BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord: A Throne of Glass Novella

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord is an enjoyable read that start

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord is an enjoyable read that starts off slowly but picks up steam as it goes along. The story itself isn’t too bad but I could guess what would happen almost as soon as “slaves” were mentioned. For this reason I knocked of...
The Assassin and the Pirate Lord is an enjoyable read that starts off slowly but picks up steam as it goes along. The story itself isn’t too bad but I could guess what would happen almost as soon as “slaves” were mentioned. For this reason I knocked off a star because knowing the ending just as the story is getting started is never a good sign. Despite this, the pacing and writing style is really good and makes for a a very entertaining and lighthearted read.

Since it’s a short story there’s not much in the way of character development but the characters themselves are memorable and left me thinking about them long after I finished the book. I LOVED Celaena and Sam! Both of them are loud, funny, outspoken, brave and shamelessly rude to each other. In short, real.

Their relationship and banter with each other is as hilarious as it’s infuriating. Just like all the best stories, their romance takes a backseat to the main storyline but creeps up on you and before you know it you’re rooting for them to get together and cheering them on to the finish line.

And in my case, naming their ship Samaena. Honestly, I was so frustrated nothing actually happened between them. I just wanted to knock their oblivious little heads together! But I still love them and I’m still rooting for them. Are you on board too? Please leave a comment if you are. I want to see how many supporters there are before ToG ;)

Overall this novella is a great opener for Throne of Glass that lets you get to know Celaena before the events in the actual book and makes for a fun and fast-paced read that anyone who likes YA will appreciate :)

posted by Natasa-WMYB on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good

This was a good, quick, and easy read.

posted by 1301850 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Assassin and the Pirate Lord is an enjoyable read that start

    The Assassin and the Pirate Lord is an enjoyable read that starts off slowly but picks up steam as it goes along. The story itself isn’t too bad but I could guess what would happen almost as soon as “slaves” were mentioned. For this reason I knocked off a star because knowing the ending just as the story is getting started is never a good sign. Despite this, the pacing and writing style is really good and makes for a a very entertaining and lighthearted read.

    Since it’s a short story there’s not much in the way of character development but the characters themselves are memorable and left me thinking about them long after I finished the book. I LOVED Celaena and Sam! Both of them are loud, funny, outspoken, brave and shamelessly rude to each other. In short, real.

    Their relationship and banter with each other is as hilarious as it’s infuriating. Just like all the best stories, their romance takes a backseat to the main storyline but creeps up on you and before you know it you’re rooting for them to get together and cheering them on to the finish line.

    And in my case, naming their ship Samaena. Honestly, I was so frustrated nothing actually happened between them. I just wanted to knock their oblivious little heads together! But I still love them and I’m still rooting for them. Are you on board too? Please leave a comment if you are. I want to see how many supporters there are before ToG ;)

    Overall this novella is a great opener for Throne of Glass that lets you get to know Celaena before the events in the actual book and makes for a fun and fast-paced read that anyone who likes YA will appreciate :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Interesting premise but poor execution. I give it four stars bec

    Interesting premise but poor execution. I give it four stars because the idea is somewhat grabbing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    A Fun, Quick Look at Caelena Pre-ToG My Initial Reaction...  I r

    A Fun, Quick Look at Caelena Pre-ToG
    My Initial Reaction... 
    I really enjoyed The Assassin and the Pirate Lord - it was neat to see Caelena before the events of Throne of Glass.

    The Good... 
    I feel like The Assassin and the Pirate Lord was just a great way to get to know Caelena better. You definitely are fine jumping into The Throne of Glass without reading this, but you get a much better sense of who she is here. You also get a sense of how she's changed. I mean, I remember her being an arrogant girl - but I feel like it's tempered a bit between The Assassin and the Pirate Lord and The Throne of Glass and I can only imagine that the events inbetween the two books had something to do with that.

    I'm also enjoying getting to see a bit of the Assassin's Guild that she belonged to and especially the other people. I'm pretty sure that the character I just got to know in The Assassin and the Pirate Lord - Sam - was the person she talks about a lot in The Throne of Glass, I just have to wait and see how the rest of the novellas unfold to be sure.

    The story for The Assassin and the Pirate Lord was really good too - it's a novella and yet it managed to have a lot of action, great dialogue, and character building.

    The Bad... 
    If I were to have any complaints about The Assassin and the Pirate Lord - and I really don't have many, this was a solid novella - it would be that I don't like Caelena as much at this point in her life as I did in The Throne of Glass. The mask/hood getup was ridiculous and her attitude was a little over the top. But she redeems herself for me because she cared so much about the slaves. 

    Also could it have gone on just a little longer, please? I wanted to know what happened when they went back home!

    Concluding Sentiments... 
    The Assassin and the Pirate Lord was a solid novella and amps up my anticipation to read more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    can some one tell me in order which novella is first please.

    can some one tell me in order which novella is first please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I highly recommend you read the short novellas before reading Th

    I highly recommend you read the short novellas before reading Throne of Glass.  It gives a lot of much needed back story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Very good novella

    This was a very good story and I cant wait to read the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1