Customer Reviews for

The Amulet: Custodian Novel # 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 694 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(469)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully Visual

I think "The Amulet" is a wonderful debut fantasy from Alison Pensy. It is the kind of book I would have loved to be stranded home alone with on a rainy day when I was in middle school. Is it written on the same scale as Harry Potter or Percy Jakson? No. But I enjoyed i...
I think "The Amulet" is a wonderful debut fantasy from Alison Pensy. It is the kind of book I would have loved to be stranded home alone with on a rainy day when I was in middle school. Is it written on the same scale as Harry Potter or Percy Jakson? No. But I enjoyed it immensely and could not have given the book any less than 5 stars.
The author's writing style is so beautifully visual, you feel enveloped in a book from the moment you start reading. All the right characters are easy to love and hate, plus it has a few surprises along the way, just when you think you are getting comfortable with a plot.
If you buy this book for a girl age 10-14, who loves to read fantasy, she is guaranteed a good time.
My favorite parts about the book: a touch of romance and great visual descriptions.

posted by SvetlanaKovalkovaMcKenna on December 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Adolescent

A nice book for a 10 yr old. Simplistic with no convoluted story line. Don't read it in bed...... you won't be able to stay awake.

posted by 5846472 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good Read

    This book was a very enjoyable journey into a magical world. It was lighthearted and fun. My only qualm was that the end seemed rather rushed and left a few questions unanswered.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    great

    I really enjoyed reading this book.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not bad

    liked it and looking forward to sequel

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great

    Great plot and everything.... but when reading this, do know there are boring parts. Other then the boring parts, it is awesome and highly recomended for ages 9+.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Can't put the book down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A great fun read

    I had a good time with this book. It has characters that you can believe and care about. I can tell the author has done her research and I appreciate that. The further into the book the more fluid the storytelling becomes. I only hope that my first effort turns out as well. And, I've purchased the second book. Please keep them coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Good!

    Much better then I was expecting. Fast and engaging read. I would recommend this to all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Felix

    Im sooo srry im.not be able to go on are date im going, on vaca and wont be back till thursday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Soo good

    I'm not yet through this book (67% finished) but i love it it is amazing. I reccomend this book completly. Little scary but awesome! I love it! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    PIE25

    Cant wait to git it. :D.it sounds great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    A very good read. I will definitely purchase the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Exelent

    A great read and i must say the begining actually made me cry and that my freinds is very hard for an author to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    LOVED IT

    This book was amazing and enchanting a perfect book for creative people, this book actually made me cry..... anyone intrested in love or action should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    pensy good

    good beginning 4 a series. want to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    good job of the imagination , enjoyed reading it

    good job of the imagination , enjoyed reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    happy.....

    Happy new year everybody!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Having shallowly been interested in the subject, I was curious a

    Having shallowly been interested in the subject, I was curious about how a serious fairy story could develop. I can safely say I did not pause too many times in finishing the book. The story, albeit reading somewhat like a movie script, held my attention and desire to follow unto the end, and beginning of the next book. Ultimately, the book is a nice easy read, a pause in between more serious books, but nevertheless worth the pause.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    The amulet

    Has a lot of adventures. Very nice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great book but its a little confusing for me and im 10

    In conclusion it a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Weird

    Doesnt make all sense but good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8