BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Asylum

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you like gothic stories, then this third novel by John Harwoo

If you like gothic stories, then this third novel by John Harwood is sure to please. Set in the Victorian era, it opens with a young woman named Georgina Ferrars who wakes up in an insane asylum. She is confused, for her memory has faded. She has no memory of how she ar...
If you like gothic stories, then this third novel by John Harwood is sure to please. Set in the Victorian era, it opens with a young woman named Georgina Ferrars who wakes up in an insane asylum. She is confused, for her memory has faded. She has no memory of how she arrived there and the asylum doctor and nurses tell her that gave her name as Lucy Ashton. But she knows this is false – she is truly Georgina, but the more she tries to convince the doctor of her true identity, the less they believe her and the more she finds herself trapped in the asylum. What ensues is a gripping mystery about stolen identities, greed, betrayal, and murder. A real page-turner! I do not wish to reveal any more information to avoid any spoilers. The author takes the reader on a journey through time, revealing mere tidbits of information as the truth is slowly revealed. Although the ending is highly satisfying, I did find the final scenes pertaining to the electronic device a little hard to believe.




I have not read any books by John Harwood before, but I definitely intend to do so. He knows how to weave a good story and create spell-binding characters. He has the talent to create a creepy mood while you’re reading the book, so read with care so that you don’t miss any of the clues he drops into various scenes. Gothic mystery at its best!

posted by Mirella on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

With the essentials and a perfect overall Gothic atmosphere that

With the essentials and a perfect overall Gothic atmosphere that mirrors some of the classics of the genre: Lady Audley's Secret, The Woman in White and even a nod to Rebecca, The Asylum is a tale that may find its way to the top of many Gothic Victorian admirers' readi...
With the essentials and a perfect overall Gothic atmosphere that mirrors some of the classics of the genre: Lady Audley's Secret, The Woman in White and even a nod to Rebecca, The Asylum is a tale that may find its way to the top of many Gothic Victorian admirers' reading lists. The novel provides superb description and story building that may leave the reader finishing this novel in one sitting. Mr. Harwood has captured the Victorian timeline complete with research of many elements such as believable dialogue, enlightenment on the psychological and psychosomatic beliefs and practices of the time period and created an intriguing tale all swirling around the obscurity and oddly this still ended in disappoint for this reviewer. The novel starts with classic mystery narration but then ends with a rapid procession of unbelievable coincidences that may be justified with the saying "stranger things have happened". True, stranger things have happened but The Asylum is a novel that crosses into the saying "stranger tales have been told".


With all the positives there are negatives that must be shared with the potential reader. Unfortunately, the latter parts of the novel did not match the first and the tension sagged with the introduction of the "twists" in the second part. The utmost potential of the setting seemed to be not fully utilized and became lost with the progression of the story. The anticipation of confronting darker themes were introduced and used briefly but then were overshadowed by a string of confusing out of place scenes. True, the ending does end with the unexpected but the ending also concludes with more questions than answers. The last regrettable observation is the modern belief that updated novels that so carefully try to pay homage to the classics must include a shocking scene or a parade of scandalous scenes and The Asylum plays with those notions (and depending on the reader may enjoy). With the positives barely overbalancing the awkward negatives, I'm sorry to say The Asylum is a tossup to be a must-read or be placed on a list to wait to borrow at the local Library.

posted by -TheLadyinPurple on June 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    With the essentials and a perfect overall Gothic atmosphere that

    With the essentials and a perfect overall Gothic atmosphere that mirrors some of the classics of the genre: Lady Audley's Secret, The Woman in White and even a nod to Rebecca, The Asylum is a tale that may find its way to the top of many Gothic Victorian admirers' reading lists. The novel provides superb description and story building that may leave the reader finishing this novel in one sitting. Mr. Harwood has captured the Victorian timeline complete with research of many elements such as believable dialogue, enlightenment on the psychological and psychosomatic beliefs and practices of the time period and created an intriguing tale all swirling around the obscurity and oddly this still ended in disappoint for this reviewer. The novel starts with classic mystery narration but then ends with a rapid procession of unbelievable coincidences that may be justified with the saying "stranger things have happened". True, stranger things have happened but The Asylum is a novel that crosses into the saying "stranger tales have been told".


