Customer Reviews for

The Assassin's Curse

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Good book

    I would say that the only problem with this book was that had lots of "language" in it. Ananna seems to like expressing her feelings in ways that someone MIGHT NOT approve of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Want freeipad?

    KISS UR HAND 3 TIMES POST THIS ON 4 DIFFRENT BOOKS AND LOOK UNDER UR PILLOW

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    Exceptional is a good word I was going to give four stars (I su

    Exceptional is a good word

    I was going to give four stars (I suppose I'm a little critical) but I am a great fan of this book, so why not. I highly recommend this book for a slightly different outlook on the female protagonist. I feel how the characters develop is a true story unfolding before you, instead of thrown together to make you react.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    My first thought when I was about thirty percent into this novel

    My first thought when I was about thirty percent into this novel was: why the heck have I waited this long to read this phenomenal book?! The Assassin’s Curse simply blew me away! No, not away really. More like into another fantastical world where the combination of powerful magic, wickedly awesome pirates, and undefeatable assassin’s are the order of the day. 

    Clarke has created a world in which I don’t necessarily want to live (simply because I don’t have the endurance these characters have to survive such a world), but which proved to be the ideal escape from my own mundane life. As far as YA books go, she breaks away from every stereotypical characteristic and predictable plot device familiar to this genre (I know some say YA is not a genre, but whatev, bear with me). This tantalizing, magical novel is primarily driven by its two strong-willed and endearing main characters, and secondarily by endlessly creative world-building. For me, those are the two deciding factors whether or not I would enjoy a book. But let’s move on to the two characters that made The Assassin’s Curse a win for me. They are what I really want to talk about.

    Ananna is in one word, perfect. Not a perfect character perse, but perfect as in this is what I would describe as the ultimate girl protagonist. She doesn’t possess one trait that got on my nerves. Not one. Her stubbornness and deliberate defiance of her parents would’ve irritated me had it not been so skillfully written and balanced by her other character traits such as her making decisions based on her considering the consequences of her actions first. Even though those consequences might put her in harm’s way, she still plunges ahead knowing perfectly well what to expect and being prepared to deal with it head on. That is what I mostly admired about her character. What made me like her even more is that in more than one scene she’s the one that saves her male companion from certain death, instead of it being the other way around. Now tell me, how many books have you read where the girl physically saves the boy from being killed? Not many, right? Ananna is the girl I want by my side when disaster strikes. She handles a sword and a knife like these are extensions of her arms. She makes split-second decisions and doesn’t back away when faced down by an army of pirates sent to kill her. She speaks her mind, but knows when to keep her mouth shut, and this girl can barter with pirates like it’s nobody’s business. Honestly guys, why are you still reading this review and not the book? There’s so much more I want to say about her, but I’d rather you got to know her on your own. You should see the mean punches this little lady packs!

    Then there’s Naji. He’s apparently an undefeatable assassin, but I guess Ananna proved that myth wrong. Her good deed unfortunately activates a curse, but on the bright side, she got stuck with a guy who’s so different from any male love-interest I’ve read up to this point. Throughout the story, though, you wouldn’t think of Naji as a love-interest because Clarke doesn’t describe him as such or give any indication that either character has feelings for the other, until the last third of the book. Yet, if you’re someone who can spot the finer details hidden between layers of battles for survival, you’ll easily pick up on the things that might eventually spark an attraction between these two, although it’s rather one-sided. Naji is all darkness, mystery, moody, aloofness, and sinister magic. He sticks to the shadows and hides his face behind a mask because of the scars. So what’s so attractive about him? I really can’t say. All I know is that I felt weirdly fascinated by his enigmatic charm, and that I rooted for him and Ananna all the way.

    This brings me to another point. I’ll be really quick about it because there isn’t much to say, but I think romance junkies might want to know. First off, this is not a romance novel, but it has a tiny bit of romance in it. I think the second book might focus more on this element as this one is all about survival. What there is between Ananna and Naji is more an attraction, but like I said earlier on, it is one-sided. This attraction isn’t based on either character’s physical appearance, and not once is the word “hot” used to describe either of them. This “attraction” isn’t immediate and rather builds up gradually through a sequence of events throughout the story. In my opinion, that is the way romance should be written and how two characters should fall in love. I’ll find out in book two whether they actually fall in love or not. By the end of book one I only know how one character feels. And speaking of endings, this one ends with a major cliffhanger. So if you hate cliffhanger endings, this will definitely leave you feeling frustrated.

