Customer Reviews for

Animal Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great and Small

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are interested in Native American philosophy

    you should consider getting this book. It starts with an overall view of the beliefs behind knowing your "totem animal" and goes on to educate, in detail, what each of the animals, birds and bugs mean to you. For those interested in determining their own totem, this book helps explain what to look for in regards to animals that seem to be wherever you are, why an animal might be your totem and even how you can have more than one animal as a totem or spirit guide. It also cautions the reader to not be disappointed if your totem isn't the bald eagle, or a wolf since every animal bird and bug is important in its own way. You don't have to read it from cover to cover either. I am using it as a reference whenever I have a question about the meaning of the animals in my life. Very enjoyable book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Archetypes to Guide You

    Part of understanding the Self is about connecting with other beings. Learn about how animals represent aspects of ourselves in powerful ways that will give you more intuitive guidance into who you are and the symbolic meaning of events in your life. Animal-Speak is a wonderful reference book and very fun and easy to read. As an artist I often use animals as symbols in my paintings and over the years, Animal-Speak have been a constant source of wisdom about the archetypal symbolism represented by a large variety of animals.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    A shamins opinion on this book.

    This was a very informative book to anyone who wants to begin their own path on this trail. It brings to light many of the traits common to shamin as well as ways that those traits are shown in our everyday lives. hovever if you are experienced and already know what you are doing i would look to some of the author's other works far a more indepth look at the world of shaminism. *If you wish to contact me I can be reached at flaming_pheonix_lord@ Yahoo.com. However do not take it personaly if I do not write back quickly I only check the e-mail account about once every four weeks.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    I keep this book in front of my large window that looks outside into my extensive yard and spinney

    This is a great book!!!I refer to it every day as I have my coffee, burn my incense and listen to my Celtic chants. I keep it in front of my window and whatever animal greets me daily, I'm able to immediately look up and see the exact message I'm being sent...scarily accurate. On the 14th of October I saw a hawk and the number corresponding to that bird is 14...and the messages keep coming...I recommend this book to everyone!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    animals are more inportant than many think

    I am new to this subject but i have toying with the idea of ''new age religeon'' and this book was shown to me by a friend and i found it to be suprisingly accurate. This book needs to put out a new addition so others can see the beauty of the animals around us and learn to respect what nature hands to us

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    animals are God's magical creatures.

    I read this book while i was being treated for depression,and I've always been a animal lover.There's animals around us always,I think they have ways of telling us they understand how we feel,think.It's the angels inside them!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great book missing pages not so great.

    Book needs all pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Animal Speak

    Ted Andrews is a wonderful, informative and spiritual man. I recommend all of his books if you find yourself starting out on a spiritual path or even if you have been on one for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    I use this book in reference whenever I find an animal prevalent in my life, I find that looking into the totem really helps me realize why this animal has come into my life: whether it be for a short period of time or long term. The symbolism behind the animals, almost always is associated with my current situation, feelings or other type of correlation. It's very inspiring and intriguing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Perfect reference book

    Specially for animal lovers that believe in the power and messages from everything that we have around us. Very magical!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    GOOD BOOK!

    this is a beautiful book i have learned so much from it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    excellent book

    I am not usually a reader but I have a hard time putting this one down. I am always looking it up for myself and sometimes others. I am fairly new to this study and look forward to reading more from this author. Two thumbs up one for each hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Understanding Animal Wisdom

    Whether you see animals in real life or just in your dreams, they are communicating with you. Ted Andrews' enchanting book, ANIMAL-SPEAK, is the best reference book to such animal messages that I've seen. While not all animals are included in the book (that would require a HUGE book!), this book certainly does contain very relevant information about a large number of creatures. The author's love of animals is clear from the start, and he provides fascinating tid-bits of little-known information as well as numerous personal anecdotes. Whether you've been wishing you could understand those perplexing dreams with animals, if you want to choose an animal totem, or if you're ready to start practicing shape-shifting into animal form -- this book is just what you've been waiting for!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    Aniamls are Magical!!!!

    Animals do talk to us a lot more than most people realize. I have always talked to animals, and now with this wonderful book I listen to them. They have talked to me,I have listened and I thank them for sharing their wisdom. They do have powers that are magical and wonderful! Thanks for such a great book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Bane

    "Where are the bios?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Lyliac

    Res six ill put mine up later (gtgbbl)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    great book

    An awesome read. l loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    So very helpful and practical

    I have had many animal totems come into my life and with this book i have been able to understand their messages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    A great read!

    Honestly, I have borrowed this book many times from the library and I always returned it months late! It's time for my own copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful and inspiring book.

    I have few words to express my gratitude to God for creating some one like Mr Andrews, his writing is clear and very informative, also very inspiring. I had some questions about visions of animals and the meaning of it and this book has helped me a lot.
    As a resul now I'm inclined to look for some of his other books.
    Thank you Mr. Andrews and God Bless you. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2