BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!

I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!! As usual such wonder characters, just the right touch of humor and part of our history that is way over due for recognition. Thank you for such a wonderful read!!!

posted by 14274066 on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

highly,highly recommend

I love all Fannie Flaggs books and I think this was one of her best. When the boys in town are all drafted and gone, the girls take over their Dad's gas station. With no experience but a lot of heart and guts they jump right in. The characters are all different and you...
I love all Fannie Flaggs books and I think this was one of her best. When the boys in town are all drafted and gone, the girls take over their Dad's gas station. With no experience but a lot of heart and guts they jump right in. The characters are all different and you feel like you know them all. There are many heart warming parts and many, many funny parts. I would highly recommend this book to all ages.

posted by mara13JC on December 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 5
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book.

    This book is about independent women who didn't care whether what they did as popular or accepted in the society of their time. I especially liked the historical reference to the Women's Air Force, the one's who ferried planes for the U.S. Government who didn't even provide transportation home for them when their services were no longer needed. It was especially relevant to me, a former Navy WAVE who served when women had limited rating open to them. I thought the book was well written, entertaining and realistic. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Loved this book

    Thanks to Fannie for a book that felt so very real. Listening to the writer as she painted an incredible story with great characters makes me want all her books on audio. The mix of history, family and making challenging decisions were in perfect balance...mixed with the humor of Fannie Flagg,from blue jays to pink pom pom shoes..this is one not to pass up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Wonderful....

    Ms. Flag has done it again. Truly a wonderful, delightful story. Read it in one sitting. This is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Best Book of 2013

    A truly fantastic book that I couldn't put down. It made me laugh, cry and wish America was like it was in this era. Fanny Flagg has done it again. She has written a wonderful book. This book takes place when Americans had pride in our county. This is a book I will read over and over again. Her other books are wonderful too. We need more writers like Fanny Flagg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    As a woman who grew up in a small town in the same era as Sookie

    As a woman who grew up in a small town in the same era as Sookie, I identified with most of the story. This was the most wonderful book I have ever read and it made me think a lot about my life. Even my husband loved it and said that he hadn't realized women were treated so badly in the 40's and 50's. Thank God for Women's Lib!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    A very good read!!

    This is one great book. It takes one back to WW II, and how these brave women took charge during hard times during the war. It is a "must" read. I'm sure you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    CAN'T WAIT TO READ IT!!

    I absolutely LOVE all of Ms. Flagg's books. She is such a gifted storyteller! I only wish she would write more of them because once I begin one of her books, I simply cannot put it down and end up finishing the book way too quickly!
    My comments are directed at the person who posted their review on November 30th. I get that you did not like the book. Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion. My question is: WHY do people like you feel it necessary to retell the story, including very specific plot details?? This is very inconsiderate in my opinion and accomplishes nothing more than ruining the experience for the rest of us who have also paid our hard earned money for the book. Perhaps this was your intention...perhaps not. Come ON, people. Just tell us if you liked the book or not and why, without retelling the story and spoiling it for everyone else.
    Perhaps you did not intend to do it, but in the future, one might think before one types. I apologize to the other posters for my ranting, but I had really been looking forward to reading this book for some time. I'm sure I will still enjoy the story, iust not as much as I would have before reading this person's review.
    Thanks a bunch!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    highly recommened

    I have read all her brooks read the first one because I liked the title but then fell in love with her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    loved this

    I love all of Fannie Flagg's novels and this is no exception, very entertaining, did not want it to end. There was mystery, the characters were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Wonderful story.

    Loved this book, as I have loved all of Fannie Flagg's books. Her books are sweet, funny and touching. I am looking forward to her next book.....I hope she is writing it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    highly recommended

    I just love Fannie Flagg and this is one of her best yet. If you enjoy a good Fannie Flagg book you have to read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Must Read -- Fannie Flagg has another hit.

    Great reading. Enough twists to keep you interested. Pure Fannie Flagg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved this book.

    I had to pace myself so I didn't read it all in one sitting. Love Fannie Flagg and really loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Just wonderful

    Ms. Flagg just keeps getting better. This is a wonderful story along with a great history lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    I enjoyed this book as I do all of the Fannie Flagg books I¿ve r

    I enjoyed this book as I do all of the Fannie Flagg books I’ve read. However, I would have preferred a longer version to see more of Sookie and her life. The 1-2 pages about her mother between the chapters were ok, but I was most interested in Sookie and her journey both mental and physical. I laughed a lot while reading about her meetings with Dr. Shapiro, and I would have like to see that explored on a longer basis. I would even like to see more time devoted to her son and what happens during the holidays and other visits. I found the scene where Sookie was running from back to front trying to beat the birds to be very amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Wonderful

    This book gives the reader a wonderful sense of time and place. I felt as though I was reading about my neighbors and neighbors from every place I have ever lived. delightful and entertaining. I love Fannie Flagg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Faa Fannie i love all of your books please write another pne soon

    Jpw

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Kneacapeon

    He crawled into the woods and spots a hanging branch. He crawls onto it and bounced on ot giggling. It snapped and he clung to it tightly whimpering in fear. He called out for knuckles. "Na-na!"

    0 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 5