    Finally, the writing took me some time to get used to, and the pacing was a little slow the first forty percent or so. Once it got to the battle in the desert, I was hooked and read into the early hours of the morning, forcing myself to put the book down and get a few hours of sleep. The Assassin’s Curse was a more than pleasant surprise, and even before I finished it, I got myself a copy of the second book, The Pirate’s Wish, in which Naji and Ananna has to complete three impossible tasks to end their impossible curse. Even if you are of the opinion that pirates and assassins, curses and dark magic isn’t your thing, I still think you should give this book a chance if only to meet these two amazing characters. This is not the sort of book I’d choose to read, but I’ve heard so many good things about it, I wanted to find out for myself what everyone was on about. I don’t regret my choice for one second, and I’m positive you wouldn’t either if you give this novel a chance. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    It definitely earned it's spot on my favorites shelf :)

    It definitely earned it's spot on my favorites shelf :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Wowzers

    This book was brilliant. The characters are extremely likable, especially a certain dark and mysterious assassin ;) There us lieterally non stop action. Right in the beginning, stuff happen sand you're just like "Woah!" Ananna (the main chica) I can't handle her. She is just so great. She is definitely one of the best lead woman.
    Synopsis time!
    Ananna saves the life of the assassin that wa ssent to kill, resulting in a curse dubbed "The Assassin's Curse." She and Naji, the assassin boy, have to travel to break the curse meeting many great support characters on the way. There is a sequel, which let me tell you is honest to god better than this one, and this one, as I stated before, is brilliant. I think that says a lot. It has chuckle-worthy, cringe-worthy, and swoon-eorthy moments. READ IT PLEASE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    .

    Love this book!! The tone of the story and the imagery of the words make it all come alive. I'd definitely reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    N,ru

    Mgj xxklkl

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    This book is one of my all time favorites! Strong heroine, grea

    This book is one of my all time favorites! Strong heroine, great adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    Amazing! If you love pirate's and good curses, you'll love this

    Amazing! If you love pirate's and good curses, you'll love this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    BEST PIRATE BOOK EVER !!!!!!!!

    If youblike pirate books then this is pretty good. I mean I hateed pirate nooks but know I'm a firm beliver in good pirate books. I just cant wait till the second book comes out. Oh snd fyi and its coming out like June 4th of 2013 so be on the watch out. But I mean it ha dthe perfect balnce of romamce and action I loved it. I say it would be recommended for ages 11 and up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    LOOVEEEE !!!!!!

    Cant Wait For The Next Book!!!!!!!!!!! xD. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy and adventure lovers will be thoroughly sold; Recommended!

    The Assassin's Curse is only the beginning to a series that will sweep readers into a fantastic world filled with pirates and magic! Cassandra Rose Clarke introduces a humorous and adventuresome heroine with a knack for finding trouble. Ananna knows just about everything there is to know about being a Confederation pirate and the way of life on sea. However, when she runs away to avoid an arranged marriage her parents have planned, Ananna realizes that she's hopeless when it comes to staying out of danger and away from magic.

    Naji, the assassin sent to kill her by her parents' scorned ally, is cursed with an impossible curse which Ananna triggers with a thoughtless action. Their journey together begins as they search for a way to break the curse, traveling far and into dangerous territories. Ananna and Naji complement each other very subtly because they're complete opposites, but they are a perfect team nonetheless. Where Naji is fierce and intimidating, Ananna is actually a little harder to peg. She has big dreams and little fears, and while she's not always confident in herself she has enough attitude to make up for it. Surely, Ananna will be a surprising character throughout the series!

    Clarke has created an extremely unique voice within Ananna that sets The Assassin's Curse apart from many young adult novels. Her dialect isn't prim and proper, but that of a seasoned pirate. Though raised among thieves and sketchy characters, Ananna is compassionate and not always quick to judge. She's a conundrum whose story readers will love following. The story sets a quick, steady pace that will leave readers hanging on to the very last scenes for dear life. Fantasy and adventure lovers will be thoroughly sold to this series after just a little taste of The Assassin's Curse!

    *eGalley provided through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2