Customer Reviews for

The Animated Man: A Life of Walt Disney

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    The Number One Walt Bio by an Independent Author

    Though Bob Thomas' official bio has been the established source of info on Walt Disney since it came out, Michael Barrier's book gives us an insight in what drove Walt in his search of excellence. It shows that Walt was a real person with real ideals and dreams, and the personal make-up to make these come true. Barrier is an animation scholar of highest degree, and one of the few who personally interviewed many of the key artists that worked for Walt. He has justly found Walt to be intensely interested in whatever he got involved in, be it animation, theme parks, trains or his Gulfstream airplane. We learn to like Walt, and I do feel closer to him after having read this book. A lot of effort has been put into marketing Neil Gabler's bio, but I must say I found Barrier's book much more readable and enjoyable. Gabler gives dry facts and clearly despises his subject 'Disney's daughter Diane was outraged by Gabler's making Walt sound like a nutcase', while Barrier is truly interested in him - and we feel this, too! My advise is to FIRST read Barrier's book for the continuity and insight he gives us, THEN, if you must, read Gabler for the dry facts - after getting seven pages of errata on Gabler's book from Barrier's website. Note that the quote by an anonymous reviewer here does not appear in Barrier's book and is clearly only given to put the book in a bad light. This book deserves the opposite: it should be read by all Disney-interested readers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Book Beauty

    I loved this book! I told all my friend that i kmew alot about walt disney and they started asking me questions about him and i ansewred all ther question! It hasbalot of information on what he liked, his child hood, his childens names, and more! I woupd recomend this book to everyone! This is one of my favorite books! (and i hate reading) It is so worth buying! I would give this book like 100 stars if i could!!!
    - Book Beauty
    ¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿•• ¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••¿¿••

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    A Different Walt Disney

    Read the book that was banned by the Disney Legal Department -- banned even though every aspect of the book is proven factual and truthful. What is it that the Disney Corporation doesn't want you to know about Walt Disney? The Animated Man -- a different Walt Disney.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Great Read of a Balanced and Fact-based Biography

    I emailed the following to Michael Barrier in May 2007: Much thanks for 'The Animated Man.' I was able to read it during my recent 2 weeks away. It was great to read: you covered the sweep of Disney's life but wrote only about that which you could reasonably substantiate--your included comments about academic writing on Disney also apply to animation practitioners [book reviewers?] who riff on Disney with any whacky idea whether provable or not. Thanks for your book's completeness, clarity, and brevity. I repeat now, in January 2008, that 'The Animated Man: A Life of Walt Disney' is the most even-handed and fact-based biography of Disney I've read, skim-read, perused, etc. Barrier presents only documentable work, achievements, and challenges in an engaging narrative that portrays Walt Disney as a creative, risk-taking, productive, resourceful, and successful man. I actually found the most compelling feature of 'The Animated Man' to be the fact that Barrier didn't try to guess/make-up what was in Walt's mind and heart--no one except Disney would know that and it unrealistic and likely dishonest to pretend anyone else could know that. If you want a biography of Disney that portrays him as 'some kind of god' or 'some kind of devil,' you won't find that in Michael Barrier's 'The Animated Man.' But if you want a great read of a balanced and fact-based biography of an American success and icon, then read 'The Animated Man: A Life of Walt Disney.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    The historian who started it all...

    Mr. Barrier's recent book on Walt Disney continues his lifelong quest of exploring the world of animation in depth behind the scenes. To me, Barrier is in an elite class of historians along with John Canemaker, Leonard Maltin and Jerry Beck. His comprehensive approach to the subject is truly second to none. Let's be honest, not a lot of us who have followed feebly in his footsteps would be here if it weren't for Funnyworld and his role in putting it before us so ably for all those years. And that includes a lot of the folks who regularly spew fire and ice on the webblogs regarding this new book of his. I don't always agree with Mike's opinions. Certainly not. That's okay with me. He absolutely hated an animation book that I co-wrote. Just hated it! And that hurt. It hurts when someone you admire doesn't like what you created with such loving earnestness, but truly, it was understandable because he did so based on his own opinions in the context of his own research, environment, experience and taste. Once I took a step back and saw it in that light, I was truly okay with that. Barrier has earned that right in my eyes. It is those very attributes (research, environment, experience and taste) that inform and enlighten the incisive writing of 'The Animated Man' to tell the story of Walt Disney as no other has done before or since. Opinions are fleeting things. They will differ from person to person, and should. I can argue what I find funny, or enjoyable, or even good in animation with Barrier night and day but what I can't and won't argue with is the scholarship and professionalism that he exhibits throughout 'The Animated Man' with such academic ease and grace. This is truly one of the most comprehensive biographies ever written regarding Walt Disney the man himself. When other biographies come and go, this is the one that will last the ages as the definitive biography for all time. And rightly so. Regardless of anyone's opinion... including mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A Great Read

