Customer Reviews for

The Art Of Dramatic Writing

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Now I get it.

    Egri has pointed me in the proper direction. I just need to go there. That's the hard part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Smartly Written

    Egri's book is consistent and uses examples from many plays in a concise manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Maybe the Best Fiction Writing Book Ever Written

    Today more than anytime in my life i want to give up the real estate thing and write. i'd bet you want to change your life and do something you love also. Richard Bach wrote in his book Illusions, 'Find what you most want to do, do it no matter what; and in the doing be guaranteed a very difficult and a very happy life.' The Art of Dramatic Writing will make your dream of writing come true. It will also help you form logical steps of thought in your speech and thinking. Buy this book. Stop goofing around. And when you're done send me an email so i can see your movie and buy your book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    A Must for Writers

    Don't let the mid-twentieth century examples deter you, this book is an absolute must. Egri gets to the heart and soul of great works through a technique that can apply to any medium. I look forward to re-reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Great book, but absolutely horrible, virtually unreadable formatting

    Egri's book is an outstanding book for narrative writers seeking to move to the next level in their storytelling. Egri's ideas on establishing a strong focused premise around which to develop the narrative have many disciples today--Robert McKee's Story and Stanley Williams's The Moral Premise being two excellent examples--but Egri's focus on stage plays sets it apart from almost all of those subsequent works, which are directed toward screenwriting. In spite of its emphasis on the theater, Egri's ideas work for writers of any narrative form--novels, plays, screenplays. I would recommend this book to anyone seeking to improve his or her sense of story.

    But I wouldn't buy this edition again under any circumstance!! The formatting is bizarre. The text is in a tiny, tiny font with unindented paragraphs with no space between the paragraphs. The only way to determine where a paragraph ends is when a line stops partway across the page, but regularly lines end somewhere in the middle of the page as well as the middle of a sentence and continue the incomplete sentence on the next line. Throw in occasional misspellings, entire sections omitted from Ergi's original book, no index...this version is a trainwreck! I suppose Barnes and Noble is obligated to sell this version (they may actually be the publisher if "BN" Publishing does indeed stand for Barnes and Noble), but any publisher who would do this to a book and its readers has some pretty low regard for both books and readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is Truley a great book.

    The Art of Dramatic Writing is one of the best books I have ever read. As an aspiring author of fiction and a poet; I found this book to be very useful in bringing characters to life on a page, on the stage or on the screen. It is a compelling book. Egri's teaching's will help you create a book, a play or film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1