Customer Reviews for

The Alibi

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Characters!

I usually figure out mysteries, but love to read them just to see how it's played out. This one had me guessing 'til the end. Then, as the 'whodunit' part unfolds, several twists of delight are thrown in.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

can't help but not like

Just when I thought Sandra Brown could do no wrong. I couldn't even finish reading it and with the thanks of one helpful reviewer I felt no need. I really had to force myself to get through as much as I did, and I never not finish reading something. ALL the characters r...
Just when I thought Sandra Brown could do no wrong. I couldn't even finish reading it and with the thanks of one helpful reviewer I felt no need. I really had to force myself to get through as much as I did, and I never not finish reading something. ALL the characters really weren't likable they were all deceiving little liars. A little more than halfway through the book and the story was going nowhere. The girl was most likely using him anyway and they were too wrapped up in each other to do their jobs which was a ridiculous case. Some rich, old jerk murdered. That could be interesting but not enough this time. I love the author but not this book.

posted by appleshampoo04 on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    can't help but not like

    Just when I thought Sandra Brown could do no wrong. I couldn't even finish reading it and with the thanks of one helpful reviewer I felt no need. I really had to force myself to get through as much as I did, and I never not finish reading something. ALL the characters really weren't likable they were all deceiving little liars. A little more than halfway through the book and the story was going nowhere. The girl was most likely using him anyway and they were too wrapped up in each other to do their jobs which was a ridiculous case. Some rich, old jerk murdered. That could be interesting but not enough this time. I love the author but not this book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Overdone and far-fetched

    I bought this book after reading all the great reviews. My mistake. We all know the plot. The book begins with Hammond Cross meeting this woman (no name given until later on)at a fair. He is hooked with only one look at her and they spend the night together. She turns out to be the prime suspect of Lute Pettijohn's murder.A powerful man in Charleston.Hammond Cross is the special assistant solicitor for Charleston county, so he is part of the murder investigation along with detective Rory (nothing to do with Gilmore Girls)Smilow and Stefanie Mundell, Hammond's co-worker and ex-lover. Steffi is ambicious and she wants at any cost to become the next district attorney, and so does Hammond (he doesn't sweat it, though). Their background couldn't be more different. Steffi had to fight her way up, Hammond's family had money, old money. She was portrayed as a very annoying, pushy character, very rude to everyone for no reason. Apparently she was so dumb (even though she had been first in her class) to antagonize everyone. She didn't spread love. We got it the first time. Detective Rory Smilow was pictured as a tough guy, but seemed kind of aloof to me. - - - Hammond struggles with his conscience all through the book.Over and over and over and over again.Hammond Cross is pictured as Mr. Dodley - Do - Right, but his actions said something else. Foe example, he slept with another woman while being in a relationship with another one (Put in his same words 'he wasn't exactly committed, but he wasn't exactly uncommitted, either').He kept to himself information and evidence pertinent to the murder case. He slept with the prime suspect, even after Alex Ladd had been interrogated. Lack of ethics? Who cares when true love comes along? -- - It grew tiresome after a while and actually I didn't care much about the Hammond character. Actually, I disliked him. Talk about self-absorbed. - Preston Cross, Hammond's father says it all with these words 'You and your goddamn hypocrite, self-righteous, do-gooding, Boy-Scouting attitude have sickened me for years' - - The Hammond character was oversold, way to much overdone. At the end he made the right decision, but did he do it because it was right? Because of self-respect? That is what the author wanted to make us think, but at the end it was perfectly clear that he did it out of fear, because he didn't want that secret to be exposed someday, and therefore affect him big time. Plh-eeease. Give me a break.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Great Characters!

    I usually figure out mysteries, but love to read them just to see how it's played out. This one had me guessing 'til the end. Then, as the 'whodunit' part unfolds, several twists of delight are thrown in.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Zo zo and Captin munch

    Cool book and good book


    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Captivating!

    Great, easy, read! You can't help but fall completely in love with the male character Hammond. There are also some twists that will keep you turning the page. The love between Hammond and Alex is so sweet! Loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    Sensational!

    I was totally engrossed in this book. The main character, Hammond, is every sane woman's fantasy...a man with integrity. The writing was first rate, the plot explosive. As I read the last page, I realized that no ending(of the hundreds of books I've read}has ever touched me this much. Thank you,Ms.Brown!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    Excellence Again

    Sandra Brown has yet to write a book I do not love. I was absolutely engrossed and could not put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Recommend reading

    I found the book interesting and well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Great story!

    Sandra Brown has done it again. If you are a fan, this will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Enjoyed It

    It kept my interest and made me guess. Was surprised at the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Alibi by Sandra Brown Luke is dead at the hotel, shot 2 tim


    The Alibi by Sandra Brown
    Luke is dead at the hotel, shot 2 times. They inform his wife and she's not surprised he's not been murdered from his lovers husband. He has had many affairs in the past and although they are married, live in the same house, she knows nothing of his style or meetings of his life.
    At the hotel there was also several others who had come down with food poisoning that may have seen the murderer. The cops try to get through to the ER doctor that they must talk to the people right then and there to help solve the murder case.
    One investigator had spent the night with a woman he had met at the fair. She left before the next day and now he knows why she was on the phone when he walked into the bedroom and who she is and who she is related to.
    Was never just a simple death, a lot of others are involved: unknown relatives, blackmail, insider trade secrets
    Love that they staged the scene to catch the real murderer at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Something to take your mind off the summer heat

    I usually am able to pick out the 'who done it' somewhere in the middle of the book. However not his one. The secerts between the characters was well written, the whole book was well written. While your outside and heat it is getting to you the heat in this book will far surpass that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    What a great Charleston theme

    I am new to Charleston and the descriptions were fabulous. I felt like it was really happening in my back yard. Sandra Brown can really keep me reading. I even get upset when the book is over, I just want it to keep going. She is a great mystery/suspense writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Excellent

    Sandra Brown never dissapoints

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Very good read, could not put the book down and finished reading it quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I found a new best author

    You just can't put it down. This is my second book by Sandra Brown and I will keep reading her books until I have read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Alibi

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    Surprise ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    B but another of sandra's

    Suprises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    excellent

    Sandra Brown is a favorite author of mine and I have always enjoyed any book of hers. Any review of any of her books that I have put onto my nook would say the same thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4