Customer Reviews for

The Art of War [With eBook]

Average Rating 4
( 358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An excellent masterpiece!

This is not merely a military or tactical manual - this is a book of pure wisdom. Sun Tzu was way ahead of his time in creating such an extraordinary guide to strategy and leadership, both in and out of combat. Read this book once, then read it again the advice and aph...
This is not merely a military or tactical manual - this is a book of pure wisdom. Sun Tzu was way ahead of his time in creating such an extraordinary guide to strategy and leadership, both in and out of combat. Read this book once, then read it again the advice and aphorisms that flow from it are infinite each time.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

so Why so low a rating?

This is an amazing book, but I don't want people to be deceived, it's dry. The driest martini in the world type of dry, the Sahara looks like a rain forest dry. It is meant to be educational and it is useful for creating your own philosophies and maybe a little bit us...
This is an amazing book, but I don't want people to be deceived, it's dry. The driest martini in the world type of dry, the Sahara looks like a rain forest dry. It is meant to be educational and it is useful for creating your own philosophies and maybe a little bit useful in warfare (still great if you want to wage an ancient war). But not every reader that loves reading will understand why this is great. it is not an escape.

posted by The_wonderous_Mutt on March 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 362 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE READ!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fooled Ya.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Hi

    Wow u do know this guy who made this book child (30,000,000x) is proably any one and his iq showed thet hes reatartet

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Hf

    Amazing they wanted war even 2,000 years ago i like it bacase as a 3rd grader i need to know these things for the future but great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Test

    &#9827#|2!&#12601!NG $†&Theta|2M#&#9827

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    While the book is fantastic I think it is unrealistic to charge

    While the book is fantastic I think it is unrealistic to charge $10.84 for an e book and charge $6.28 for a hard copy. My greatest disappointment with the Nook is that B&N nook books are so expensive.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Ancient war strategy than csn be used for bussiness strategy. bu

    Ancient war strategy than csn be used for bussiness strategy. bussiness is also war. zif you're in to business, I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    NO!I AM NOT READING IT!!!!!!

    NO WAY I AM READING IT !!!!!!NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Profound Advice

    The Art of War by Sun Tzu is an ancient Chi­nese mil­i­tary trea­tise. The book, a clas­sic within the sci­ence of mil­i­tary stud­ies is only attrib­uted to the high rank­ing gen­eral and was believed to have been com­plies dur­ing the last spring and autumn of the War­ring States period(either 476 BC or 453 BC).

    I first heard of The Art of War by Sun Tzu when I was in the mil­i­tary. I heard of the book in pass­ing and read a bit more about it when I got home, but never picked up a copy until sev­eral years later.

    The first thing which struck me was how short the book was, but the more I read, the more I real­ized the wis­dom behind the book. The sec­ond, third, forth and more I read this book I stopped for con­tem­pla­tion about what Sun Tzu's words mean to me, how I imple­mented his advice both in the mil­i­tary and out­side of it and the mis­takes I made, how can I learn from them and if I will repreat them again.

    But The Art of War is more than just about war. The book is about every strug­gle or con­fronta­tion, whether exter­nal or inter­nal. I can cer­tainly see how the advice applies to ancient war­fare, but when ana­lyzed, the book can apply to pol­i­tics, busi­ness and more.

    Sun Tzu under­stood, as any great leader/manager that the lead­ers set the tone and spends much of the book dis­cussing those qual­i­ties. This is true in any orga­ni­za­tion, the sergeants will treat the sol­diers the way the pla­toon leader treats them, who treat the sergeants the way the cap­tains treat them, etc. Mid­dle man­age­ment will treat their employ­ees the way upper man­age­ment treats them - so sim­ple, yet so profound.

    How­ever, the part that really struck home, for me, was when Sun Tzu speaks about know­ing your­self and your enemy.

    "So it is said that if you know oth­ers and know your­self, you will not be imper­iled in a hun­dred bat­tles; if you do not know oth­ers but know your­self, you win one and lose one; if you do not know oth­ers and do not know your­self, you will be imper­iled in every sin­gle battle."

