Customer Reviews for

The Amateur: Barack Obama in the White House

Average Rating 3.5
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(109)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

176 out of 224 people found this review helpful.

The "in the tank for Obama" news media may very well


The "in the tank for Obama" news media may very well do all it can to discredit the author and this book. The author interviewed in person and tape recorded many of those interviewed who elected to share insider information regarding the Obama husband and wif...

The "in the tank for Obama" news media may very well do all it can to discredit the author and this book. The author interviewed in person and tape recorded many of those interviewed who elected to share insider information regarding the Obama husband and wife, within and outside the White House. Those inteviewed include personal friends of the Obamas, such as the Rev. Jeremiah Wright, and friends/associates of Bill and Hillary Clinton and Ophra Winfrey among others. Attention is directed to Valerie Jerrett, the Obama inner circle advisor from Chicago and White House "gate keeper" for the Obamas, who did her best to convince Obama not to pursue Osama Bin Laden, only to be overruled by Leon Penetta. The author only included information that was verifiable; therefore, Mr. Klein's book is not a gossip columnist's accounting of a he said-she said venue. The "real" Obama picture is alarming and serves to frame the President of the United States as clearly out of his comfort zone insofar as having no leadership skills or experience, no administrative experience, no governing experience, and no international experience, and, therefore, makes the valid argument that President Barack Obama is ill-equipped and incapable of assuming the tasks of being Commander-in-Chief of the US military and leader of the most important free nation in the world. Barack Obama is the personification of the Peter Principle, one who rises to his own level of incompetence. A must read for all who want information the liberal news papers and cable news organizations will not tell you and may purposely dismiss by not drawing attention to the book and its documented evidence

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

92 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

Dispair for our political system

I read the Klein book over the past couple of days, not much of a feat since it is only 181 pages. It is, as he admits up front,a journalistic treatment, and as such it is full of anecdotes you have heard previously and focused on sensationalism. There is a good bit of ...
I read the Klein book over the past couple of days, not much of a feat since it is only 181 pages. It is, as he admits up front,a journalistic treatment, and as such it is full of anecdotes you have heard previously and focused on sensationalism. There is a good bit of opinion masquerading as fact combined with a reasonable effort to differentiate conservative and liberal ideologies. Still, by the end of the book, I had a fair synthesis of Obama's life, attitudes, and presidency, and it left me with anything but a flattering portrait of him, his wife, and their staffs. But what I really took away from it was a sense of dispair for our political sytem. Ultimately, the book reinforced my growing fear that our politcal system is broken. One could use the text and roughly the same stories and context and substitute members of the Reagan, Clinton, or second Bush administrations and have the same sense of what is going on. It is a world of personal pettiness, double-crosses, corruption, and gotcha-politics where politics and self-interest trump policy and the needs of the American people on virtually every issue. Politics is a business where the objective is power--gaining it, exercising it, and retaining it. In the end , the book reminded me that the leadership of Democratic administrations is no more committed to egalitarian access to and sharing of power than than they criticize the Republicans for. I don't know the answer or the right approach to getting it, but some of us need to go to work to fix the system before it is too late.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Obama Redux

    This book is an easy read which brought back, into my mind, the "promise" of Obama in 2008 and the reality he has become in 2012. His promise of "a new direction" has turned, in three short years, into an economic doldrum, from which there does not appear to be any easy escape.
    And, he blames everyone except himself: he still wants to blame George Bush II for the failure of economic policies which he (Obama) instituted; his foreign policy is a disaster because he doesn't have one (killing Osama Bin Laden is not a foreign policy); his ObamaCare is turning out to be another economic disaster the cost of which will not become known until, conviently, 2014 when all the new taxes required to support it actually go into effect-not to mention the consequent disaster that will emenate from these taxes which will cause businesses to drop their current employee coverage, and thus force millions to pay highet medical insurance payments while being dropped by their employer. Finally, he will emasculate the nation's energy production forcing an end to coal usage and oil usage.
    This book is must reading for anyone wanting a real overview of what Mr. Obama has wrought already and what we can expect from a second Obama term.

    35 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A liberal former New York Times editor writes a devastating biography of Barack Obama. The book is based on 200 interviews of people who personally knew Barack Obama, including the first major interview with Jeremiah Wright and even Obama's personal physician. The result is one of the most important political books of the year. You will never look at Barack Obama the same way again.

    34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    For A Political Read, This Wasn't Half Bad

    While I normally get the audio version of any political reading I do, because frankly, I find it incredibly dry to READ, I got the book this time around and it was actually pretty good! It's horrific that things that are in this book that I wasn't aware of, and the things I already knew but seeing in writing was .... *sigh*
    I do suggest the book to anyone who doesn't just drink the koolaid and take the gov at their word.

    34 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't going to read this book, since I don't particularly car

    I wasn't going to read this book, since I don't particularly care for books about politics, until I read the so-called reviews by democrat party operatives here and elsewhere. I read it, and didn't find anything new in here. Everyone, even those who drank the Obama Kool Aid, know the facts in general in this book. However, we don't know the details. This book gives the details of the worst and most corrupt administration in US history.

