Customer Reviews for

The Art of Henna: Create Beautiful Henna Body Art!

Average Rating 2
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excelletnt Gift and Conversation Piece

"The Art Of Henna" is an excellent gift and a very interesting conversation piece. It was enjoyed by the recipient and was shared with others. Excellen choice for unique gift-giving.

posted by RobinMacBlane on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS BULLSH*T

If you're a person who's really interested in body art and may one day want to become a tattoo artist, don't buy into this crap. The applicator SUCKED DONKEY BALLS and left big sludgy lines. The pictures in the book would be IMPOSSIBLE to get to with this sh*t. It is NO...
If you're a person who's really interested in body art and may one day want to become a tattoo artist, don't buy into this crap. The applicator SUCKED DONKEY BALLS and left big sludgy lines. The pictures in the book would be IMPOSSIBLE to get to with this sh*t. It is NOT worth the prep time, and if you want a good henna kit, get one over the internet that has a real applicator, not some cone baggy that clogs every ten seconds. THIS IS TOTAL BULLSH*T. If someone if forcing you to get it because they think it's cheap and they're too stupid to realize that it's sh*t, just buy a good kit online yourself.

posted by 1483933 on June 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    THIS IS BULLSH*T

    If you're a person who's really interested in body art and may one day want to become a tattoo artist, don't buy into this crap. The applicator SUCKED DONKEY BALLS and left big sludgy lines. The pictures in the book would be IMPOSSIBLE to get to with this sh*t. It is NOT worth the prep time, and if you want a good henna kit, get one over the internet that has a real applicator, not some cone baggy that clogs every ten seconds. THIS IS TOTAL BULLSH*T. If someone if forcing you to get it because they think it's cheap and they're too stupid to realize that it's sh*t, just buy a good kit online yourself.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Terrible Product. Didn't Work.

    I bought this for my daughter as a fun project for us to do together. She was so excited. Here are the reasons why you should NOT buy this product.
    1. Mixing henna requires tea, which they don't tell you prior to purchasing. I was lucky to have some.
    2. You have to mix and let sit over night to get the right consistency.
    3. The next day the henna is still not the correct consistency, so you have to add almost whole entire bag of henna, not just the amount included in the the ingredients.
    4. The tattoo templates didn't work very well, nor did the pen, so the the lines were very faint.
    5. I wasted quite a bit of henna getting the correct consistency and couldn't figure out why it just kept squirting out of the bag.
    6. Had to fold over tip to make new cut because I thought I had cut it too big. A bottle would have been better.
    7. Consistency was never really smooth and was clumpy.
    8. Bag was hard to control and move around to make the tattoo.
    9. After all that, we put it on my daughter's arm and left it on for 7 hours.
    10. Took it off and there was basically nothing there.
    11. Desciptions/steps were not detailed enough and left me wondering if I was doing it correctly or not.
    Very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Reeeeeally wish I had read these reviews...

    I think henna is really cool, and this kit wasn't too expensive, so I decided to get it...bad idea. Like others have said, you definitely have to use the whole bag of henna to get the right consistency. The bag is awful, it started exploding, so I put it in a cake decorator bag, which was still really hard to use. I started getting really frustrated and after one design, just chucked it all. The only stencil I could use without it looking awful was the one that's just lines that make spirally squares, and even that was difficult. Plus, the marker for transferring designs was really dried out. The book isn't bad, but next time I get a kit I'll invest in one with an applicator bottle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Awful product

    For someone who was looking forward to mixing my own henna and finally finding a kit, I was extremely disappointed. Though the instructions were easy to follow and the book was informational, the actual product was useless. I followed the directions precisely and the mixture never actually got to the right consistency. I returned the kit for a full refund and do not suggest this kit to anybody! Especially for first time users. Instead I suggest the kit made by Jaquard, its much easier to follow and the results are fantastic. But I honestly have absolutely nothing positive to say that's worth purchasing this product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Product doesn't work

    I thought this would be fun to try with my daughter, but this product didn't work. I followed the directions exactly and I didn't get the consistency of the henna that I should have. I worked with it the best that I could, but the result was very poor. The book's information and pictures were very helpful. I returned this product and got my money back. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Excelletnt Gift and Conversation Piece

    "The Art Of Henna" is an excellent gift and a very interesting conversation piece. It was enjoyed by the recipient and was shared with others. Excellen choice for unique gift-giving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not for Beginners

    The henna works, but it takes a lot of preparation and a very steady hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    Informative and Well Researched

    While the henna itself was awkward to work with, I thoroughly enjoyed the sections on the history of henna and the various examples of henna styles was helpful. I suggest reading the book and buying your henna from an Indian store.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    DON'T buy this product!

