Customer Reviews for

The Amateur: Barack Obama in the White House

Average Rating 3.5
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(109)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

176 out of 224 people found this review helpful.

The "in the tank for Obama" news media may very well


The "in the tank for Obama" news media may very well do all it can to discredit the author and this book. The author interviewed in person and tape recorded many of those interviewed who elected to share insider information regarding the Obama husband and wif...

The "in the tank for Obama" news media may very well do all it can to discredit the author and this book. The author interviewed in person and tape recorded many of those interviewed who elected to share insider information regarding the Obama husband and wife, within and outside the White House. Those inteviewed include personal friends of the Obamas, such as the Rev. Jeremiah Wright, and friends/associates of Bill and Hillary Clinton and Ophra Winfrey among others. Attention is directed to Valerie Jerrett, the Obama inner circle advisor from Chicago and White House "gate keeper" for the Obamas, who did her best to convince Obama not to pursue Osama Bin Laden, only to be overruled by Leon Penetta. The author only included information that was verifiable; therefore, Mr. Klein's book is not a gossip columnist's accounting of a he said-she said venue. The "real" Obama picture is alarming and serves to frame the President of the United States as clearly out of his comfort zone insofar as having no leadership skills or experience, no administrative experience, no governing experience, and no international experience, and, therefore, makes the valid argument that President Barack Obama is ill-equipped and incapable of assuming the tasks of being Commander-in-Chief of the US military and leader of the most important free nation in the world. Barack Obama is the personification of the Peter Principle, one who rises to his own level of incompetence. A must read for all who want information the liberal news papers and cable news organizations will not tell you and may purposely dismiss by not drawing attention to the book and its documented evidence

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

92 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

Dispair for our political system

I read the Klein book over the past couple of days, not much of a feat since it is only 181 pages. It is, as he admits up front,a journalistic treatment, and as such it is full of anecdotes you have heard previously and focused on sensationalism. There is a good bit of ...
I read the Klein book over the past couple of days, not much of a feat since it is only 181 pages. It is, as he admits up front,a journalistic treatment, and as such it is full of anecdotes you have heard previously and focused on sensationalism. There is a good bit of opinion masquerading as fact combined with a reasonable effort to differentiate conservative and liberal ideologies. Still, by the end of the book, I had a fair synthesis of Obama's life, attitudes, and presidency, and it left me with anything but a flattering portrait of him, his wife, and their staffs. But what I really took away from it was a sense of dispair for our political sytem. Ultimately, the book reinforced my growing fear that our politcal system is broken. One could use the text and roughly the same stories and context and substitute members of the Reagan, Clinton, or second Bush administrations and have the same sense of what is going on. It is a world of personal pettiness, double-crosses, corruption, and gotcha-politics where politics and self-interest trump policy and the needs of the American people on virtually every issue. Politics is a business where the objective is power--gaining it, exercising it, and retaining it. In the end , the book reminded me that the leadership of Democratic administrations is no more committed to egalitarian access to and sharing of power than than they criticize the Republicans for. I don't know the answer or the right approach to getting it, but some of us need to go to work to fix the system before it is too late.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 240 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Excellent.

    Must read.

    26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Eye opening

    Take a second and breath...this man we elected is a sham. Sometimes it is tough swallowing a pill so large

    25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    I haven't quite finished reading the book but it certainly confi

    I haven't quite finished reading the book but it certainly confirms to me the "real" Obama. Nothing said comes as any surprise to me as I have long thought "Amateur" perfectly describes him and the horrific decisions he has made. Thanks to Mr. Klein for bringing all of this to light.

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Sobering

    Accurate portrait; this summarizes for us our suspicians after voting based on hope and change and the reality if a chicago politician. I hoped for the best 4 years ago but my eyes are wide open now thanks to this book.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    The Truth Hurts

    Liberal and Obama lovers. Obama is a nut job. He has no business being in the highest office in the world. He may be charismatic and entertaining, but those attributes would better suite him in Hollywood. That should be his next career, so he can live it up by smoking pot and snorting cocain like he did in the past. Serving our great country for 22 years, this man couldn't hold a match to Jimmy Carter, which isn't saying much. By the way I'm an Independent.

