BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Artist's Inheritance (Antique Magic, book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I keep referring to this book in my head as a good, old-fashione

    I keep referring to this book in my head as a good, old-fashioned ghost story. But it's more than that. Madness and curses and critters who shouldn't see the light of day all combine to build a world that is slowly constricting on Caitlin as she watches her husband be consumed by something otherworldly. The hardest part for her is that while she can see that something's happening, she doesn't have the power to stop it.

    Wait. That's not quite right either. She has the power, she just doesn't realize it yet. She's caught between knowing that something's wrong and not being able to believe some of the things she's uncovering. Intuition and fact are clashing inside her and it's making things tough for her.

    Not to mention that the love of her life is slowly descending into something that wants to hold him tight and trap him in a cycle of violence.

    CREEPY.

    Fast, creepy, and just the thing if you're looking for a little spook to liven up your day.

    -Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    If I had to define this novel in one word: SPOOKY. The dream seq

    If I had to define this novel in one word: SPOOKY. The dream sequences within the story are particularly effective at setting the mood. I'm a horror film/book aficionado, so the story did not leave me overly disturbed. However, I noticed my jumpiness levels increased as the story progressed. In my mind, that's the mark of a successful storyteller.

    The Artist's Inheritance is a contemporary supernatural suspense novel with a strong romantic subplot. The story is set in Gulf Breeze, Florida, near a Civil War fort. Juli D. Revezzo weaves an intricate tale embodying many elements of the supernatural, including ghosts, witches and demons. Yet, I'm unable to fit the story neatly into any one particular subgenre. Much of the story's strength resides within the uniqueness of the plot elements and the way the story unfolds.

    The story starts off a bit slow, but it really gets rolling by the third chapter. The first chapter really serves as an introduction to the three primary characters in the novel—Caitlin, Trevor, and The Chair. Caitlin and Trevor are a young married couple who's love is about to be tested by supernatural forces. Trevor is the artist of the novel's title, and The Chair is his monstrous creation.

    Caitlin is Trevor's loving wife and the central protagonist. She's smart and loyal to her husband, but initially clueless regarding the spiritual disease afflicting her husband with bad dreams and obsessive behavior. Then, his nightmares affect her and she begins to pick up on other clues that things are very wrong with both him and his acquaintances.

    Of the pair, Caitlin is the more sympathetic. I understood Trevor was not entirely responsible for his own actions but his behavior made him far less likeable than his courageous wife. He'd suffered the traumatic loss of siblings, including his twin, and the reader receives glimpses of the man he was before the downhill slide began. However, there were points when I just plain did not like him. As the story progresses, you really have to applaud Caitlin's loyalty to her husband and her determined efforts to save him.

    Once it gets going, the story's pacing is swift, the makings of a real page-turner. Secondary characters are well developed and interesting. I enjoyed Caitlin's interactions with the coven of witches who assist her and also appreciated the creepy evility of the primary villain. Love scenes are closed doors and I would have liked to have seen the more sensual side of the couple's relationship.

    The Artist's Inheritance is a recommended read for any reader seeking a creepy and compelling story of the supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this paranormal thriller. Haunted furniture

    I thoroughly enjoyed this paranormal thriller. Haunted furniture, a creepy villain, a hero under a spell and a heroine worthy of the best of those cool and spine chilling movies of the 1970s like Crowhaven Farm and Harvest Home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A couple┬┐s love is put to the test by dark forces trying to tear

    A couple’s love is put to the test by dark forces trying to tear them apart. Trevor seems helpless to meet his destiny of a hereditary curse, his art creations becoming an outpouring of consuming madness. Frightened by what is happening to her husband, Cait fights in any way she can, even finding she has ability to struggle against the demons on their own magical playing field. Her witch friends help her unlock powers she never imagined. I really enjoyed growing with Cait as she learns about her own magic and how to use it. Her brace spirit and determination to help her husband is compelling. Wonderfully spooky elements make for an exciting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cait and Trevor have just moved into a new home, nearer to his b

    Cait and Trevor have just moved into a new home, nearer to his brother’s widow, and near a Civil War fort. Since getting there, he sketched and carved this rather, ah, ugly chair that he just seems to be utterly obsessed about. It consumes most of his waking hours, and various dreams and nightmares have started consuming his night ones. She wants to get rid of it, he just about wants no part of that. Sure, at times, he’ll say when we find the right buyer, but she knows that basically means no, it is not going to happen.




