Customer Reviews for

The Archived (Archived Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

  I¿ll be honest, The Archived is a straight-up good book. Excit

  I’ll be honest, The Archived is a straight-up good book. Exciting, unpredictable, original. Sure its got its issues
and I didn’t fail to notice them, but , inevitably, I would find myself so engrossed 10 pages later that I’d
completely forgotten what it was I had ta...
  I’ll be honest, The Archived is a straight-up good book. Exciting, unpredictable, original. Sure its got its issues
and I didn’t fail to notice them, but , inevitably, I would find myself so engrossed 10 pages later that I’d
completely forgotten what it was I had taken issue with. The story and characters are so wonderful that I really
just can’t be bothered to care about the small technical difficulties.

The characters are a refreshing break from some of the current trends. Mackenzie is an empowered and
important person from the moment we meet her. She’s smart and kind of a badass, but she’s a real teenager
too. She’d rather  track down a History than read classic literature, and she’s conflicted and sometimes
immature. She is the kind of character that can be hard to relate to – emotionally reluctant, comfortably
solitary – but her grief opens the door for you to care for her powerfully. Wesley, our leading boy, is swoon
worthy but (despite his spiked hair and guyliner) really a good guy. I’m all for the dangerous, forbidden rebel,
but Wes is warm and brave and sweet and okay so maybe I’m a little partial to him, shut up.

The concept of the book is, in itself, fascinating, and the mystery and action throughout are engrossing (I
startled my cat several times from gasping/exclaiming out loud). Where Victoria Schwab really knocks it out
of the park, though, is with the honest, down-to-earth, human-ness of it all.  Underneath the rogue dead
people and magically empowered keys is a powerful, gut wrenching portrait of grief. Not only is Mackenzie’s
heartbreak over her brother’s death breathtakingly real, but the entire premise lays out a question that most
of us (thankfully) would never have to answer. How far would we go to get back someone we loved? How
many rules would we break? How many people would we betray? Would it be right, and would we care if it
wasn’t?

Also, the Librarians are pretty badass.

posted by AmoNicole on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Archived wasn¿t something that I was sure I would enjoy. It

The Archived wasn’t something that I was sure I would enjoy. It sounded confusing and very involved. However, because so many other bloggers had been raving about it, I decided to give it a shot. It wasn’t for me. Definitely not. The Archived had everything that usually...
The Archived wasn’t something that I was sure I would enjoy. It sounded confusing and very involved. However, because so many other bloggers had been raving about it, I decided to give it a shot. It wasn’t for me. Definitely not. The Archived had everything that usually makes for a great book: interesting characters, romance, unique story line. While it sounded promising, I’m not convinced that it delivered.




The plot was the biggest problem for me. What’s hard about this is that the plot is both the best and worst thing about this book. What I liked about it was that it was unique. It’s a brand new concept, unlike anything that I’ve read before. I was excited about this until I began reading The Archived, I was so confused. I wasn’t sure that the world building was working for me, but I figured I would understand at some point. I didn’t. I was confused the whole time. This is where the plot turns sour for me. There was just too much to it and the way that it was explained was too brief for me to grasp the full concept. I understood bits and pieces of the archives, the narrows, the outers, and all that stuff, but I didn’t really know how the worked. I wonder now if Mackenzie knew how it all worked herself? I’m not sure. I think there were parts that she was unsure about, so I felt a bit better about that.




Not only did the world-building not really work for me, but the characters weren’t clicking. I liked Mackenzie enough and I liked Wes. I was expecting some major romance there, but nothing big happened, which was kind of disappointing. It was even more disappointing when Mackenzie decided to start kissing the weirdest choice of love interest. I didn’t get that. WHY? It was just strange to me and it felt a bit forced, like it seemed as if it was the right choice for the book, but it really wasn’t. I’m not sure how to explain that.




