Customer Reviews for

The Assassin's Blade: The Throne of Glass novellas

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Maas has done it again!! 

Maas has done it again!! 

posted by 18660095 on March 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

...

This is not a new book. This is all of novals ( pirate lord, desert, empire, ect)

posted by 5410644 on March 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    ...

    This is not a new book. This is all of novals ( pirate lord, desert, empire, ect)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Maas has done it again!! 

    Maas has done it again!! 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Such a wonderful compilation of novellas! And the cover is gorge

    Such a wonderful compilation of novellas! And the cover is gorgeous!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    THE ASSASSIN'S BLADE These are the best novellas to go with a s

    THE ASSASSIN'S BLADE

    These are the best novellas to go with a series that I've read so far, and for that, this book deserves full five stars. (Of course, it deserves the rating in many other ways as well.) I don't read many novellas because I prefer full length novels, but in The Assassin's Blade , the length of each story didn't bother me at all because they all fit together to form a much longer one.

    I loved learning more about Celaena's past and the people that were in her life (namely Sam, Arobynn, and Ansel) before the star of Throne of Glass. They were both fun and . . . not-so-fun (I'm referring to the painful parts) to read, but I enjoyed reading each novella!

    THE ASSASSIN AND THE PIRATE LORD

    This one was the most fun. Sam was introduced--and I started getting a little attached to him. I loved seeing he and Celaena work together against the pirates. There was a lot of cool action and the assassin's sure showed their skills (which are pretty darn good).

    THE ASSASSIN AND THE HEALER

    This one was very short, but it was a nice read! I loved Yrene's step from a weak, defenseless-seeming girl to one that was capable of protecting herself and choosing her own destiny. I also loved Celaena's role--despite being Adarlin's Assassin, she does have a heart.

    THE ASSASSIN AND THE DESERT

    This novella . . . well, let's just say it explains Celaena's distrust of certain people in Throne of Glass.

    THE ASSASSIN AND THE UNDERWORLD

    My emotions were all over the place during this one. There were happy moments and victorious ones. There were also very tense ones. A couple parts (mainly the ones with Lysandra), I felt as irritated as Celaena. This novella made me a little sad because I was dreading how much closer I was to what happens in the last one.

    THE ASSASSIN AND THE EMPIRE

    Wow. So many feels. This on broke my heart.

    I LOVED the note on which it ended, though. It was perfect!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Assassin and The Pirate Lord (Throne of Glass #0.1): Meet Ce

    The Assassin and The Pirate Lord (Throne of Glass #0.1):
    Meet Celaena Sardothein, assassin for hire. She sets out to collect a debt owed to The Assassin’s guild, a group she’s been a part of ever since she was found and taken in my Arobyn Hamil. Her life is theirs and what they tell her to do, she does.
    But despite her orders, the debt collection does not sit well with her. While she comes off as a person who has a hard heart, you see her soften when she sees the debt is slaves, not money. And she vows to free them, no matter the consequence. 
    I love this first glimpse of Celaena. I love that we see she has a conscience from the beginning, despite her profession. She’s feisty and smart and very strong. But you do see some of her insecurity start to bleed through at times, and I think it’s an important part of who she is and who she is to become. And I love that she sees the same in Sam. While she demonstrates a dislike for Sam at the beginning of the novella, you see that Sam is really the only would she actually trusts. And as their friendship grows stronger, she realizes he would help her do whatever needs to be done.
    Excellent introduction to this world and its characters.




    The Assassin and the Healer (Throne of Glass #0.2):
    Celaena has betrayed her boss and she pays dearly for it. Arobyn Hamil beats her and then sends her off on a trek to the desert as punishment. Separated from those she knows, she stops at an Inn during her journey and meets Yrene, a barmaid who gets in the middle of a brawl.
    I like that in this novella we get to see Celaena from Yrene’s perspective. Yrene is scared of her, sees her as feisty and arrogant. Yet Celaena quickly softens and teaches Yrene to defend herself. Celaena feels a pull towards this woman whose home in Ardalan was ripped away from her. Once again we see her softer side.
    This was more of a short story than a novella. A way for us to get a better glimpse of exactly who Celaena is.




    The Assassin and the Desert (Throne of Glass #0.3):
    Arobyn has sent Celaena away as punishment and also to hone her craft. She has a month to study with The Silent Assassins, particularly to study with their leader and get his stamp of approval. While there, despite not wanting to, she does become friends with some of the other assassins: Ansel and Mikhail in particular. But things are not what they seem from within the compound. There is a traitor and when the compound is attacked, it takes all Celaena’s courage to defend it against the one person she thought she could trust.
    Celaena has a ton of growth in this novella. She’s quite arrogant upon arrival, not really believing she needs to hone her craft. Not understanding that despite her excellent abilities as an assassin she still has so much to learn. And learn she does. What she learns is something she definitely uses, not only within this novella but also in future books.




    The Assassin and the Underworld (Throne of Glass #0.4):
    Celaena has returned to the Kingdom of Ardalan and she’s given an assignment by the King. And while this novel is about her adventures in trying to do what the king has asked, it is just as much about her reconnecting with Sam. I love how Celaena slowly works through her feelings, how she slowly comes to realize that there is much more to Sam than she ever thought there was. I honestly think that this blinds her somewhat to what is actually happening around her, especially as Arobyn tries to woo her back with gifts and a plethora of apologies. She is more trusting of those she should not trust at all. She does begin to question things, but not enough to see that in the end things may not work out as she expects them to. I did like how the romance progressed and there was tons of action and moments where I held my breath. But I also know that something bad will happen soon because nothing is ever as it seems in this world!




    The Assassin and the Empire (Throne of Glass #0.5):
    I. HATE. AROBYN. There, now that I got that out of the way!
    It’s really hard for me to review this one because of the emotions it brings up.
    In this one we get Sam and Celaena, broken from Arobyn and trying to make it on their own. But Arobyn is sly and has no intention of letting Celaena go that easily. 
    This novella is filled with betrayal and sadness. I hated reading it. I thought for sure at the end Maas would say “surprise”, but alas she did not. And since I read this before the first Throne of Glass, I had no idea how it would end.
    How and why Celaena gets shipped off to the Salt Mines is also revealed at the end of this novella.
    A great addition to the series that gives important insight into Sam and Celaena’s relationship and what he really means to her as well as shows that the people who surround her are NEVER what they seem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    WHY DO I LOVE IT SO MUCH? Celaena is interesting yes, but the w

    WHY DO I LOVE IT SO MUCH?

    Celaena is interesting yes, but the world's best assassin? No way! She is impulsive, spoiled, impatient, cannot stake out a target without getting caught, rushes headlong into missions which turn out to be traps then gets caught, gets poisoned by drinking from people she hardly knows, and apparently believes any crap told to her by anyone, which also gets her caught. So how did she become the best assasin again? The book was fun, but Maas has to understand she cannot expect her readers to just believe Celaena is the best, unless she can convince us with actions. To me, her lead character is just a comedy of errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Addicting

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    :)

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Awesome

    One of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    So good.

    So good. I can't wait for the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    Love these books =)

    Love these books =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1