BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Art Forger

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fun Read and Well Crafted Story

This was such a fun story, especially made for art lovers and museum enthusiasts. Reads like a great beach read; the story is interesting enough that you want to tear through it, but not quite the page-turner of Hunger Games or Gone Girl. Even so, i will read it again, ...
This was such a fun story, especially made for art lovers and museum enthusiasts. Reads like a great beach read; the story is interesting enough that you want to tear through it, but not quite the page-turner of Hunger Games or Gone Girl. Even so, i will read it again, and soon, because of course my curiosity rushed me through.

Clare's story is told through three different story lines that come together beautifully in the end without redundancies, which impressed me. The first story of her history three years ago: her torrid affair with a married art professor, a tortured artist type, and their "collaborative" painting she paints for him while he suffers a creative block in order that he not miss a great opportunity to show at New York's MOMA.

The second storyline, told thru letter's of Isabelle Gardner about her friendship with Edgar Degas in 1890's Paris, which will help explore some of the mystery surrounding the Gardner Museum of Boston and the famous unsolved heist of paintings including one masterwork of Degas.

The current storyline of Clare's life as a struggling artist who pays the rent by painting reproductions of masterworks, specializing in Degas while she bides her time waiting for discovery and a show of her own. Clare is offered an opportunity she cannot pass up from a promiment (and of course superbly attractive) gallery owner, something so great she wonders if it is a deal with the devil... and indeed, it may be.

It makes for some very fun, very interesting, very imaginative reading!

posted by 3408188 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shadkit

Fawnpaw they wont attack kits will they

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Fun Read and Well Crafted Story

    This was such a fun story, especially made for art lovers and museum enthusiasts. Reads like a great beach read; the story is interesting enough that you want to tear through it, but not quite the page-turner of Hunger Games or Gone Girl. Even so, i will read it again, and soon, because of course my curiosity rushed me through.

    Clare's story is told through three different story lines that come together beautifully in the end without redundancies, which impressed me. The first story of her history three years ago: her torrid affair with a married art professor, a tortured artist type, and their "collaborative" painting she paints for him while he suffers a creative block in order that he not miss a great opportunity to show at New York's MOMA.

    The second storyline, told thru letter's of Isabelle Gardner about her friendship with Edgar Degas in 1890's Paris, which will help explore some of the mystery surrounding the Gardner Museum of Boston and the famous unsolved heist of paintings including one masterwork of Degas.

    The current storyline of Clare's life as a struggling artist who pays the rent by painting reproductions of masterworks, specializing in Degas while she bides her time waiting for discovery and a show of her own. Clare is offered an opportunity she cannot pass up from a promiment (and of course superbly attractive) gallery owner, something so great she wonders if it is a deal with the devil... and indeed, it may be.

    It makes for some very fun, very interesting, very imaginative reading!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating!

    Oh wow, this book is just captivating! I wanted to immediately read it again when I was finished! The suspense definitely had me going hours on end with this book and I didn't want to put it down. I kept wanting to know more about Claire's past with Isaac and her future with Aiden, her past with scandal and her future with forgery. When would Claire learn that her dependency on men to get ahead in the world as an artist only causes trouble?

    "When I accepted Markel's offer, I thought I'd be learning at the feet of a master painter; instead, my most powerful lessons have come from a master forger." (loc.1664)

    I had no idea how this book would pan out, and the ending was very satisfying. Perhaps it's because of my own love and hobby of the arts that sparks my intrigue, but the author did a wonderful job in telling this story. The slight of humor, the intensity of seriousness, the lightness in characterization was great! In particular I love the imagery she uses, as well as the metaphors and the personification of the artwork. I will absolutely want to reread this book again, as well as any other books by B.A. Shapiro.