There seemed to be a lot happening in The Archived, but really nothing much happened. It was pretty much the same things repeating themselves over and over. Mackenzie kept catching Histories, or whatever they were, and new ones popped up on her list so she did the same thing over again. I was so bored reading this. I wanted something, anything to happen. I just wasn’t satisfied with the story and where it went. There’s not much else I have to say, so I’ll keep it short. I got bored and confused. That was basically my experience with this book. While it sounded really interesting, it didn’t deliver.

posted by Nancy_TumblingBooks on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Victoria Schwab is a literary artist. By the end of the first ch

    Victoria Schwab is a literary artist. By the end of the first chapter of The Archived I knew, with absolute certainty, that it would be one of my absolute favorite books, one that I will recommend to everyone I know until I’ve forced them all to read it. This is a book that tackles so many painful issues: love, loss and the destruction grief can wreak on a person and relationships. It’s got a lot of wonderful features to recommend it: beautiful writing, wonderfully real characters, murder, mystery, some action and a tiny bit of romance, but it’s the painful choices and questions that Mac is faced with, specifically how far would you go and what would you risk to bring back someone you thought you’d lost forever?

    The premise of the novel is unlike anything I’ve read before, and it was one that instantly grabbed my attention. Parallel to our world are the Archives, where each life, called Histories, are kept. Between the Archives and our world is a hallway that functions as a type of limbo and sometimes the Histories escape out of the Archives into that limbo world, particularly the older and violent ones.  Our protagonist, Mackenzie Bishop, is a Keeper, named by her grandfather at the unheard of age of twelve. The Keepers have one job-return escaped Histories from back to the Archives before they escape into our world. When Mac’s family moves into an old hotel, The Coronado, that has been refashioned into apartments, her role as Keeper becomes a full time job, one that is dangerous and that she must keep secret from everyone in her life.

    I could endlessly wax poetic about Victoria’s writing. Her prose is simply beautiful. Vivid, lush, haunting, this is a writer who knows how to tell a story. Every page is drenched in emotion, bringing me to tears and laughter as Mac comes to terms with the loss of her brother and her changed family dynamic. One thing I really appreciated was the way the author wrote in flashbacks of Mac’s training with her grandfather, Da, a character I came to love as we get to know him through her memories. Oftentimes jumping between past and present is distracting for readers, especially me, but Victoria handled it seamlessly.

    The worlds of the Archive and the Coronado and the characters that inhabit them are brilliantly developed.  Mac herself is a wonderful narrator, one of my new favorites. She’s incredibly authentic and it was easy for me to fall into her head and feel as if I was taking this journey with her. Like any teenager whose faced with so many hard choices, she makes mistakes, but they are understandable ones, and easily forgivable.  I know that  if I had been in Mac’s situation and it had been one of my brothers, I would have torn the world apart to find a way to have them back. I would have grasped onto any hope and told any lie. Part of why I admire her so much is the fact that despite the mistakes she does make, her choices are still much better than the ones I would have made.

    Mac’s sort-of love interest, Wesley Ayers is utterly delicious. My first love was a boy in guy-liner and black nail polish and I’ve always been attracted to the look so its no wonder I fell for him at first sighting. His charm, bravery, and ability to understand Mac and forgive what others might not find forgivable only cemented my love for him. I immensely enjoyed the development of their friendship. There isn’t much in the way of actual romance between them, which I loved, because I found the flirting and the build-up of their friendship to be so much more enjoyable and realistic then if they had immediately fallen into some ~forbidden romance. I can’t wait to see how their relationship develops from here. Really, all I want in life is more Wesley.

    Mac’s world is lovely and haunting and I can’t wait to dive into more of Victoria’s beautifully lyrical writing when the sequel hits shelves next year. In the meantime I’ll just have to satisfy myself with her adult novel, Vicious which comes out this September!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

      I¿ll be honest, The Archived is a straight-up good book. Excit

      I’ll be honest, The Archived is a straight-up good book. Exciting, unpredictable, original. Sure its got its issues
    and I didn’t fail to notice them, but , inevitably, I would find myself so engrossed 10 pages later that I’d
    completely forgotten what it was I had taken issue with. The story and characters are so wonderful that I really
    just can’t be bothered to care about the small technical difficulties.

