Customer Reviews for

The Apollo Academy

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    The Apollo Academy is a fast-paced NA that's both sexy and smart

    The Apollo Academy is a fast-paced NA that's both sexy and smart. I couldn't stop reading the story of Aurora Titon, heiress to a "tech candy" corporation and pilot-in-training.
    Set in a not-so-distant future where we have to travel to space to harvest natural resources because Earth is dead, Aurora Titon wants nothing more than to leave the ground behind and be a pilot. She trains with the best of the best, The Apollo Academy, where the day to day of (thrilling) classes is intermixed with romance and mystery.
    I was in love with the story from page one.
    First, the geek in me loved all the pilot/astronaut references. And the nerd in me LOVED LOVED LOVED the world-building. Tech candy that shows you beauty so you can escape the ugly in front of you...sneakers that flash....self-driving hover cars! What Chase did so brilliantly is create a world that feels like it's just a week away from where we are now (Google cars, anyone?) but that also feels like a world all its own. She wove the details of Aurora's world into the story so seamlessly that it's easy to forget you've never actually seen blinking luggage tags and the like.
    The romantic in me adored the hot-then-cold running relationship between Aurora and Zane, who, like Aurora, wants nothing more than to leave his old life behind - but for much different reasons. Throw in a tough, alpha-male type flight instructor who seems determined to make Aurora's training hell on earth, and oh, goodness, the steaminess! I especially appreciated that Aurora was not a "damsel" type. She's a kick butt girl who trains hard and works hard - in cute shoes. Chase's portrayal of a young woman on her own for the first time felt very real. Aurora is both girly and adult, strong and soft.
    The Agatha Christie in me loved the mystery. Who's behind the attacks, and WHY? I loved figuring this out alongside Aurora and her friends.
    All in all, a stellar first book in what's sure to be an exceptional series. Book one ties up the ends it needs to so the reader is satisfied, but leaves enough of the plots open for the next book. I can't wait to find out what happens next.
    Don't miss this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    This book is incredible! It features a heroine who's determined

    This book is incredible! It features a heroine who's determined to reach the stars, a hero with secrets, a sexy flight instructor, and danger at every turn. This is one NA Sci-Fi that you should definitely check out!
    The world building in this book is outstanding. From the first page, I was fully immersed in the futuristic world that Chase created. The technology, the society itself, I loved it all! I felt Aurora's determination to break out from her wealthy father's shadow and achieve her dreams on her own. I rooted for Zane as he struggled to fit in at The Academy and uncover the secrets about is own past. And the chemistry between the two of them is off the charts!
    The Apollo Academy is a must read for lovers of science fiction, New Adult, or just plain romance. I zipped through this book in no time and I sincerely hope the sequel will be available soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    THE APOLLO ACADEMY by Kimberly P. Chase is a fast pace NA ScFi n

    THE APOLLO ACADEMY by Kimberly P. Chase is a fast pace NA ScFi novel with a fresh concept, a slew of characters worth falling for, and a futuristic world easy to get lost in.Told in alternating points of view readers get to live through a cast of incredibly distinct and three-dimensional characters, each of which is swoon-worthy.
    The main character Aurora Titon is a badass female pilot with a good heart and plenty of ambition. She goes after her dreams with no excuses and doesn't even let attempts on her life get in her way. She's the kind of girl I'd want to be friends with and a character that is easy to look up to.
    Secondary characters Zane and Sky are both beyond sexy and yet completely different. Each has a closet full of problems and an eye for Aurora and Chase intertwines the three's stories effortlessly into the plot, creating an intriguing keep-you-guessing until the end story.
    Chase's talent for world building is evident within the first pages of the novel. She submerges you into a futuristic setting that is flush with fascinating (and at times frightening) technology, cutting edge fashion, and surroundings so visual in description they jump off the page. I was immediately sucked into Aurora's world and found myself flipping through the pages furiously to find out what happens next.
    This is a great read for anyone who loves strong female characters, action packed and high stakes scenes, super-hot men in flight suits, and a story with discovery and survival for more than one character. Did I mention all the sexy pilots? I call this a must read and I'm anxiously awaiting the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Good series kick-off

