Customer Reviews for

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!

I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!! As usual such wonder characters, just the right touch of humor and part of our history that is way over due for recognition. Thank you for such a wonderful read!!!

posted by 14274066 on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I truly love Flagg's down home humor, but this novel lacked the

I truly love Flagg's down home humor, but this novel lacked the zany atmosphere. The story centers on Sookie or Sarah Jane, who just learns that she was adopted and is really 60 instead of 59. The story line has merits, but the action deviates too much from the theme....
I truly love Flagg's down home humor, but this novel lacked the zany atmosphere. The story centers on Sookie or Sarah Jane, who just learns that she was adopted and is really 60 instead of 59. The story line has merits, but the action deviates too much from the theme. Sookie undergoes many adventures in her path of coming to terms with the adoption. Sookie's four grown children have the silliest names, especially the 3 girls. Lenore, Sookie's adoptive mother, is the stereotypical Southern mother with her determination and controlling. So many of the characters seem to parallel the characters of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. Idgie and Fritzti seem to be the same character, and both possess that mothering instinct to aid Ruth and Sookie in growing. The language seems less Southern in this novel, as the setting could be anywhere.

posted by Delphimo on November 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!

    I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!! As usual such wonder characters, just the right touch of humor and part of our history that is way over due for recognition. Thank you for such a wonderful read!!!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    As usual, loved it. Ms. Flagg is a master painter, you can just

    As usual, loved it. Ms. Flagg is a master painter, you can just see it in your mind.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Very clever and funny novel!!!! Highly recommended. Loved the characters and plot, but really really loved the history of the WASPS during World War II. Another great novel set during World War II is "The Partisan" by William Jarvis. This book is based on facts and has great male and female characters. Both books deserve A+++++

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it.

    Loved it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Fanny Flagg never disappoints. The All Girls Filling Station Reu

    Fanny Flagg never disappoints.
    The All Girls Filling Station Reunion has heart and soul along with memorable characters.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Did you ever think as you were growing up that maybe you were ad

    Did you ever think as you were growing up that maybe you were adopted and that's why you just didn't seem to fit in?
    Well, Sookie Poole never seemed to live up to her mother's expectations, but when at age 60 she received a package
    that told her she was adopted, Sookie was stunned. She tried psychiatric consultations (but she didn't want her mother
    to know that she knew - so the doctor met her at the Waffle House) and she started researching her birth mother's family
    and origins. Sookie, an Alabaman southern Baptist, found her birth mother was a Wisconsian Polish Catholic.

    Now glide back in time to Pulaski Wisconsin and meet the Jurdabralinski family. Stanislav owns the Phillips 66 station
    and when sickness forces him to recuperate out of state, his 4 daughters, wife and daughter-in-law take on running the
    station and pretty girls brought a bunch business until WWII and gas rationing force a shutdown. 

    The oldest Daughter, Fritzi, already had her flying license, and had taught 2 of her sisters so with the station shutdown,
    Fritzi, Gertrude and Sophie Marie join the WASPs to help ferry new aircraft from the factory to the airfields for the war effort.

    Back to Sookie, she garners enough courage to call the name on her birth certificate and arranges to meet.

    The story easily floats back and forth between Sookie and her Mother (Lenore is a bit wacky and easily makes the reader
    sympathize with Sookie) and the Jurdabralinski girls. The short chapters make the story whip along and help to hold the
    readers interest.

    Surprise ending with heart and laughter included

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    wonderful

    Hope they make amovie out of this book! It is every bit as wonderful as all of her other books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Heartwarming!

    Was disappointed in her last book (I Still Think About You), but this is back to the Fannie Flagg writing style and heartwarming storytelling I loved about most of her previous books. Like the other books, didn't want it to end!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Fannie Flagg

    As always, Fannie Flagg tells a great story. It is a fun, quick and easy read. I enjoyed the story and how she wove the story of the WASP's into it. She certainly did her research on that forgotten page in WWII history. This is a fabulous book about the Greatest Generation. Although it is fiction, you will be able to imagine what it was like for the women that helped our country during 1941-1945.

    We read this for my book club. It is not necessarily a book club book. All the characters are likeable and not much happens that will surprise you. However, learning and researching about the WASP's did create much discussion, because of the way they were treated and ignored for decades.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great read as always from this author...since I'm of the older


    Great read as always from this author...since I'm of the older generation could relate to the inclusion of the way of life at the start and during WWII. As always, enjoyed thoroughly, will be waiting for the next publication of this authors work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Full of History and Southern Wit!

    This was my first book by Fannie Flagg and it was a hoot! I purchased the audio version as was read by the author and full of southern wit and charm. The accent was right on, with lots of history, as she seamlessly joined the World War II era with the present. Very interesting as so love this time and era. Would love to see a movie based on the novel.

    Full of crazy characters, including her nutty mother Lenore set in Alabama. When Sookie receives a letter in the mail she finds out she is not the person she thought, and begins to uncover her past and secrets. In the meantime, she makes discoveries about herself as she travels to learn about her past.

    I look forward to reading more by this author as she is an excellent storyteller. (Highly recommend the audio version)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Bittersweet light read

    I enjoyed this book; however, I was a little disappointed that the main part of the story was about a modern-day character. I wanted to read more about the All-Girl Filling Station in the 40s. Fannie Flagg is an entertaining writer, though, so if you are in the mood for an interesting book about life for women, particularly women pilots leading up to and during the 2nd World War, you will enjoy this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I just loved this book. The characters, story lines and the hum

    I just loved this book. The characters, story lines and the humor were just wonderful !!!! I believe this is Fanny's best book. I enjoyed every page. Thanks Fanny !!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    highly,highly recommend

    I love all Fannie Flaggs books and I think this was one of her best. When the boys in town are all drafted and gone, the girls take over their Dad's gas station. With no experience but a lot of heart and guts they jump right in. The characters are all different and you feel like you know them all. There are many heart warming parts and many, many funny parts. I would highly recommend this book to all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    if you have extra time for reading

    Once again, a very entertaining book, but not one of Fannie Flagg's best. The development of the characters was weak. I did like the way she incorporated history with the book, but it was not very convincing. I wish I could have liked this book more, since I have read all her other works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    I truly love Flagg's down home humor, but this novel lacked the

    I truly love Flagg's down home humor, but this novel lacked the zany atmosphere. The story centers on Sookie or Sarah Jane, who just learns that she was adopted and is really 60 instead of 59. The story line has merits, but the action deviates too much from the theme. Sookie undergoes many adventures in her path of coming to terms with the adoption. Sookie's four grown children have the silliest names, especially the 3 girls. Lenore, Sookie's adoptive mother, is the stereotypical Southern mother with her determination and controlling. So many of the characters seem to parallel the characters of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. Idgie and Fritzti seem to be the same character, and both possess that mothering instinct to aid Ruth and Sookie in growing. The language seems less Southern in this novel, as the setting could be anywhere.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Fannie's Best Ever!

    Fanny Flagg has outdone herself in this witty, poignant, and humorous novel of how one strong-willed woman dealt with her family, her romantic life, and her career - and a few surprises along the way. Very enjoyable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Loved this book.

    You will learn a little history as well as getting swept up with the women in book. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Adoption

    Some very funny laugh out loud and some moving parts of this book. A 59 year old woman finds out she was adopted. Quite a story. I really liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    PLEASE READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hi

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6