    The characters are a refreshing break from some of the current trends. Mackenzie is an empowered and
    important person from the moment we meet her. She’s smart and kind of a badass, but she’s a real teenager
    too. She’d rather  track down a History than read classic literature, and she’s conflicted and sometimes
    immature. She is the kind of character that can be hard to relate to – emotionally reluctant, comfortably
    solitary – but her grief opens the door for you to care for her powerfully. Wesley, our leading boy, is swoon
    worthy but (despite his spiked hair and guyliner) really a good guy. I’m all for the dangerous, forbidden rebel,
    but Wes is warm and brave and sweet and okay so maybe I’m a little partial to him, shut up.

    The concept of the book is, in itself, fascinating, and the mystery and action throughout are engrossing (I
    startled my cat several times from gasping/exclaiming out loud). Where Victoria Schwab really knocks it out
    of the park, though, is with the honest, down-to-earth, human-ness of it all.  Underneath the rogue dead
    people and magically empowered keys is a powerful, gut wrenching portrait of grief. Not only is Mackenzie’s
    heartbreak over her brother’s death breathtakingly real, but the entire premise lays out a question that most
    of us (thankfully) would never have to answer. How far would we go to get back someone we loved? How
    many rules would we break? How many people would we betray? Would it be right, and would we care if it
    wasn’t?

    Also, the Librarians are pretty badass.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Archived by Victoria Schwab was everything I hoped it would

    The Archived by Victoria Schwab was everything I hoped it would be and more.  For book lovers everywhere, I’m sure they would all appreciate the fact that dead and their histories is storied in place called The Archive and are being watched over by Librarians.  That, in itself, is a pretty epic idea.

    For main protagonist, Mackenzie, the life of being a Keeper is a role that was bestowed upon her by her dying grandfather, Da.  Where the ability to become a Keeper is not allowed until the age of 12, Mackenzie finds herself holding that position even earlier, thanks to the training provided by Da, and with the backing of Roland, a Librarian in the Archive, who believes that Mackenzie is ready.

    After the loss of her younger brother Ben, Mackenzie and her parents leave their roots and move into The Coronado, where, once upon a time, it was a hotel, but has now been renovated into apartments.  It is here that Mackenzie’s parents hope to bury the pain and memories of such a terrible loss, and start over again.

    But in a place full of pasts and histories, The Coronado keeps Mackenzie’s duties as a Keeper on her toes.  Change also comes to Mackenzie in the form of an eyeliner wearing boy named Wesely.  But it seems, Wesley is not all that he seems to be.  Wesley seems to know a lot about the hidden secrets that Mackenzie has, and Mackenzie isn’t sure if it’s a blessing to have someone she can speak to, or if it’s another obstacle in her life where she must keep more secrets.

    And secrets seems to be the theme of The Coronado.  As stated before, an old place holds lots of history and past, and when Mackenzie stumbles upon a string of mysterious deaths, who can Mackenzie really trust to find the truth and answers she needs.  Not only does she fill her time with investigating these murders, there is also an influx in Histories in The Narrows.  Histories being the dead who have awakened from The Archive and are lost and confused and are trying to find a way to The Outer, the place where the living live, and the dead used to call home.

    And to complicate things even further, Mackenzie runs into an anomaly within The Narrows…a History that does not appear on her paper that needs to be returned, a History that is out and about under the radar of The Archive.  Owen…who seems to have some of the answers that Mackenzie has been looking for regarding the murders, Owen…who is mystery unto himself, Owen…who makes the all the noise in Mackenzie head…quiet.

    But still grieving the loss of her brother, some sort of breech that is happening within The Archive itself, and with more Histories that need to be returned and who are becoming more violent, how will Mackenzie handle all this chaos without slipping and finding herself dead and archived.

    The Archived by Victoria Schwab is a masterpiece.  This story had me from the very beginning and held my attention right to the very end.  I loved how the story was told in a back and forth manner.  Where we are told the story in the present, but are allowed glimpses into the past whether it be through Mackenzie’s skills as a Keeper, or by the memories of Mackenzie’s time with Da as she is slowly being trained to become what she is today…a Keeper.

