Customer Reviews for

The Amazing Spider-Man Marvel Masterworks, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Missing the most important story!

    Unlike the print copy, the Nook version omits the first, most important story. The first Spidey story from Amazing Fantasy #15!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    A Hero is Born

    This volume is comprised of Amazing Fantasy #15 (1st Appearance of Spider-Man) and Amazing Spider-Man issues #1-10. That's 11 classic comic book stories for the price of 4 comics today. And these stories are worth every penny! You get to see the introduction of some of Spidey's greatest villains - Doc Ock, Sandman, The Vulture, Electro, and The Lizard, to name a few. The artwork may not appeal to younger readers of today's ultra-stylized comics, but it really is a great example of good storytelling. The drawings are clear, and the action is clean. There's no guessing as to who's doing what. The writing is, of course, dated. But, remember, these are the original stories that started the legend. It's amazing to see how much simpler things were then. Plus, at the time, these plots and situations were unique. A costumed crimefighter never had to worry about girls, bullies, and parental figures. That's one of the reasons this character is so appealing. In closing, one of my favorite things about these old issues is that you can't just skim thru them like some of today's comics. You have to actually sit down and read them, because they just pack so much good stuff onto one page.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Great read

    This book has the first ten comics!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    AWESOME!

    Ok, you have a choice. You can A. spend thousands of dollars for old beatup back issues and not eat for a few months. Or B. Spend twelve bucks for this attractive graphic novel with a cool introduction from Stan Lee himself. Think long and hard now...

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Start a lifetime of comic fandom here

    I purchased this as a gift for my oldest nephew on the occasion of his fifth birthday. This is the perfect beginning to what I hope will be a lifetime love affair with superheroes, masked avengers, caped crusaders and graphic novels in general.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great read

    Good read for a person who wants to start from the begining please add the rest of the volumes thank you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    I love The Amazing Spiderman sereis. You cant beat a teenager wh

    I love The Amazing Spiderman sereis. You cant beat a teenager who becomes a superhero who faces villians like the Lizzard, Camileon, and Doctor Octopus. I also love how in this volume it tells how Stan Lee come up with the idea of Spiderman and how he had to convince marvel comics to publish the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Just What the Doc Ock Ordered!

    It would obviously cost a small fortune to try to buy all the original first ten, or even the first 40 issues of Spider-Man. These are perfect for those of us who can not afford to do so. I love this book and the others in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    You've seen the other reviews, their right!

    As you can see by the title I think this is terrific. This includes the origin of Spidey and the debute in his own series! I rated this 5 stars but without a thought, this things pushing for 6!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    This is a really good book!

    My dad reads this to me every night before I go to sleep. My favorite part so far is the first (Amazing Fantasy) episode. The Doctor Octopus comic book is good too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Cool cats

    Hi hmsnskk. Jsmsjquoskxpspapslskdkcncncnsjsiwosjdxnnxn. Mxjaskxjnd d cmdjdx xhaah xsjs ss,




    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I

    I love it!!! You hav to buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    spidey fad goes crazy

    Gotta love the Spider-man and let's hope this marvel fad stays until Spider-man 3 so it can go crazy again

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    I would be more than 5 if it could go up that high!

    This is my favorite spidey collection ever! You gotta love the classics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    This is a great comic book compilation.

    This book has everything that you would expect from the masterminds of Marvel, Stan Lee and Steve Ditko. Stan Lee's broad imagination for storylines and Steve Ditko's excellent illustrations make this book an enjoyable thing for children and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2