    Pro­found advice from a great gen­eral - one does not go into any com­pe­ti­tion with­out know­ing the oppo­nents. Ath­letes do not step onto the field with­out spend­ing house ana­lyz­ing every avail­able movie show­ing their oppo­nents at play and gen­er­als dis­sect enemy strate­gies to tiny details before form­ing their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, not entertaining.

    Its dry, and most of the advice posed is common sense. Never the less, provides a good philosophical perspective to not just war, but the topic of conflict overall. Provides some practical counsel that can be applied to daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    it was a gift

    This book was a gift to my 16 years old son - he asked for this book specifically. He reads it - what else can I ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Interesting

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 17, 2011

    One of the greatest books in history.

    Not everyone will understand the importance of this book. If the reader digs deeper than the actual text, they'll soon realize that this book can be applied to building a sucessful company or sucess in general. Life is war, especially from the business aspect. The main principles in this book can also help avoid disasters in the shrewd world of business where sucess is war. This book is often used in Civics and Free Enterprise classes to teach these very principles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    it makes sense!

    even though it is difficult to understand, when you do understand it the book makes sense..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant & Easy-read!

    This book is great especially since it is small and compact. The book is formatted by bullets which contain important quotes and sayings by sun tzu. The book is around 100 pages which are simple to read even though sun tzu quotes in confusing metaphors in rare chapters. The metaphorical references are brilliant and most of them are based off of nature. He lists important things to do and not to do; what makes a skillful general and what makes him weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    speechless...

    definitely requires additional investigation/reserach to complete the inderstanding. i'm certain there are some seminars available to complete that understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    The Greatest Tactical Book in History

    TT This book is perhaps the greatest book ever made for a number of reasons. It is very detailed, very accurate, applicable to many fields, and it is, for the most part, easy to understand. Any student, business leader, general, gamer, sports player, or someone in a field where tactics is the key must buy this book. The most shocking thing is that this book is the oldest of its kind. Among its many applications, it's most useful role is to act as a guide to warfare like it did 2000+ years ago.
    TT The identity of the true author is still in hot debate, but most believe the author is Sun Tzu. When the Art of War was first printed, war was never the same. Now a standard guide in the world of guerilla warfare, this book is the general's driving manual: follow the books directions, and pave your way to victory; ignore the guidelines, and your army faces conquest or annihilation. The topics covered are: Estimates, Waging War, Offensive Strategy, Dispositions, Energy, Weaknesses and Strengths, Manouvre, The Nine Variables, Marches, Terrain, The Nine Varieties of Ground, Attack by Fire, and Employment of Secret Agents. The book has a nice introduction and serves its purpose well beyond expectations.
    TT Overall this book is perfect for generals, excellent for sports such as football, good for businesses, and great as a gift for anyone who archives books for intellectual purposes. The quality of the translation is phenomenal; the references were very useful for finding more information on Sun Tzu, the amount of information given is huge for a small book. Honestly, I thought it would be bigger, but after I read this, I learned that it didn't need to be bigger. For 81 pages of tactics, the details are very impressive and extremely reliable. The background history and the heated debates found at the beginning of the book is the icing on the cake. Whether your in business or on the front lines, The Art of War is a must have and is probably the third most important book ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sun Tzu Art of War Perfect Business Marketing Strategy Book

    Although Sun Tzu Art of War is old, very old, it is still one of the most relevant business strategy books of the 21st century. Using the book to its full advantage advertising guerrilla exposure tactics offer powerful results derived from aggressive markets, exploring its wisdom and creative genius, it is simply unquestionable. Napoleon is said to have kept a copy close to him and many strategic business managers decisions are still made on the basic principles of success in an aggressive market set out in The art of war, a brilliant read and a book you can pick up and enjoy time and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Military Philosophy

    The Art of War is still relevant in our modern-day era of warfare. It should be required reading for military officers. Much of it seems like commonsense, but it provides a nice algorithm to follow in most situations. Besides, military officers are often lacking in commonsense, which is why they should read The Art of War and listen to their noncommissioned officers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thought provoking

    A fluid translation with a lot of historical background information.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am intrigued.

    This book contains concepts first discussed by 5th century warlord. The ironic thing is even in this day and age, those concepts are still applicable. This is a great book for any trying to get ahead in life and business. I enjoy opening it at random to see what wisdom I would hear that day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 362 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19