    22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    This author has finally brought out the information that many of

    This author has finally brought out the information that many of us thought was going on. Great job!! Obama stole the election from Hillary Clinton. It is no wonder that Bill Clinton is not happy with Obama. If the voters would have educated themselves on Barack Obama BEFORE he got into the White House, I have no doubt that intelligent voters would not have voted for this Marxist, America hater. Obama's own words will tell you what he is if you read a few of his books. Mr. Klein gives us the inside information.

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Obamadolators will of course take offense.

    But it will just give them focus in excercising their strongest asset denial of reality.

    19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    A well-written, factual account of Barack Obama and his administration. Does a great job of providing credible facts. My only complaint is that it was a bit short, but to some people that's a good thing. Still deserving of five stars.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Imagine someone being awarded the Nobel Prize for no reason othe

    Imagine someone being awarded the Nobel Prize for no reason other than the color of his skin and you'll have some insight into the hyperbolic Obama Myth and Administration. As Klein points out, his arrival was the personification of everything the left needed to complete the deconstruction of America into an impoverished Third World cesspool. Let's face it, after the Bush disaster any unqualified eloquent person could have become President -- and did. Read this book before you vote and we'll have a fresh start in November. Highly recommended.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Please, every American read this book!!! Very Important to the

    Please, every American read this book!!! Very Important to the future of America.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great book....Tells it like it is !

    Great book....Tells it like it is !

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Great book obviously the people giving it one Star did not buy it

    It is sad they will left wing hacks come in and bash it even tho they obviously did not even bother to Read it! they do not want you to know the truth. Read it and Decide for yourself!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Fantastic read!!!

    I couldn't put this book down. Gave me a whole new perspective on the news, even today I guess he's out of ideas as to how to jump start the economy... Just another rookie goof up. With the AWESOME news out of Wisconsin today, our days in the desert are coming to a close. Could there still be hope for our great country? Wisconsin says YES THERE IS!!!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Pied Piper of Chicago Exposed

    Although It's not very long,it is a very good read. I never drank the Kool-Aid. This book was confirmation of what I had already surmised. I hope the American people wake up and try to right the ship. Although it's extremely important to keep the right to vote an AMERICAN right. My biggest fear in this election is while people fight over deceased and illegals voting. There is a FOREIGN company counting the votes. Rigged Ballot Box comes to mind, will the exposure of our Fraud In Chief be enough to save OUR country. GOD HELP US. GOD BLESS AMERICA

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Everyone should read this book! . This guy is a phony, rotten, liar who has done nothing short of ruin our country in the short period of time he has been in office. But then again I think that has been his agenda all along. Way to go Obama, you have spent more money than all of our Presidents before you. Please go away. Stop the spending

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    They the truth hurts

    Then these truths must sting like hell!! NObama 2012!!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Good but too short

    Unlike all the Obama shills here on the reviews for this book, I actually bought and read this book. It's a great read with every point in it well researched and well documented. There is a list in the back with all the sources and people who the author interviewed. Each point is made and then backed up with plenty of support in every chapter. Most amazing to me were the chapters on Oprah and also the ones on Jeremiah Wright. Wow! Obama really stuck it to those two which is shocking given all the help and support he received from them both over the years. More than once I thought it was a good thing that Obama had treated all his friends and supporters like crap as it is described in this book. I figured, "Well, at least he isn't playing the same old politics game." But then it occurred to me-Obama was not treating all his supporters and fellow politicians like crap out of some desire to get away from "politics as usual", he does it because he is a pompous jerk who believes that he is better than everyone. Imagine! Writing your own autobiography before you turn 30 and well before you have accomplished a single thing of note or import in your life. How full of oneself can a person be? Read this book and find out!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Oh look

    Oh look, I can write a review and make a comment about a book without having physicaly buying it; much like those few whom called this book garbage without reading more than the front cover.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great book!

    It is a shame that the networks and the left wing media keep quiet about the real obama. The well deserved popularity of this book in spite of the left media trying to stop us from reading or ignoring the existence of this book is a symptom that the american people are realizing that we are not getting the truth and that the media is trying to manipulate us by providing us with their opinions as if it was the actual news.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    At least the truth is well documented and published by the autho

    At least the truth is well documented and published by the author. Very beleivable and very scary. How can half of this country support the Administration? Insane! If only the chief law enforcement official AG was as honest, truthful, and was willing to share facts.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 240 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12