Customer Reviews for

The Art of War

Average Rating 4
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book

This is a book full of wisdom and knowledge in the dealings of war. The concept of war can then be taken from the text and applied to all area of one's life. I have become a stronger individual after reading the book.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

so Why so low a rating?

This is an amazing book, but I don't want people to be deceived, it's dry. The driest martini in the world type of dry, the Sahara looks like a rain forest dry. It is meant to be educational and it is useful for creating your own philosophies and maybe a little bit us...
This is an amazing book, but I don't want people to be deceived, it's dry. The driest martini in the world type of dry, the Sahara looks like a rain forest dry. It is meant to be educational and it is useful for creating your own philosophies and maybe a little bit useful in warfare (still great if you want to wage an ancient war). But not every reader that loves reading will understand why this is great. it is not an escape.

posted by The_wonderous_Mutt on March 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sun Tzu Art of War Perfect Business Marketing Strategy Book

    Although Sun Tzu Art of War is old, very old, it is still one of the most relevant business strategy books of the 21st century. Using the book to its full advantage advertising guerrilla exposure tactics offer powerful results derived from aggressive markets, exploring its wisdom and creative genius, it is simply unquestionable. Napoleon is said to have kept a copy close to him and many strategic business managers decisions are still made on the basic principles of success in an aggressive market set out in The art of war, a brilliant read and a book you can pick up and enjoy time and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am intrigued.

    This book contains concepts first discussed by 5th century warlord. The ironic thing is even in this day and age, those concepts are still applicable. This is a great book for any trying to get ahead in life and business. I enjoy opening it at random to see what wisdom I would hear that day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT BOOKS ON STRATEGY

    The Art of War by Sun Tzu is one of the most important book written on military strategy. It has been the guideline for leaders throughout the centuries. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK...THEN.....YOU HAVE MADE ONE OF THE BIGGEST MISTAKE OF YOUR LIFE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I got the book in this morning and sat in my office all day reading it. I advise everyone in any leadership position to take the time to read this book at least twice. It is full of insight and uncommon wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I spent most of Memorial Day reading this book. I have read every version of The Art of War available, including a makeshift translation of my own. This is my favorite. I recommend it to everyone who wants a deeper understanding of War, or of what it takes to lead men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I recommend this book to everyone in any leadership position. I bought a copy for every manager and supervisor in my company. Awesome! Easy to Understand!! Easy to Apply!!! I am very excited about Mr. Tarver¿s translation, and have contacted him about the possibility of speaking at our next manager¿s conference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    This is good. The approach in the book is a simple straightforward explanation of Strategy and War. Even if you have several versions already, you need to get this one. It gave me a more complete understanding of Sun Tzu than any other book I¿ve read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I have heard since the 80¿s that The Art if War contained vital information for the modern business manager. I have read several copies, but never got much out of them. This version is different. Every page reads like a modern guide to strategy and proper management skills. Awesome. I encourage everyone to read it ¿ Even if you¿ve read Sun Tzu before this version has something more for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I have read several translations of Sun Tzu, and Tarver is without doubt the best. He cuts through the mystery and gives the reader a clear understanding of what ¿The Art of War¿ was meant to be. I learned more in one sitting with Tarver than weeks with other translations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    I know Sun Tzu is supposed to be the master, I¿d never even heard of Sun Pin, but I¿ve got to say that I enjoyed Sun Pin¿s ¿The Art of Warfare¿ more than I did Sun Tzu. I think Sun Pin will be considered the new Master of Strategy as soon as people learn more about him. After I read this book I did some research and found that he is widely known among scholars, but almost completely unknown to the general public. Thanks to this book I believe that is about to change. This book will change your approach to strategy and leadership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    Art of War: Sun Tzu's Classic in Plain English With Sun Pin's The Art of Warfare

    Awesome book. Best translation I've read. No BS, just the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    15 year old boy/ future General/ strategist

    Since 1996 I have focused my life to be the next Patton, Grant, and Schwarzkopf and bought every translation possible to get deeper and deeper into Sun Tzu's mind. When I received this book as a gift I couldn't put it down. My thoughts are that this is the best translation yet and that Sun Pin's thoughts shouldn't be ignored. I am glad his strategies were put into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    How to run a war or Business

    Sun Tzu 'The Art of War' was excellent. This book is a great book on strategy. Whether you command a nations army, war games or a moderen business. If the reader uses some of these war tactics and strategies in the modern world, they may find it easy to relate. Thus it is easy to relate to this book. Even rivals in sports and entertainment can be outwitted by the wisdom in this book. It also adds examples of some actions, which show how these sayings and writings apply to the real world. So no matter what you were looking for in this book, whether it be business, sports, war games, or actual wars, you can be sure to learn more on how to best deal with the situation through the strategies in this book. The book is timeless....and should be required reading for all persons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9