    The world building found in this book is phenomenal.  You can’t help but be caught up in this world of Librarians, Keepers, Crew, and Histories.  Every little piece of information provided in the book leads way to another exciting chapter in the book.  You’re kept guessing until the very end as to the outcome of the mysterious deaths in The Coronado.  And when you think you have it all figured out, Schwab throws in another twist that will have you reeling.

    The pacing is quick and easy to follow and I quickly found myself devouring every word, not wanting to leave this world and the characters found within.  The idea of The Archived is so unique that that in itself will draw readers in.  Once you get a taste of the story within the first few chapters, you will quickly find that The Archived is a story that you will not soon forget.

    Fans of mystery reads and are in the mood for something different but breathtaking will fall in love with The Archived by Victoria Schwab.  Believe me when I tell you that you will NOT have read anything like this, and you will be so glad that you were able to experience this epic read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    In a year I read, on average, 30-60 books in the Young Adult/Fan

    In a year I read, on average, 30-60 books in the Young Adult/Fantasy genre. While I love the beautifully written tried and true plots out there (there's nothing wrong with re-doing something that works!) I'm always on the look out for something original but with that "Ahhh, I'm home" feeling you get when re-reading a favorite childhood book. These are the books that really stick with me and are the ones I keep on my shelves for years to come. These are the books I pawn off to family and friends with the stipulation: "If you break the spine I will hunt you down."

    After reading a few chapters of "The Archived" by Victoria Schwab I knew that I had stumbled onto something great. This had nothing to do with my New York Editor Friend's raving review, or the fact that this same friend lived with Ms. Schwab for some time, but had everything to do with the novel itself. It was breathtaking, it was heartbreaking, it was NEW. Within the first few pages I was crying over the loss Mackenzie and her family experienced. I felt for M's mother who tried too hard to make life normal for her daughter (who was anything BUT normal). I wanted to leap into the pages and hold Mackenzie close and tell her that it was going to be okay.

    Victoria Schwab's world, the Outer, the Narrows, the Archive - I could see it all. I understood it without much effort. There was a blissful moment where I effortlessly suspended disbelief and dove into the Archive myself. I was there every time she sat by the shelves of the Histories and wished, hoped, dreamed that somehow her life could have taken a different turn. I understood her choices, no matter how misguided, because they were REAL. There was even a quote within the novel itself that summed up everything about the archives - about how anyone who had another chance to see a loved one again would break down the walls of the world to get that chance. It made SENSE. Everything. She was real, the world was real, and I believed in it. I still do believe in it.

    That is what makes "The Archived" stand out among the plethora of YA novels on the shelves. Reality mixed perfectly with fantasy and, when I go to sleep at night, I can imagine that the Narrows and the Archives actually exist and, if only my grandfather had chosen me, I might have been a Keeper myself.

    Brava, Victoria Schwab. Brava!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    This was a great book to read. The Archived was a great concept

    This was a great book to read. The Archived was a great concept. I look forward to reading her works in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Archived is a spectacular read that left me dazzled and crav

    The Archived is a spectacular read that left me dazzled and craving more! Victoria Schwab has created an intricate story with impressive world-building and unforgettable characters. There's also a delightful supply of mystery, darkness, detective work, fighting, and a little bit of romance to top it off. Once you start reading, it's incredibly hard to stop!

    Mackenzie, A.K.A. Mac, is the female protagonist and on the outside she appears to be a normal 16-year-old girl, but she's actually very special. Mac has some very special gifts and a lot of responsibility for someone her age. She's a Keeper: someone whose job is to return escaped Histories--which are records of the dead--back to the Archive. The Archive is a vast library of the dead. It sounds slightly confusing, but once you start reading it all comes together rather brilliantly!

    There's so much going on this book, and I really like how easy it was to connect with Mac. She is dealing with a lot of emotional turmoil at times, and on top of that she's trying to do her job as a Keeper as efficiently as she can, but Histories keep popping up more frequently ever since she moved into a new apartment with her parents. Their new residence was one of my favorite things about this book because they are living in what used to be a hotel that has a very colorful and interesting past. Moving into this place definitely helped provide allure and mystery to the story.