    I enjoyed this story quite a bit and I look forward to reading more in this series. The author did a pretty good job of making both of the love interests appealing which is always a plus when there's a triangle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I am not a huge SciFi reader, but I took a chance on this novel

    I am not a huge SciFi reader, but I took a chance on this novel because the cover and trailer were so well done. And let me tell you, so is the writing, world-building, romance, and character development. I totally agree with the blurb, I am obsessed with this book! Seriously can't wait for the next installment. Maybe I am a sci-fi geek after all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I am still fairly new to science fiction books and have had my f

    I am still fairly new to science fiction books and have had my fair share of experiencing ones I didn’t enjoy, but with The Apollo Academy, that wasn’t the case. I enjoyed the overall story line of the book and the main character, Aurora Titon. I thought it was well written and it certainly kept my interest the entire time I was reading. And Zane, man! He is such a mystery and there is so much about him that is unknown, literally. But then there is Sky, who is a bad boy and someone who has a bit of an attitude. You can’t help but be drawn to him though. I found myself torn between Zane and Sky and I am sure other readers will as well. 
    The Apollo Academy was an intriguing read and one that I found to be relatable on some levels and also expand my thinking in others. I will certainly be ready to read the second book when it comes out because that ending…..well, you’ll just have to read to find out.  
    You’ll find yourself enjoying every minute of this book and appreciating the visual imagery that is both realistic and complex in it’s own way. 
    On major thing that really stuck out to me was the main character, Aurora’s, passion for flying. I just love when a character is passionate about something and the reader is able to feel it and experience that passion. It just makes a book that much more enjoyable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    Wow!  What an incredible ride!  I adore The Apollo Academy!!!  F

    Wow!  What an incredible ride!  I adore The Apollo Academy!!!  First, there's an inventive setting.  This future world is both complex and realistic.  I love the creativity that goes into this type of setting; Chase mixes in the right amount of futuristic gadgets without slowing down the story line while really bringing this world to life.  

    Within this world, Chase places completely fabulous characters.  Aurora's a very likable character that readers will connect with immediately.  There's a nice, subtle character growth that happens within her as the story unfolds.  I very much like both Zane and Sky; usually I'm quickly Team Bad Boy, but it's really quite hard to choose in this case.  Great chemistry abounds throughout this book!  My only complaint about the book, however, is that said chemistry goes from first kiss to hot 'n' heavy make-out session way too quick. 

    On top of all this gooey goodness, a great mystery is woven into this multidimensional story which keeps you guessing to nearly the end.  And with the set up for future books leaving me drooling, all that is left to say is: write faster, Kimberly Chase, please, please, please, with sugar on top, please!!!  

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  See more of my reviews on my blogspot blog, Known to Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let me just start off by saying that I absolutely, completely LO

    Let me just start off by saying that I absolutely, completely LOVED this book. I don't exactly remember how I got involved in this book tour, but I'm one of those bloggers who actually reads and looks at every offer I get. I take chances on indie books and books from non-huge publishers and I am SO glad I took a chance on The Apollo Academy. The Apollo Academy is everything a new adult book should be. It's thrilling, filled with drama, and completely sci-fi-tastic! Oh, and don't forget the romance... there's plenty of that too.




    Aurora Titon is famous. She's Collin Titon's daughter, which means she's the hieress to the famous Titon Technologies. Everyone knows her face, but Aurora could care less. She doesn't want the attention or the fame or the company. All she wants to do fly and get into the Apollo Academy. Aurora gets her dream come true and her best friend Kaylana, plus two sexy guys, Zane and Sky are by her side every step of the way. Quickly after she arrives, the academy starts to deal with issues that Aurora could have never imagined. Everyone has secrets and unfortunately Aurora is in the middle of it all and she'll have to figure it out fast or it could mean her life.




    Let me first start off by saying that this book switches view points which I absolutely love in a book. At first it starts out with just Aurora and Zane, but then Kimberly Chase throws in Sky's POV as well and I was like heck yeah! The writing was very well done, and I loved every twist and turn. I really liked Aurora as a main character as well. She definitely grows throughout the book into a stronger person and I love seeing that. I also loved how Kimberly P. Chase mixed new adult in with romance, drama, and a good sci-fi. Looking at all the futuristic technology and flying aspect was definitely awesome.