    Michael Barrier's book THE ANIMATED MAN is a very enjoyable read, in fact in some ways an eye opener with Michael having drawn from material that most other biographers would not. In this book, the reader can at times view Walt through the eyes of the people he and his brother Roy did business with. The book feels more balanced than many and makes no bones about some of Walt's not so successful projects. Let's not forget that even Steven Spielberg and George Lucas have made some real 'clunky' films. But with the output of the Disney Studio that was unavoidable, yet in no way diminishes Walt Disney's genius, great success and importance in recent history. Walt Disney was human, and that is what I wanted when reading Michael Barrier's THE ANIMATED MAN!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    The last word on Disney

    I don't think of myself as an animation 'historian', but in my shear life-long love of the medium I think I've read every biography on Walt Disney published. There have been a couple of excellent ones, but many more have been disastrous. Too many have either tried to depict the man in a syrupy sweet light so that the Disney 'image' continues on or else they have colored him in the darkest light possible to try to create a stir. Too infrequently are the books written based wholly on fact and interpreted - only - from the facts. I think Michael Barrier's 'The Animated Man' may be the first to fully depict the man's life separate from the stories that have been generated by the Disney machine. A clear and accurate telling makes the book finally one you can accept as true. Barrier colors the making of the films through Disney's life using data he has culled from a lifetime of work, and his assessment of the animated and live action films is fair and honest. It's a page-turner of a book that got me energized about my medium - animation - while giving me an accuracy all too rare for the subject. This is a superior book and should be read by all those who are interested in either animation or the REAL Disney.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Want your Disney heart ripped out of your chest?

    In the beginning I was shocked and dismayed by many of the revelations. But then I decided well he was human, and he has been made into some kind of god, with no hint of the real live human who was Walt Disney. So I accepted these less than pleasant revelations as probably a pretty accurate reflection of the real man. But, time and time again when there was a chance to portray a situation with even the slightest bit of what must have been Walt's perspective the author uses someone else's perspective instead. As a result it basically trashes Walt Disney on every aspect of his life from childhood to his death. While all of the historical facts seem to be accurate to a tee, it is the perspective that troubles me. Nowhere is there a representation of what was in Walt's mind, and heart. The book portrays him as heartless, and mean spirited. I know he was not exactly the Walt I always pictured, but I also know that in many of the situations mentioned in the book which were twisted to reflect badly on him, I actually would have felt or done the same thing he did. So I started to feel attacked myself. This authors tone was such, that I am left with the feeling that his only motivation for writing this biography was to destroy everything that we love about the Disney company and Walt himself. The author never even said one kind word about any Disney movie 'I mean he trashed every animated, live action, television show, even theme park rides and attractions in the process of trashing Walt' His motivation clearly was to make it look as though everything Walt touched was worse for his attention. That is a load of crap, and we all know it. The author actually used those words 'everything Walt touched was worse for the attention he gave it.' When I read that I was mad as a wet hen, it is a bold-faced lie that nothing Walt ever did was better off because of his attenion. The facts are great, but I can no longer accept this authors portrayal of Walt's character. Not a good book, No Disney fan should ever read this book unless they can stand to be stabbed in the heart. Facts are true, portrayals are always slanted to make him look evil. Ugly portrayal. And even if it were completely true, what makes the author think people want Walt Disney to be trashed. He is an American Icon.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Barrier Rises to the Challenge

    Animation Historian Michael Barrier's new book ¿The Animated Man: A life of Walt Disney¿ comes as close as any to capturing the essence of the enigmatic showman. He weaves solid storytelling 'also Walt¿s acknowledged genius' with factual research that strips off the corporate veneer to reveal a real human with faults, talents, guile, and a relentless thirst for innovation. Copiously annotated, Barrier¿s book mines many resources to construct an intelligent portrait of a man many know of but few really knew. As a fellow Disney historian, I highly recommend it. --Michael Broggie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1