    One of the things that made me love this book, aside from the amazingly unique and awesome storyline, is the characters! I absolutely adore two of the male characters in Mac's life: Roland and Wesley. Both of these characters captured my heart and they are very important to Mac. Roland is a Librarian, and he's pretty darn cool! Wesley is just plain adorable and charming, and I'm completely rooting for him and Mac as an item. I also really love the fact that Wesley isn't your typical book boyfriend hottie: his nails are painted black and he wears eyeliner, but it totally works for him!

    Read this book immediately if you are looking for a story that will blow your mind and keep your attention until the very end. Seriously, once you read this book you will be mad at yourself for not digging into it sooner, because that is exactly how I felt after I read it--it's quite the treasure! I'm sure the next book in this series, The Unbound, will be just as amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Adored this book! Not only is the plot/story unique, but the p

    Adored this book!

    Not only is the plot/story unique, but the pace is perfect, keeping you moving along, needing to know what happens, all while falling for the characters more with each and every page turned.

    Well written, intriguing, and a favorite. Can not wait to continue this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really, truly loved this book.  I found it on my bookshelf yes

    I really, truly loved this book.  I found it on my bookshelf yesterday and remembered that it was being released this month.  I knew that the book had to be great if only because the author shares my love of chocolate pudding.  So I sat down to read it, using it as a break from studying.  Well then it started to overwhelm the study time until I finally gave in and stopped pretending to study.  Midnight comes around, and I reached the last page.  I am eternally grateful to Ms. Schwab for not leaving me with some awful cliffhanger.  My brain wouldn't have been able to handle it after that reading experience.  I was already on edge.  (In the best possible way mind you.)

    Reading this book brought back the wonderful feelings that Starters had given me months before.  I was relishing in every word and page, turning faster and faster until I had to will myself to slow down.  The two worlds in which Mackenzie lives would have quickly overwhelmed me.  Luckily for her, she has some special talents and the wisdom of her grandfather residing within her.  The fact that she is pretty tang tough is also a pretty big plus.  Mackenzie is such a relatable character with her fierce loyalty and her "take-no-crap" attitude with a touch of empathy that creates such a well-rounded and well-loved character.  

    In all honesty, I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this book.  The plot was different and unique and full of just enough winding turns to keep me reading *and to yell at anyone who interrupted me* without completely overwhelming me.  The character development was incredibly strong from Mackenzie and the people in the world around her to the people residing in the Archives.  The Librarian Roland was probably my favorite character.  He had the whole smart guy thing going, complete with a pair of red Chucks.  Can you ask for more?  The world that Ms. Schwab created makes for a very fun and edge of your seat reading experience.  And it has just the right amount of creepy.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While the Archived did come out way back in January. I know th

    While the Archived did come out way back in January. I know that the sequel is coming out soon so I decided to give it a try. After all, I was thoroughly in love with Victoria Schwab’s last book Vicious. So I figured, why not.

    Why not, indeed. The Archived is an incredible book. It does Young Adult in a way that I have almost never seen before. It skirts the tropes and creates instead something better from them. There are lots of spoilers if I start naming off the things I loved about what the book did, in spite of being a YA title, so you’ll just have to read the book for yourself. What I can say, is that the author has a created one of the strongest, most believable, 1st person point of views I perhaps have ever read. Also, she has an incredible second perspective in the 1st person by using her memories of previous events to inform what she is talking about now. It is absolutely amazing and as far as I know unique. I would love to steal this but it is impossible. Because, her signature is all over it. I loved it.

    By the time I reached the end of the book, I was completely enthralled. It is not a matter of whether or not I will buy the next book in the series. It is more a question of how fast I’ll finish it. For an EXCELLENT YA read you CANNOT go wrong with the Archived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Archived wasn¿t something that I was sure I would enjoy. It

    The Archived wasn’t something that I was sure I would enjoy. It sounded confusing and very involved. However, because so many other bloggers had been raving about it, I decided to give it a shot. It wasn’t for me. Definitely not. The Archived had everything that usually makes for a great book: interesting characters, romance, unique story line. While it sounded promising, I’m not convinced that it delivered.




