Customer Reviews for

The Art of Henna: Create Beautiful Henna Body Art!

Average Rating 2
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excelletnt Gift and Conversation Piece

"The Art Of Henna" is an excellent gift and a very interesting conversation piece. It was enjoyed by the recipient and was shared with others. Excellen choice for unique gift-giving.

posted by RobinMacBlane on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS BULLSH*T

If you're a person who's really interested in body art and may one day want to become a tattoo artist, don't buy into this crap. The applicator SUCKED DONKEY BALLS and left big sludgy lines. The pictures in the book would be IMPOSSIBLE to get to with this sh*t. It is NO...
If you're a person who's really interested in body art and may one day want to become a tattoo artist, don't buy into this crap. The applicator SUCKED DONKEY BALLS and left big sludgy lines. The pictures in the book would be IMPOSSIBLE to get to with this sh*t. It is NOT worth the prep time, and if you want a good henna kit, get one over the internet that has a real applicator, not some cone baggy that clogs every ten seconds. THIS IS TOTAL BULLSH*T. If someone if forcing you to get it because they think it's cheap and they're too stupid to realize that it's sh*t, just buy a good kit online yourself.

posted by 1483933 on June 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    THIS IS BULLSH*T

    If you're a person who's really interested in body art and may one day want to become a tattoo artist, don't buy into this crap. The applicator SUCKED DONKEY BALLS and left big sludgy lines. The pictures in the book would be IMPOSSIBLE to get to with this sh*t. It is NOT worth the prep time, and if you want a good henna kit, get one over the internet that has a real applicator, not some cone baggy that clogs every ten seconds. THIS IS TOTAL BULLSH*T. If someone if forcing you to get it because they think it's cheap and they're too stupid to realize that it's sh*t, just buy a good kit online yourself.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Terrible Product. Didn't Work.

    I bought this for my daughter as a fun project for us to do together. She was so excited. Here are the reasons why you should NOT buy this product.
    1. Mixing henna requires tea, which they don't tell you prior to purchasing. I was lucky to have some.
    2. You have to mix and let sit over night to get the right consistency.
    3. The next day the henna is still not the correct consistency, so you have to add almost whole entire bag of henna, not just the amount included in the the ingredients.
    4. The tattoo templates didn't work very well, nor did the pen, so the the lines were very faint.
    5. I wasted quite a bit of henna getting the correct consistency and couldn't figure out why it just kept squirting out of the bag.
    6. Had to fold over tip to make new cut because I thought I had cut it too big. A bottle would have been better.
    7. Consistency was never really smooth and was clumpy.
    8. Bag was hard to control and move around to make the tattoo.
    9. After all that, we put it on my daughter's arm and left it on for 7 hours.
    10. Took it off and there was basically nothing there.
    11. Desciptions/steps were not detailed enough and left me wondering if I was doing it correctly or not.
    Very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Reeeeeally wish I had read these reviews...

    I think henna is really cool, and this kit wasn't too expensive, so I decided to get it...bad idea. Like others have said, you definitely have to use the whole bag of henna to get the right consistency. The bag is awful, it started exploding, so I put it in a cake decorator bag, which was still really hard to use. I started getting really frustrated and after one design, just chucked it all. The only stencil I could use without it looking awful was the one that's just lines that make spirally squares, and even that was difficult. Plus, the marker for transferring designs was really dried out. The book isn't bad, but next time I get a kit I'll invest in one with an applicator bottle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Awful product

    For someone who was looking forward to mixing my own henna and finally finding a kit, I was extremely disappointed. Though the instructions were easy to follow and the book was informational, the actual product was useless. I followed the directions precisely and the mixture never actually got to the right consistency. I returned the kit for a full refund and do not suggest this kit to anybody! Especially for first time users. Instead I suggest the kit made by Jaquard, its much easier to follow and the results are fantastic. But I honestly have absolutely nothing positive to say that's worth purchasing this product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Product doesn't work

    I thought this would be fun to try with my daughter, but this product didn't work. I followed the directions exactly and I didn't get the consistency of the henna that I should have. I worked with it the best that I could, but the result was very poor. The book's information and pictures were very helpful. I returned this product and got my money back. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not for Beginners

    The henna works, but it takes a lot of preparation and a very steady hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    The henna does not work. After 2 attempts, follow directions to

    The henna does not work. After 2 attempts, follow directions to a T, and the ink does not stain the skin at all. Very disappointing. I have used other henna kits in the past, and they worked, I think the dye was just faulty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    DON'T buy this product!

    As one who has worked with henna before, I have nothing positive to say about this kit. First of all, the book's pages were out of order. It skipped from page 32 to 41 and then started counting backwards. In addition, after minimal use, five pages fell out. The henna recipe was not in the least bit accurate. When the measurements are followed (including 2 teaspoons of henna powder), the result is a liquid that does not even resemble a proper paste until the entire rest of the bag of henna is added. To add insult to injury, when I was applying the henna, the side of the applicator bag burst and made a mess all over my carpet and skin! My advice-- don't waste your money on this product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Art of Henna too complicated

    The henna has to be made and the directions are not adequate for someone who has never made it before to be successful. Then, after an unsuccessful attempt at making the henna, there is not enough left to try making it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    henna

    Not too impressed. The recipe for making the henna was a bit confusing, and it did not work well on my lite skin. It has designs, but those are very small and may not be useful for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    The ARt of Henna Kit

    This was messy and really hard to use.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Not Impressing...

    I was really unimpressed with this one. i had only beginner experience with henna, but the mix they suggested was awful, and the stencils were the tracing kind. And i dont enjoy toxins seeping in to my skin. Dont buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    This kit was not good

    The decals for making a design on your skin do not work. This is not a good kit/book if you are trying to do this yourself. I found the book informative as to what Henna is used for and the history behind it, but as for its use for making Henna designs on yourself it was not good at all!! I do not suggest getting this kit. I would look for kits with better templates for making Henna designs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    total crap!

    I've gotten henna tattoo's before and the application and process was never this long. Long set up time aside this is total crap. I followed the instructions step by step. Even after i added the entire bag of henna powder the mixture was still runny, having added no more and no less of the liquids i was confused. I let it sit hoping in ten to twelve hours it would thicken a little. Nope still runny. The pen which i thought was a great idea was even worse! after painstakingly tracing a design and applying it what do i see but something akin to a bruise on my palm. Plus when i put the watery paste in the bag and put a little pressure on it to push it down to the tip the bag springs a leak at the side and shoots watery henna all over my floor! If i could give this no stars i would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    DO NOT BUY

    Who ever created this kit obviously never tried USING it themselves. NOT FOR BEGINNERS. NEVER USE BY YOURSELF. You cannot use it by yourself on your hands as the cone is too long. Very difficult to but the henna paste in the cone as the top of the cone couldn't fit a spoon. This was a waste of money. Transfer pen was a bust, just made huge brown blobs that I couldn't scrub out of my skin. My hands look disgusting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1