Customer Reviews for

The Apple Orchard (Bella Vista Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    5 STARS The Apple Orchard is a wonderful story. I really liked

    5 STARS

    The Apple Orchard is a wonderful story. I really liked the characters. It draws you into Tess's life as she discovers another world she doesn't really understand, family.

    Tess is a stressed out single women living in San francisco. She is a treasurer hunter. She finds people missing treasures and sells them with her firm's auction house. We meet her returning a treasure to a old lady Annelise that the Germans stole during the occupation of Denmark. Annelise did not want to sell her treasure because she last saw her mother wearing it as the German's took her away. But as Tess was getting the sugar she found some other treasures that Annelise had bought at garage sales over the years.

    A banker Dominic Rossi came to her office and told her he was her grandfather's executor. Her grandfather Magnus Johansen is in the hospital in a coma. He planned to leave her half of his estate an apple orchard when he died. The other half is left to her sister.
    Tess did not know she had a half sister or a grandfather. The news made her have an attack.

    Tess found she had a panic disorder and she needed to change her lifestyle. Dominic flies her to meet her sister at the apple orchard.

    Tess discovers about her family's past. Their are surprises that her sister Isabel did not know either. They discover the past their grandfather had during Denmark's occupation. The story unfolds little by little told in flashback to that time.

    I wanted to find out all the answers as much as Tess did. Also for Tess and Isabel to work things out for them both. I hope later Isabel gets her own story.

    Their is lot of talk of food in the book and the recipes for the dishes they talk about. The recipes are all over the book. I think I like it better when the recipes all are in one location. It kind of broke the story up for me personally. Plus it makes me hungry.

    Tess is always in a hurry and slows down a little in the orchard.
    Tess and Dominic like each other right away. Dominic has two adorable kids and a ex-wife that wants to get back together with him.
    There are a few other things that keep them apart to work through.

    I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
    04/30/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin Mira 400 pages SBN9780778314936

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    ANOTHER SUSAN WIGGS CLASSIC

    A completely enchanting interwoven novel which takes you immediately into the lives of two women who had no idea that they were sisters until the welfare of their grandfather brings them together for the first time when his entire life hangs precariously on more than just whether or not he'll emerge from the coma he's now in; because, of a misstep on a ladder! Another must read by Susan!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Excellent, Fanstatic

    Just loved this book. Both historical and modern, with touches of mystery and of course love. Every aspect of this book kept me wanting to read more and more, but was so sorry to see it end.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Ever so gripping!

    One of the rare and magical books that somehow bring 3:19 am around way too quick! Really could not stop reading more and had to find out more! I love trying to figure out how the characters are woven together. I enjoy figuring some of it out and enjoy more, the surprises. Thank you for a great feel good book! Tears, smiles and laughs. Do wish though, that it was part of a series. I loved the characters!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    The Apple Orchard

    This is the absolute Best book I have read in a long long time. Expertly written, historically accurate, and it flows perfectly. You know from the start that the book is also a puzzle. All of the pieces expertly arranged to come together at precisley the right moment. Perfect book club selection!!!!! I strongly urge you too read this again again and again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    excellent book

    I had a hard time putting this book down. I love Susan Wiggs and she has never disappointed me in any of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Great book!

    This is the first book I've read in awhile that I didn't want to put down. It's well written and easily pulls you into the story. I loved the mix of history and present day. I think it would also be a good plot for a movie. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Story Draws You In

    Tess Delaney is good at finding and documenting lost treasurers for people. She enjoys finding the history behind objects probably because she has very little history of her own. Narrator Christina Traister does an excellent job giving distinct voices to each of the characters. She vocalizes the emotions of the characters making the listener feel their pain and joys. Tess’ world is turned upside down when Dominic Rossi appears at her office. He informs her she has a grandfather she never knew about and he’s in a coma. If he dies, she’s set to inherit half of Bella Vista, his 100-acre estate in the Sonoma town of Archangel. The other half goes to a half sister, Isabel Johansen, she never knew exited either. Following an anxiety attack that lands her in the hospital, Tess agrees to visit her grandfather’s apple orchard with Dominic. Meeting Isabel and her grandfather begins to change her life. Then the sisters learned their grandfather is about to lose the orchard and everything that goes with. When they begin to search for a way to save the orchard, they learn things about their family and themselves that they never knew. In addition, feelings between Tess and Dominic begin to develop and Tess contemplates a life she never imagined having. Author Susan Wiggs has crafted a delightful tale of hope and family. She explores the emotions of finding family and a history one never knew existed. In addition, she does a wonderful job touching on the effects those living through the Nazi invasion of Denmark endured. The characters are well-developed, realistic and very likeable. THE APPLE ORCHARD moves at a steady pace. The listener/reader is drawn in and doesn’t want to leave Archangel when the story ends. Thankfully listeners/readers will be able to return as this is the first installment in a mesmerizing new series by Wiggs. FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    The awesome guy

    Its good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Susan has out done herself with this book. You don`t want to put

    Susan has out done herself with this book. You don`t want to put it down, it is so good. Such an emotional and loving story. I hope she makes this in a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Hi my name us leah

    Hey my name is leah im 11 years old and i need a nook friend if your interested post your name and your eml adress on THIS BOOK !!!!! Thanx hope to talk to ou soon

    Your soon to be friend
    Leah beard

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    WaterFlame

    Er... i dunno.

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    I am now waiting for a third book in this series. Is soooo good.

    I am now waiting for a third book in this series. Is soooo good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Great Read

    Very good book. Has a few surprises here and there, a little mystery too. The story is told very well and you may learn a thing or two as it is historical also. As a bonus there are recipes included. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and can hardly wait to read the second book, "The Beekeeper's Ball."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Loved it

    Kept the mystery going in yhe right way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Ally

    Kisses him. Gtg. Moms callin me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Tucker

    "I don't know." T-T He scrubbed his mouth with a bar of soap.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Lauran

    Go to the next res

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Lauren

    U here?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Cat

    Looks around

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5