    33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Garbage

    This should be in the fiction/fantasy section

    31 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Interesting about the negative reviews

    Reading the negative reviews it's interesting that most of them never mention reading the book.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Refreshing to hear about the actual Obama and not the biased med

    Refreshing to hear about the actual Obama and not the biased media's "creative" persona!

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Excellent.

    Must read.

    26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Eye opening

    Take a second and breath...this man we elected is a sham. Sometimes it is tough swallowing a pill so large

    25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    I haven't quite finished reading the book but it certainly confi

    I haven't quite finished reading the book but it certainly confirms to me the "real" Obama. Nothing said comes as any surprise to me as I have long thought "Amateur" perfectly describes him and the horrific decisions he has made. Thanks to Mr. Klein for bringing all of this to light.

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Sobering

    Accurate portrait; this summarizes for us our suspicians after voting based on hope and change and the reality if a chicago politician. I hoped for the best 4 years ago but my eyes are wide open now thanks to this book.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Biased garbage. Another attempt to "Swift Boat" an hon

    Biased garbage. Another attempt to "Swift Boat" an honorable man to build up a dishonorable one. Shame on everyone connected with these lies.

    22 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    The Truth Hurts

    Liberal and Obama lovers. Obama is a nut job. He has no business being in the highest office in the world. He may be charismatic and entertaining, but those attributes would better suite him in Hollywood. That should be his next career, so he can live it up by smoking pot and snorting cocain like he did in the past. Serving our great country for 22 years, this man couldn't hold a match to Jimmy Carter, which isn't saying much. By the way I'm an Independent.

    22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    This author has finally brought out the information that many of

    This author has finally brought out the information that many of us thought was going on. Great job!! Obama stole the election from Hillary Clinton. It is no wonder that Bill Clinton is not happy with Obama. If the voters would have educated themselves on Barack Obama BEFORE he got into the White House, I have no doubt that intelligent voters would not have voted for this Marxist, America hater. Obama's own words will tell you what he is if you read a few of his books. Mr. Klein gives us the inside information.

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Obamadolators will of course take offense.

    But it will just give them focus in excercising their strongest asset denial of reality.

    19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Meh.

    I am a staunch conservative, and like many conservatives, I picked up this book with an already disapproving view of the current Presidential administration. I had expected to find a well-researched book that brought out the truth about the man, while exposed a lot of the inconsistencies in the mainstream media's idolatry of -- and failure to vet -- their hero, "The One".

    As I started working through this book, I was pretty disappointed. It starts out with a bang, a flash of an argument betweeen the Clintons, wherein Bill Clinton hangs the "amateur" tag that serves as the book's title. But the book goes downhill quickly from there. Klein makes many assertions but fails to back them up with significant facts.

    More troubling is Klein's choice of sources: almost all are anonymous, and those that could provide the information Klein sought have a vested interest in not spilling the dirt on their current boss. Even those that have left the White House (most notably, Rahm Emanuel) don't give up much more than gossip directed primarily at sticking it to those that he didn't get along with (namely, Valerie Jarrett and David Axelrod). Thus we are left with an exercise in "consider the source". Not much substance here, unfortunately.

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Divide and Conquer

    It is easy to see that after reading the reviews of others, that this country is set on a course of divide and conquer. Scary thought. Read Atlas Shrugged.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    A well-written, factual account of Barack Obama and his administration. Does a great job of providing credible facts. My only complaint is that it was a bit short, but to some people that's a good thing. Still deserving of five stars.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Imagine someone being awarded the Nobel Prize for no reason othe

    Imagine someone being awarded the Nobel Prize for no reason other than the color of his skin and you'll have some insight into the hyperbolic Obama Myth and Administration. As Klein points out, his arrival was the personification of everything the left needed to complete the deconstruction of America into an impoverished Third World cesspool. Let's face it, after the Bush disaster any unqualified eloquent person could have become President -- and did. Read this book before you vote and we'll have a fresh start in November. Highly recommended.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    Tell me Mr. Klein who is really cut out to be president, you. Name a president who hasn't made his share of mistakes. Perhaps Mr. Klein you could start some sort of training institution to the making of the perfect president instead of wasting your time writing trash. Did you write a book about president Bush and the " weapons of mass destruction" and how many of our soldiers were killed because his arrogance and his delusional state of mind. The president of Mexico said after his first meeting with president Bush, "He is the most ARROGANT S.O.B. I have ever met! The British people also had a name for president Bush, the "Cowboy clown" I think that you picked the wrong president to "trash" and all you have for eyeballs is $. I wouldn't pay a nickel to buy your piece of garbage. Tell me is it jealousy that makes jerks like you hate and disrespect our president in front of the whole world or is it the color of.his skin. I suppose it makes you feel like a hero.

    17 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23