BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Art of War

Average Rating 4
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An excellent masterpiece!

This is not merely a military or tactical manual - this is a book of pure wisdom. Sun Tzu was way ahead of his time in creating such an extraordinary guide to strategy and leadership, both in and out of combat. Read this book once, then read it again the advice and aph...
This is not merely a military or tactical manual - this is a book of pure wisdom. Sun Tzu was way ahead of his time in creating such an extraordinary guide to strategy and leadership, both in and out of combat. Read this book once, then read it again the advice and aphorisms that flow from it are infinite each time.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

so Why so low a rating?

This is an amazing book, but I don't want people to be deceived, it's dry. The driest martini in the world type of dry, the Sahara looks like a rain forest dry. It is meant to be educational and it is useful for creating your own philosophies and maybe a little bit us...
This is an amazing book, but I don't want people to be deceived, it's dry. The driest martini in the world type of dry, the Sahara looks like a rain forest dry. It is meant to be educational and it is useful for creating your own philosophies and maybe a little bit useful in warfare (still great if you want to wage an ancient war). But not every reader that loves reading will understand why this is great. it is not an escape.

posted by The_wonderous_Mutt on March 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Interesting

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 17, 2011

    One of the greatest books in history.

    Not everyone will understand the importance of this book. If the reader digs deeper than the actual text, they'll soon realize that this book can be applied to building a sucessful company or sucess in general. Life is war, especially from the business aspect. The main principles in this book can also help avoid disasters in the shrewd world of business where sucess is war. This book is often used in Civics and Free Enterprise classes to teach these very principles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    it makes sense!

    even though it is difficult to understand, when you do understand it the book makes sense..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    speechless...

    definitely requires additional investigation/reserach to complete the inderstanding. i'm certain there are some seminars available to complete that understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    The Greatest Tactical Book in History

    TT This book is perhaps the greatest book ever made for a number of reasons. It is very detailed, very accurate, applicable to many fields, and it is, for the most part, easy to understand. Any student, business leader, general, gamer, sports player, or someone in a field where tactics is the key must buy this book. The most shocking thing is that this book is the oldest of its kind. Among its many applications, it's most useful role is to act as a guide to warfare like it did 2000+ years ago.
    TT The identity of the true author is still in hot debate, but most believe the author is Sun Tzu. When the Art of War was first printed, war was never the same. Now a standard guide in the world of guerilla warfare, this book is the general's driving manual: follow the books directions, and pave your way to victory; ignore the guidelines, and your army faces conquest or annihilation. The topics covered are: Estimates, Waging War, Offensive Strategy, Dispositions, Energy, Weaknesses and Strengths, Manouvre, The Nine Variables, Marches, Terrain, The Nine Varieties of Ground, Attack by Fire, and Employment of Secret Agents. The book has a nice introduction and serves its purpose well beyond expectations.
    TT Overall this book is perfect for generals, excellent for sports such as football, good for businesses, and great as a gift for anyone who archives books for intellectual purposes. The quality of the translation is phenomenal; the references were very useful for finding more information on Sun Tzu, the amount of information given is huge for a small book. Honestly, I thought it would be bigger, but after I read this, I learned that it didn't need to be bigger. For 81 pages of tactics, the details are very impressive and extremely reliable. The background history and the heated debates found at the beginning of the book is the icing on the cake. Whether your in business or on the front lines, The Art of War is a must have and is probably the third most important book ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sun Tzu Art of War Perfect Business Marketing Strategy Book

    Although Sun Tzu Art of War is old, very old, it is still one of the most relevant business strategy books of the 21st century. Using the book to its full advantage advertising guerrilla exposure tactics offer powerful results derived from aggressive markets, exploring its wisdom and creative genius, it is simply unquestionable. Napoleon is said to have kept a copy close to him and many strategic business managers decisions are still made on the basic principles of success in an aggressive market set out in The art of war, a brilliant read and a book you can pick up and enjoy time and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am intrigued.

    This book contains concepts first discussed by 5th century warlord. The ironic thing is even in this day and age, those concepts are still applicable. This is a great book for any trying to get ahead in life and business. I enjoy opening it at random to see what wisdom I would hear that day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a book written as it should be.

    First off, my hat goes off to this amazing compilation of knowledge written by Sun Tzu. This man was a tactical genius, and it is reflected in the commentaries and notes in the second part of the book. This book has given me the edge in warfare, whether by playing games like "Risk!" ar any other means. This book is a must-add to anyone's personal library. I absolutelt enjoyed this piece of historic literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT BOOKS ON STRATEGY

    The Art of War by Sun Tzu is one of the most important book written on military strategy. It has been the guideline for leaders throughout the centuries. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK...THEN.....YOU HAVE MADE ONE OF THE BIGGEST MISTAKE OF YOUR LIFE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I got the book in this morning and sat in my office all day reading it. I advise everyone in any leadership position to take the time to read this book at least twice. It is full of insight and uncommon wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I spent most of Memorial Day reading this book. I have read every version of The Art of War available, including a makeshift translation of my own. This is my favorite. I recommend it to everyone who wants a deeper understanding of War, or of what it takes to lead men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I recommend this book to everyone in any leadership position. I bought a copy for every manager and supervisor in my company. Awesome! Easy to Understand!! Easy to Apply!!! I am very excited about Mr. Tarver¿s translation, and have contacted him about the possibility of speaking at our next manager¿s conference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    This is good. The approach in the book is a simple straightforward explanation of Strategy and War. Even if you have several versions already, you need to get this one. It gave me a more complete understanding of Sun Tzu than any other book I¿ve read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I have heard since the 80¿s that The Art if War contained vital information for the modern business manager. I have read several copies, but never got much out of them. This version is different. Every page reads like a modern guide to strategy and proper management skills. Awesome. I encourage everyone to read it ¿ Even if you¿ve read Sun Tzu before this version has something more for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I have read several translations of Sun Tzu, and Tarver is without doubt the best. He cuts through the mystery and gives the reader a clear understanding of what ¿The Art of War¿ was meant to be. I learned more in one sitting with Tarver than weeks with other translations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I know Sun Tzu is supposed to be the master, I¿d never even heard of Sun Pin, but I¿ve got to say that I enjoyed Sun Pin¿s ¿The Art of Warfare¿ more than I did Sun Tzu. I think Sun Pin will be considered the new Master of Strategy as soon as people learn more about him. After I read this book I did some research and found that he is widely known among scholars, but almost completely unknown to the general public. Thanks to this book I believe that is about to change. This book will change your approach to strategy and leadership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    Awesome book. Best translation I've read. No BS, just the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    15 year old boy/ future General/ strategist

    Since 1996 I have focused my life to be the next Patton, Grant, and Schwarzkopf and bought every translation possible to get deeper and deeper into Sun Tzu's mind. When I received this book as a gift I couldn't put it down. My thoughts are that this is the best translation yet and that Sun Pin's thoughts shouldn't be ignored. I am glad his strategies were put into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    How to run a war or Business

    Sun Tzu 'The Art of War' was excellent. This book is a great book on strategy. Whether you command a nations army, war games or a moderen business. If the reader uses some of these war tactics and strategies in the modern world, they may find it easy to relate. Thus it is easy to relate to this book. Even rivals in sports and entertainment can be outwitted by the wisdom in this book. It also adds examples of some actions, which show how these sayings and writings apply to the real world. So no matter what you were looking for in this book, whether it be business, sports, war games, or actual wars, you can be sure to learn more on how to best deal with the situation through the strategies in this book. The book is timeless....and should be required reading for all persons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10