    The plot was the biggest problem for me. What’s hard about this is that the plot is both the best and worst thing about this book. What I liked about it was that it was unique. It’s a brand new concept, unlike anything that I’ve read before. I was excited about this until I began reading The Archived, I was so confused. I wasn’t sure that the world building was working for me, but I figured I would understand at some point. I didn’t. I was confused the whole time. This is where the plot turns sour for me. There was just too much to it and the way that it was explained was too brief for me to grasp the full concept. I understood bits and pieces of the archives, the narrows, the outers, and all that stuff, but I didn’t really know how the worked. I wonder now if Mackenzie knew how it all worked herself? I’m not sure. I think there were parts that she was unsure about, so I felt a bit better about that.




    Not only did the world-building not really work for me, but the characters weren’t clicking. I liked Mackenzie enough and I liked Wes. I was expecting some major romance there, but nothing big happened, which was kind of disappointing. It was even more disappointing when Mackenzie decided to start kissing the weirdest choice of love interest. I didn’t get that. WHY? It was just strange to me and it felt a bit forced, like it seemed as if it was the right choice for the book, but it really wasn’t. I’m not sure how to explain that.




    There seemed to be a lot happening in The Archived, but really nothing much happened. It was pretty much the same things repeating themselves over and over. Mackenzie kept catching Histories, or whatever they were, and new ones popped up on her list so she did the same thing over again. I was so bored reading this. I wanted something, anything to happen. I just wasn’t satisfied with the story and where it went. There’s not much else I have to say, so I’ll keep it short. I got bored and confused. That was basically my experience with this book. While it sounded really interesting, it didn’t deliver.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Completely new premise

    Read it. would also make a great movie. The story is so fresh and strange it will pull you in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Unusual premise, very well done

    I have been reading a lot of young adult/teen fiction lately and I must say this was a very unique book. The premise was truly unusual. A quick read, left me with many questions and thoughts about possible sequels. Though some of the details were not explained to my satisfaction, on the whole the book was satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Fascinating premise

    When we die our lives are stored like books almost in an archive with librarians tending them. Histories can waken and get confused so there are keepers who take them back to sleep. But if a history escapes to the outer world of the living the crew rounds them up. The story spins around a teen keeper. It's fanciful, a good mystery and suspenseful. A good start to a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    "Stories about winding halls, and invisible doors, and

    "Stories about winding halls, and invisible doors, and places where the dead are kept like books on shelves. Each time you finish a story, you make me tell it back to you, as if you're afraid I will forget.

    "I never do."

    Mackenzie Bishop became a Keeper for the Archive when she was twelve years old. Trained and groomed by her grandfather, Mackenzie knew exactly what being a Keeper would mean. It means danger as she hunts for escaped Histories--records of the dead bound in something very close to flesh and bone--that need to be returned to the Archive. She knows being a Keeper means lying to everyone she knows.

    It isn't easy work. But it gives Mac a solid link to Da and his years of training and stories. It gives Mac the illusion of being close to her younger brother who died a year ago.

    Still grieving and lost, Mac's family moves to a decrepit building trying to start again. As she tiptoes around her mother's crazy new schemes and her father's avoidance, Mac soon discovers that a building as old as the Coronado is filled with secrets and lies of its own. Learning more about the building Mac discovers disturbing alterations to Histories within the Archive. Someone wants to hide something about the Coronado. And perhaps about the Archive too. If Mac can't solve the mystery that remains the entire Archive could collapse in The Archived (2013) by Victoria Schwab.

    The Archived is Schwab's second novel. It is also the first in a series although it stands very nicely on its own. The sequel, The Unbound, is due out in 2014.

    The Archived sounds like it should be a grim book. There are dead people. There are sad characters. It should be depressing. Instead, The Archived is an eerie, original read that is simultaneously exciting and contemplative. Mac is a strong, resilient heroine who is flawed and as utterly authentic as the world she inhabits. And what a world. Filled with librarians and keys and secrets The Archived is a unique book filled with all of my favorite things right down to a beautiful cover and book design.

