Customer Reviews for

The Andalucian Friend: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just finished this and can 't wait for his next one. Once I sta

Just finished this and can 't wait for his next one. Once I started it I could hardly put it down.

posted by joanbly on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a thriller that takes place in Sweden (and Brazil and Ge

This is a thriller that takes place in Sweden (and Brazil and Germany and Spain). There are lots of bad guys from lots of different factions. Some are fighting over a cocaine trade route, others are squabbling about an illegal arms shipment and still others are in the...
This is a thriller that takes place in Sweden (and Brazil and Germany and Spain). There are lots of bad guys from lots of different factions. Some are fighting over a cocaine trade route, others are squabbling about an illegal arms shipment and still others are in the blackmail business. A formerly law-abiding nurse is swept up into the middle of it all. It was a fun read, but I found the nurse's behavior unbelievable and the other characters were so numerous that I occasionally got them confused. While this never reached the status of an I-can't-put-it-down novel, I liked it enough that I will read the rest of the trilogy.

posted by TamraK on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    This is a thriller that takes place in Sweden (and Brazil and Ge

    This is a thriller that takes place in Sweden (and Brazil and Germany and Spain). There are lots of bad guys from lots of different factions. Some are fighting over a cocaine trade route, others are squabbling about an illegal arms shipment and still others are in the blackmail business. A formerly law-abiding nurse is swept up into the middle of it all. It was a fun read, but I found the nurse's behavior unbelievable and the other characters were so numerous that I occasionally got them confused. While this never reached the status of an I-can't-put-it-down novel, I liked it enough that I will read the rest of the trilogy.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No comparison

    A comparison was made to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo series. This book doesn't come close. I read the whole book because I kept waiting for something to bring it to the level of Larson's work. Never got there.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Don't Waste Your Money or Time

    Any attempt to compare this to "The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo" trilogy is misleading at best. It drags on and on. Not worth the effort.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I was very disappointed in this book particularly since it was a

    I was very disappointed in this book particularly since it was advertised as being the latest "girl with the dragon tattoo." It is not. The female characters are very poorly crafted. In "Dragon" you felt akin to the central character. In this book I spent a lot of time wondering which character would be the central one. The story line is confusing and trades violence and gore for dialogue and plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Regrettably, I

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Regrettably, I continued to the unsatisfactory and unrealistic conclusion, which seems to have been constructed to leave the door open for a sequel. The book has a large and very confusing cast of troubled, unpleasant people, most of them engaged in criminal activity: Arms smuggling; the international drug trade; money laundering; police extortion; murder; intimidation; and so on. None of the characters is of any real interest and even the less unappealing people do not evoke any sympathy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't like it.

    Couldn't finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Ugh!

    Hard to tell who is on first and who is on second.....confusing! Just want to finish it....feel like I was sucked in as it is nothing like The Girl with The Dragon series..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Terrible

    Too boring to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Just finished this and can 't wait for his next one. Once I sta

    Just finished this and can
    't wait for his next one. Once I started it I could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    A very enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Well written and thought out

    I would recommend this to those who read police-type genre. It was hyped up to "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" readers, but in my personal opinion, does not quite measure up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    Highly recommended - very entertaining

    When you really think about it, the premise is not very plausible yet he pulls it all together and makes it totally believable. It's very entertaining and has many twists and turns which one doesn't expect. It was really hard to put it down to do the laundry or cook dinner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    worth a read

    This novel was promoted as kind of Swedish mystery successor to the Stieg Larsson novels. Given that promotion I think Alexander Soderberg's book comes up short. While the plot line is marginally inticing-- enough suspense here and there to keep one reading, the novel is filled with an excessive (and occasionally confusing) number of "bad guys/gals" and a couple of victims all of whom are pretty unremarkable. The book lacks a person, group, theme, idea, emotion, etc. with which a reader can engage. Perhaps future writings will bring us someone to cheer for or to dispise, someone who moves us whether it be love, hate, fear, pity, anger etc. Larsson did all of above -- hopefully Soderberg will come closer next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OK but not much action

    OK but long without much action. Never did figure out the title (the word was never used in the book). Swedish. I will pass on any other books he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    A good first novel

    A little convoluted but it kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Just OK.

    This book was disappointing. There wasn't much of a plot. There was so many characters that it was hard to keep track of them all. A list in the front would have been helpful. The main female character, Sophie, was unrealistic. If you don't care for a lot of gratuitous blood and gore, skip this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Agree, this is not even close to Larson's books. Characters are

    Agree, this is not even close to Larson's books. Characters are poorly developed and the whole "plot" seems to be about how stupid people can be. I too, read the whole thing and at the end was sorry I did. Then I read that the author is a screen writer. I think maybe that is where he should stay. Writing screen plays for shoot up bang, bang movies with little or now plot other than the action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    This is a book full of drug runners, crazies,German and Russian

    This is a book full of drug runners, crazies,German and Russian bad guys, rotten cops and a nurse. The nurse meets a drug runner in her hospital with a broken leg. Sophie makes a bad choice and becomes involved with him and his business dealings. This is not a book for people who do not care for violence. The storyline is well developed and the characters are simply wonderful and true to life. I can not wait to read the next book in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Very absorbing!

    This was a very interesting story with an intricate plot which takes place in
    different locales with many different characters involved. For this reason,
    it must be closely followed & understood.

    This was the author's first book & a very good beginning. I would read another by him.

    It might be a bit complicated to follow for some people who might not like the many
    characters involved & the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    recommend

    A very convoluted story. Some of the characters are not very likable. Book does address the issues of right and wrong in today's criminal justice system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2