    As one who has worked with henna before, I have nothing positive to say about this kit. First of all, the book's pages were out of order. It skipped from page 32 to 41 and then started counting backwards. In addition, after minimal use, five pages fell out. The henna recipe was not in the least bit accurate. When the measurements are followed (including 2 teaspoons of henna powder), the result is a liquid that does not even resemble a proper paste until the entire rest of the bag of henna is added. To add insult to injury, when I was applying the henna, the side of the applicator bag burst and made a mess all over my carpet and skin! My advice-- don't waste your money on this product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Art of Henna too complicated

    The henna has to be made and the directions are not adequate for someone who has never made it before to be successful. Then, after an unsuccessful attempt at making the henna, there is not enough left to try making it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Christmas gift

    I haven't seen any of the "tattoos" yet, but my niece loved opening this present for Christmas. The designs inside the box looked pretty neat, and there were plenty of illustrations, etc. It seems like it should be easy to use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Pretty in Theory

    First there is a whole shopping list of ingredients you need. Sure they give you lots of patterns to follow and a pen/paper setup to transfer them to your skin. But once you get to the henna application you're left with a funnel like zip-lock bag. If you cut the whole to small the henna comes out in in spurts, if you cut it to big your creation looks like a giant blob.
    Of corse they tell you to practice so you can perform the intricate designs, but by the time your skilled enough, your out of henna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    henna

    Not too impressed. The recipe for making the henna was a bit confusing, and it did not work well on my lite skin. It has designs, but those are very small and may not be useful for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Ok

    I was very excited when I saw this in the store. I did a lot of other research about henna before trying out this kit. Compared to the info I found, the booklet was not too helpful. It gave you all of the key steps on how to apply the henna, but the recipe to make it was all wrong. When I made what they told me to, I came out with soup-y henna. WAY too much liquid. In order to fix it I had to use almost the WHOLE BAG (which didn't have much in it to begin with). When I finally fixed the paste, put it in the little baggy, and I began applying it, OH, did the fun begin. The paste barely came out of the stinking bag and when it did, it shot out in messy globs. The bag also poped, IN MULTIPLE PLACES, with henna paste already in the bag. I undertand that because it was only $10 that I wouldn't be getting expert quality, but STILL! It wouldn't have been as bad if the bag hadn't broken open. My finished design came out ok...but it DOES NOT look like anything nearly as nice as what they pictured in that book (and I am very artisic)!

    If you are actually serious about wanting to create henna body art, I would recommend going on youtube and watching freehandmehndi's videos on henna and how to make/apply it. She also has her own website where she sells supplies and kits (same name as her youtube channel with .com). I think I'll buy one of her kits next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    I'd really give it 3.5 stars but that wasnt an option

    this henna kit was a great value, it came with everything you would need and more. the only downside is the actual creating of the designs, it is difficult, but nothing in a box can give you ability to do henna like a well practiced artist. i wasnt expecting to have to wait for the henna to "cure" before using it, but once i knew that it was fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Henna fun

    This kit and designs are very well done. There is plenty of Henna powder in the kit to hold a small party. The quality of the henna is very good as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    The ARt of Henna Kit

    This was messy and really hard to use.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    A good gift choice for someone artistic

    I gave this as a birthday gift to an 11-year old girl who is quite artistic. It was a big hit -- educational, yet fun and different. She liked that it was something she could do with her friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Not Impressing...

    I was really unimpressed with this one. i had only beginner experience with henna, but the mix they suggested was awful, and the stencils were the tracing kind. And i dont enjoy toxins seeping in to my skin. Dont buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Henna powder no good

    I really like the book itself. There are really good ideas for patterns. My biggest complaint is that the henna powder did not set up so I didn't get to try the designs. The book does however tell you where you can purchase this powder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2