    Lyrical memories of Mac's past are interspersed between action-packed chapters with Mac's work as a Keeper for the Archive. Schwab skillfully combines a compelling premise with themes of loss and family to create a nuanced mystery sure to dazzle readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Because of the hype from numerous people who have the same taste

    Because of the hype from numerous people who have the same taste in books as me 1 had a lot of high expectations for The Archived. This book still surpassed them all. The world building was amazing! It all felt like it was so real. The farther you delve into this book the more you learn about the archive and the places surrounding it.I really enjoyed the writing style as well. I absolutely loved how Victoria Schwab placed the notes about her grandfather throughout the book and I really think that they added a lot to the story. The characters were extremely well developed. Everyone from Mom to the old man upstairs felt like they were actually real live people, instead of just being extras in the book. They really enhanced the story instead of just being there to be there. And don't even get me started on Wesley. Can he please just not be fictional? I think i'm in love. This book is also great because it is full of plot twists. Everything was just so unpredictable. There is enough foreshadowing to make you say "ohhhhhh" when the time comes but not give anything away. I think I actually gasped out loud at some points. It's just full of surprises. Overall I give this book a 5/5 stars for being simply amazing. I'm looking forward to reading more of Victoria Schwabs work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    It's a damn dirty shame that The Archived series doesn't get mor

    It's a damn dirty shame that The Archived series doesn't get more recognition. This amazing story is beautifully told . . . amazingly beautiful. How's that for adjective usage?

    After the tragic death of her 10-year-old brother, Ben, Mackenzie's parents move them to The Coronado, an old hotel converted to apartments in 1950. Once there, Mackenzie begins searching for doors that will lead her to The Narrows, where she can return Histories, and The Archive, where the histories are stored.

    I'll admit that I was a little confused about the work of a Keeper in the beginning, but it was very easy to catch on to what Mackenzie did. I especially liked the second person flashbacks between Mackenzie and Da. These purpose of these flashbacks were threefold really. Victoria added depth to Mackenzie's character, allowed us to learn about Da whom was an integral part of Mackenzie and her past, and learn more about the world that Mackenzie inhabits.

    It's a truly fascinating world at that. Once people die they are shelved in The Archive. Most people stay "asleep," but every once in a while they will wake up and break free. When that happens, Keepers return them through doors in The Narrow. There is also Crew, who tracks down Histories who escape the Narrows, and Librarians, who maintain The Archive. It's such a fascinating concept and helps to make The Archived extremely unique and enticing.

    Roland is above and beyond my favorite Librarian. You can tell he really took over Da's role when he died. He protects Mackenzie, vouches for her, gives her advice, and is the perfect father figure for this part of her life.

    There are so many twists and turns within this novel that there is no possible way to be bored. The mystery was equally fascinating and mind blowing - especially once everything came out. I never saw it coming - and that is a testament to Victoria's amazing writing and story telling. This is my first encounter with Ms. Schwab and I can promise you it certainly will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Excellent writing! Superb world building! Original and very grip

    Excellent writing! Superb world building! Original and very gripping story!
    This is my first Victoria Schwab book and it certainly won't be my last.
    At the end of "The Archived" I was left enamored with the world and characters and hungry for more.

    This is exactly what I needed after reading so many things that left me feeling "just okay" this year.
    MORE PLEASE.

    *runs to buy Book 2*

    Nadia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Great book for teens who love ....

    From a book-loving teen, anyone who loves:
    -Divergent
    -Harry Potter
    -The Hunger Games
    Or any other action teen novel, I strongly sugest this book and its sequals.

    *also if you love this book, you shold try:
    -The Tomorrow Code
    -Evolution
    -Perception
    -The Ripple Trilogy
    -City of Bones
    (Some of my favorites)
    -The Lost Code

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Perfect

    Perfect. Absolutely amazing. The plot is very original, and the writing is spectacular. I love the characters, especially Mackenzie. Loved. It. So. Much. Is there a sequal?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2