    First Line: "I step back and scrutinize the paintings." (loc. 13)

    Last Line: "And no matter how big the commissions or how great the museums, I suppose I'll never know." (loc. 3815)
    -------
    Quotes

    "The sweet possibility of reclaiming all that's been lost, everything I've ever wanted. But a forger? A pretender? The absolute last thing I want to be." (loc. 152)

    "'It's your call, Claire,' he reminds me. 'I can get someone else if I have to...'
    Someone else? 'Okay,' I tell him. 'I'm in.'" (loc. 404)

    "A writer friend once told me that when she walks into a library anywhere in the world, the smell makes her feel instantly at home." (loc. 730)

    "I'm astonished I was able to fool myself for as long as I did. That I, a self-proclaimed Degas expert, could be so taken in. I felt the truth the first moment I set eyes on the painting, yet I convinced myself otherwise. And I'm not alone." (loc. 1054)

    "A woman who makes a Faustian bargain is not without responsibility." (loc. 3810)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Recommended for art and mystery lovers

    A good mystery about the meaning of art. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommend-Couldn't put it down!

    The Art Forger was recommended to me by my mother's best friend who is very well read...so I knew it was going to be good! This book caught my attention from the beginning! I am from Boston and very familiar with the Isabelle Gardner Museum heist. This past week there has also been a lot of hype due to new evidence in the case. If you like art history and historical fiction then you will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    A fun and fascinating mystery. From the first page I was engaged

    A fun and fascinating mystery. From the first page I was engaged in the story and found it difficult to put the book down. The intertwining of fictionalized events involving people who once lived and the facts surrounding the infamous (and still unsolved) theft of 13 works of art from the Garner Museum, coupled with an intriguing what-if scenario about the reappearance of one of those missing treasures decades after the fact make a very satisfying story. Glimpses into the art world and the art of forgery add color and texture without distraction. I highly recommend The Art Forger.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I have read a lot of books and I have to say that The Art Forger is my favorite, it just kept me reading when ever I had time to do so. Great book.
    B.A. Shapiro, I can't wait for your next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Excellent.

    Excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Great book. I have no knowledge or particular interest in art, b

    Great book. I have no knowledge or particular interest in art, but the author weaves together a compelling story. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Interesting and informative of the Art World.

    If your interested in oil paintings this is a good story and a look into the art world you may not know.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Read it!

    If you like museums, art, impressionism and mysteries this book will keep you interested for one night..... My only concern is that there were no more pages to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Why is the ebook more expensive than the paperback?

    Why is the ebook more expensive than the paperback?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    If you are an artist or art lover, you will likely enjoy this bo

    If you are an artist or art lover, you will likely enjoy this book considerably more. It was good, but there are a lot of details about the work of an artist (or forger) that slowed it down quite a bit. The ending was pretty predictable, but the story was entertaining despite the obvious foreshadowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Entertaining

    This story is entertaining and especially interesting to anyone interested in art. The characters are generally well developed, and there are a few plot twists to keep the interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Art contest rules

    1 no more than 15 caricters
    2 no copying( check the other entrys to make sure you are not useing the same idea)
    3 post your name and the name of your artwork

    Hall of fame on hallway last result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Have not read this yet.

    I am saving this book for my summer vacation. I've heard it was very good. I also recommended it to my monthly Book Club and they have included it in our 2014/2015 reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    I didn't want this book to end!

    The heroine is very likable,despite some questionable choices. The author puts you right there with her as she is on both sides of the law- volunteer at a prison and being under arrest, and keeps you on your toes as events twist and turn. She is remarkably talented and has a close knit group of friends that you feel a part of.I really enjoyed this book and miss Claire now that it is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Scorge

    Sorry res 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Author of TheJockAndTheEmoBoy

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great story - couldn't put it down.  A must!

    Great story - couldn't put it down.  A must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Good Different Mystery

    Impressed by the stories woven together. Wanted to know more about how a great painting is created and how it is copied. This novel delivers. Also kept me interested to the end. Love beautiful artwork and sketch for fun, but always wondered what it would be like to have real talent or the $ to buy the work in the best galleries and enjoy them on my own walls. This book gave me a little taste of those scenarios.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4