    So lets get to the part everyone wants to hear about... the fellas. You know a book is always that good when you can't pick one boy over the other. Lets start off with Zane. Zane is nineteen and an unknown, which means technically he doesn't have an identity and unknowns normally are not good people. Zane is a tech-wiz though. He's super smart and with his ink black hair and gray eyes... super sexy as well. Zane fights hard to get into the academy to finally fight for a life he deserves. I loved this boy as soon as I met him! Than, on the other side is Sky. Sky is the academy's twenty-two year old star pilot and he's been selected to help train the new cadets. At first Sky comes off as the cocky jerk off, and he definitely has it out for Aurora. Sky has the build, blonde hair blue eyes all-american thing going on for him. I admit first, I was like okay this guy is a jerk but I knew there had to be a reason and as the book went on, I ended up falling for him too. In the beginning of The Apollo Academy, I was all team Zane but then as I got farther in I started to lean towards Sky and then back at the end I just couldn't choose again. As of right now, I absolutely ADORE both boys. I personally think Aurora belong with Zane, but for me I'm currently leaning towards Team Sky. Both boys sacrifice and do a lot for Aurora and you cannot help but love them both.




    It's funny, because you really can't judge a book by it's publisher, cover, or even synopsis because I was so absolutely impressed with The Apollo Academy. I read the synopsis to this book and it interested me, but I never thought that I would get so captivated and caught up in it as I did... then again, I am definitely a sic-fi, new adult type of girl. But, I absolutely loved this book. It's definitely made it's way onto my favorites lists and I cannot wait for book two which is hopefully releasing early next year. If you think this book sounds interesting at all, I say definitely take a chance on it because I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Meet Aurora Titan: heiress to mega-corporation Titan industries

    Meet Aurora Titan: heiress to mega-corporation Titan industries and a favorite target of the paparazzi. But no worries, Aurora isn’t a Paris Hilton. This girl is smart, a bit nerdy (love that), independent, and beautiful. She is so much more than her namesake. In fact, she works harder than anyone else to prove her name isn’t what got her into the Apollo Academy in the first place. Did I mention she is also the first female cadet pilot? I so want to be Aurora.




    Meet Zane: He’s hot, sexy, a total tech-geek and an unknown. What’s an unknown you ask? Well in the future, it’s someone with no record. They basically don’t exist. For the complete opposite reason than Aurora, Zane also had to work ten times harder than anyone to gain acceptance in to the Apollo Academy. Graduation means he will finally “exist” again.




    There is a great list of supporting characters including sexy instructor Sky, hilarious BFF to Aurora—Kaylana, shotgun to Zane—Akemi, and even the aggravating mean-girl—Hailen.  It’s like the grown-up version of Space Camp (awesome 80s movie…I think that’s the right decade).




    The book opens with Aurora and Kaylana enjoying a last night out before the Academy at a hot night club. Aurora lets loose a bit and finds herself in the arms of a sexy guy. She’s ready to lock lips with him, but he disappears before she gets the chance. Imagine her surprise when the next time she sees him is at orientation. Awkward, but really cute.




    The two have great chemistry. Zane tries to stay away, after all he’s an unknown and she’s an heiress, but he’s won over by Aurora. So when Aurora keeps finding herself in live-threatening situations, Zane is determined to get to the truth.  The suspect list is long, from corporate rivals to future “environmentalists,” and each one has a strong motive. It will take a lot of trust and some cool technology to get to the truth.




    There are so many twists in the story and each character plays a role that you don’t expect. I don’t want to give away spoilers, but discovering Zane’s personal mystery and how it ties into everything was surprising. I want to know more about him, Sky, and all of the characters. 




    I’ve been dying for a good college-age series and this is it. There’s romance, hunky guys (still not sure if I’m TeamZane or TeamSky), cool technology, and hello? Astronauts! The Apollo Academy is a great introduction for what I know will be an exciting and slightly nerdy series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I read the sample and was like 'no don't end'. Then I clicked bu

    I read the sample and was like 'no don't end'. Then I clicked buy now and now 'I'm like 'YAY!!!!!!!!!'
    From-Tony Valencia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1