. As a boy, his own father left without warning, never to contact Frank again. As a man, his wife left and took his only daughter with her. The well-paying jobs have dissipated until he's destitute. Out of desperation to remain a part of his daughter's life, Frank accepts token employment given him by his daughter's godfather. Seeking something greater than his own pleasure, Frank sticks with the job for ten years and worms his way back into his daughter's life.

    He's never needed either as much as he needs them now.

    With the CIA and FBI out to make him the scapegoat, Frank goes into hiding deep in the Nevada desert until he can sort out the truth behind the REAL purpose of the attacks. Along the way, Frank learns more than he ever bargained for.

    There were several exciting moments in The Alexandria Project, but the story overall fell rather flat for me. There wasn't anything new here and everything was rather anticipated. Maybe I've read too many cyber-attack conspiracy stories of late, but I was able to pretty much determine from the first chapter who the actual bad individual was and where the story ultimately would go. There was a touching reveal while Frank was hiding out in Nevada, but this too was really no surprise.

    The characters had their moments, but for the most part they felt very one-dimensional. The venture capitalist guru was rather a caricature that reminded me of the very worst televangelist times ten. Believe me - having been in the banking and political sphere myself for over twenty years, I've experienced pretty slimy individuals and questionable actions. However, this seemed more over-the-top and less grounded in reality to the point that instead of being mad I found myself chuckling. I wanted to connect with the characters, but there was so little to relate to.

    There was an awful lot of telling rather than showing. I would rather have experienced the moments alongside the characters while the action was transpiring instead of having one character recite it to another character after the fact. I wanted the immediacy to make my heart pound, my hands grip my Kindle tighter, and keep me turning screen after screen to find out what happens next. Those moments were fleeting, mainly coming toward the beginning and at the very end.

    The beginning was pretty clean of grammar and formatting errors, but as I worked my way through the story, more issues came to light. Extra words, duplicate words, and missing words and quote marks (some backward) were the biggest issues with grammar and punctuation. Formatting consisted of changes in font size and a few hard returns in the midst of a paragraph or dialogue. Minor irritations, but another run-through with a set of editing eyes would be good here.

    As a reader, I may not know all of the in's and out's of a particular subject, but it is the plot and pace of the story that keeps me reading. As a writer, I trust that readers are knowledgeable enough to have a general grasp of subject matters I may employ in my stories so as not to spend time over-explaining what I am trying to convey to the audience (or as I like to call it, info-dumping). Throughout The Alexandria Project there were hyperlinks to particular words to take the reader out of the story and to an outside source to read about that particular topic - so much so that this became extremely distracting at times. There were sections where so much detail was employed it felt like author intrusion. I had to force myself to continue reading through these sections instead of skipping them, and it slowed the pace to a drag at times.

    Overall, I think The Alexandria Project has promise and is an interesting enough story to garner reader attention. Be aware also that there is a very strong political bent that may turn some readers off, but if you're able to suspend your personal viewpoints in this regard it will be easy for you to overlook. I give this one three stars. I was provided a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review and was not monetarily compensated for my honest opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Pharaoh

    He picked out the biggest cleanest most comfortable kennel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Kennels/Homes

    Homes of the policepeople and the dogs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I first read the book when it was published in weekly installmen

    I first read the book when it was published in weekly installments . By buying the book I was able to skip the frustration of having to wait a week for the next chapter!
    As with all good works of fiction there is enough fact to make the story very plausible – in fact it was scarily so!
    Apart from enjoying the humor, the main thing for me was the plot and the action. Both kept me turning the page for more and finally kept me up way past my bedtime to finish it – even though I had already read it once!
    The author not only demonstrates an excellent knowledge of matters technical but also delivers a story that keeps the reader on the edge of her seat.
    I hope Marla will collaborate with her Dad again in future books: they make a great partnership!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1