    As time goes on, she gets really worried about him, because Trevor seems to be headed exactly down the path that his brother had been on before his death – he grew obsessive and violent, with dreams and nightmares. Plus his new-found friend/business associate is just not giving her good vibes. What’s worse, she’s been starting with her own nightmares and visions, mostly stemming from what seem to be people from the Civil War.




    She hasn’t got a clue as to what is going on; when she bumps into someone she knew in college and her friends, all Wiccans, they start seeing and understanding what is going on, a curse on his family, and that business associate is more than meets the eye, but she doesn’t buy it… at least at first. After a while, however, yep, she buys it, and realizes it was the cause of her brother-in-law’s death, plus others from Trevor’s family in years past. She very much hopes that through what they know, they can help kick this curse out of there, because this could very much not end well for any of them.




    This was a pretty good first novel, with mysteries and twists and turns where you’re just not sure what is going to happen next. It’s not a romance in the traditional sense as the other books I post here, but you can say it is a love conquers all story – plenty of people who just didn’t get or understand what Trevor was doing/going through, might have very well left him, but she stuck by him, even after those moments Cait did consider that she simply had it, both with his behavior and that chair. Her friends, the Wiccan aspects and things related to them were new to me, so I learned a little something from this story. Don’t be surprised that once you get to the end of the story that the idea of them being around the supernatural isn’t 100% wrapped up – I had forgotten this is a first of a series, and Cait and Trevor will see more adventures headed their way. All in all, for those who like paranormal and just your downright spooky stories, will find this a fine story to try out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Settling into a new home, Caitlin notices changes coming over he

    Settling into a new home, Caitlin notices changes coming over her husband. When nightmares deepen and ghosts begin lurking–Caitlin knows something’s not right, and not just her newfound precognitive abilities. It’s the damned chair her husband’s carving, she’s sure. Could it be just what it seems: a mundane piece of furniture? If so, why is it attracting dark forces–the forces she suspects drove Trevor’s siblings to insanity and suicide?




    Armed with a handful of allies–a coven of helpful witches–she must proceed with caution against the hellish forces besieging her family. If she fails, she may lose forever the one thing she cares about most: her beloved Trevor.




    What a creepy story! It took me a chapter or two to get used to the author’s storytelling style and fantasy/paranormal is not my usual genre but I did enjoy this story.




    I did have a problem with the character of Cait. I know she loves her husband and he definitely was behaving strangely but I just didn’t feel a connection with her. Trevor on the other was frightening and scary and I found myself empathizing with him and all his family had suffered.




    The plot is very interesting and by the end of the book I was satisfied with the outcome. It left me wondering where the author will taking these character as this is the first book in a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    "The Artist's Inheritance" had a wonderfully creepy un

    "The Artist's Inheritance" had a wonderfully creepy undertone to it, sort of like the movie "Rosemary's Baby." Caitlin's husband Trevor, an artist, is increasingly absorbed with his latest work...a rather devilish chair. Caitlin discovers she's sensitive to the supernatural, and goes on a quest to unravel the mystery behind what is possessing Trevor, before it's too late. The story has ghosts and demons, plus witches who are on the side of good. I liked the way Caitlin wouldn't give up on her husband, no matter what. The novel is the beginning of a series, and I'll be looking for the sequels. A very well done debut novel for Revezzo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    A delightfully haunting tale!

    The Artist's Inheritance centers on Caitlin and Trevor as they relocate to Florida after the untimely death of Trevor's brother. As we watch them settle into the new-to-them house and begin the process of cleaning up the bits of his brother's life, we realize soon that things are not okay. Cait is a strong woman deeply in love with and committed to her husband, which is why, when things start getting strange, she sticks by him rather than running away with her hands in the air. Here is a woman who is going to stand by her man, especially when he needs her the most.

    Cait begins to learn things, about Trevor's family, about their haunted past, about *her* haunted past, about the world around her, that she could have never suspected. Her whole drive, throughout the book, is to keep her family together. Can she do it, when forces she doesn't understand threatens to drive them apart?

    I absolutely _love_ this book. I've been following Juli's work for quite some time now, and I am so thrilled that she's released this book directly. Her writing is well executed, and the strength of the story is uplifting. There are moments in the book when, were I Caitlin, I would have left Trevor high and dry, and never mind if he went mad or not. There were moments when his behavior had me wanting to strangle him -- yet Cait's reaction were always true to her character. Juli's ability to write such believable characters is inspiring to behold. I mean it as the highest praise when I say, "I wanted to throttle him, but the way he acted made sense, given what was going on." her command of setting is as solid as her command of character. All in all, this book was a joy to read, and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1