    With all the positives there are negatives that must be shared with the potential reader. Unfortunately, the latter parts of the novel did not match the first and the tension sagged with the introduction of the "twists" in the second part. The utmost potential of the setting seemed to be not fully utilized and became lost with the progression of the story. The anticipation of confronting darker themes were introduced and used briefly but then were overshadowed by a string of confusing out of place scenes. True, the ending does end with the unexpected but the ending also concludes with more questions than answers. The last regrettable observation is the modern belief that updated novels that so carefully try to pay homage to the classics must include a shocking scene or a parade of scandalous scenes and The Asylum plays with those notions (and depending on the reader may enjoy). With the positives barely overbalancing the awkward negatives, I'm sorry to say The Asylum is a tossup to be a must-read or be placed on a list to wait to borrow at the local Library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    John Harwood copied parts of book called 'The Medea Complex' by

    John Harwood copied parts of book called 'The Medea Complex' by Rachel Florence Roberts. The Medea Complex is a much better read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you like gothic stories, then this third novel by John Harwoo

    If you like gothic stories, then this third novel by John Harwood is sure to please. Set in the Victorian era, it opens with a young woman named Georgina Ferrars who wakes up in an insane asylum. She is confused, for her memory has faded. She has no memory of how she arrived there and the asylum doctor and nurses tell her that gave her name as Lucy Ashton. But she knows this is false – she is truly Georgina, but the more she tries to convince the doctor of her true identity, the less they believe her and the more she finds herself trapped in the asylum. What ensues is a gripping mystery about stolen identities, greed, betrayal, and murder. A real page-turner! I do not wish to reveal any more information to avoid any spoilers. The author takes the reader on a journey through time, revealing mere tidbits of information as the truth is slowly revealed. Although the ending is highly satisfying, I did find the final scenes pertaining to the electronic device a little hard to believe.




    I have not read any books by John Harwood before, but I definitely intend to do so. He knows how to weave a good story and create spell-binding characters. He has the talent to create a creepy mood while you’re reading the book, so read with care so that you don’t miss any of the clues he drops into various scenes. Gothic mystery at its best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Review **

    It kept me interested. A light quick read. ehj13

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    I truly wanted to enjoy this book, but turned the final page wit

    I truly wanted to enjoy this book, but turned the final page with a sigh of disappointment. The writing style was wonderful, and the opening narrative allowed for many interesting paths the story could follow. But Part Two introduced decades old letters from a mystery relative with uncanny relevance to the heroine's daily life, which led her rather directly along a path manipulated from the outset by an unseen evildoer. Motivations were forced, plot was convoluted and a final monologue when the mystery is at last revealed left me groaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    The last third of this novel was just terrible.  It was rushed,

    The last third of this novel was just terrible.  It was rushed, poorly constructed, the ending was practically phoned in.  I was so disappointed because it seemed really promising literally until the final 60 pages or so.  I honestly wouldn't bother.  If you're looking for a good mystery with a satisfying, logical ending- don't look here.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Ciel

    To you as well sebastitan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Maybe not so far fetched...........

    Identiy theft? Lie vs. Truth? Forced insanity? One answer just leads to two more questions! This is certainly not a cookie-cutter plot........and that's what makes it a good read. Lots of twists and imagination in this work. The truth is revealed in layers. Am interested in reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Good read !

    I work in a psyche hospital so I find this a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Alayna

    Pfft, who needs sleep?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    O.o

    Whenever i read about the guardian, the first thing i think is: WHAT IS THAT THING?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    KHfan4ever

    Love it. Continue!!!!!<p>&#9825KHfan4ever&#9825

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Raylen

    I love it! It's quite imaginative. One thing, you should explain why this creature guarss the ayslum. Is it something it was bound to? Was it a patient that died there?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Hullo!

    Its meeeeeeeeeeeee again! These asylum guardians remind me of dementors from harry potter. Anyone else see the connection?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Gargamel

    Sounds like the prologue is over--and the action is just beginning!! I want you to know, that I actually plan on advertizing this story for you, because everyone should read it. This is good nook writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    XY

    Whoa. Creepy, gruesome, and cool.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    CHAPTER THREE - THE HUNT

    It became dark and night was upon us. We were grieving the loss of the family pet, but we still found time to watch the last thirty minutes of America's Funniest Home Videos at eight pm. Needless to say, there was no laughing from our perspective. <br>
    Ten o'clock, time for bed. Alex was already asleep. I brushed my teeth and got in bed smoothly enough not to disturb my little brother. <br>
    It was a restless night. I heard something outside walking around in the back yard. That was all i could take. I got some blankets, found a nice secure closet with no windows, and locked myself inside until morning. I got about an hour worth of sleep as i slipped in and out of consciousness. Ten minutes before my alarm clock went off, I carried myself back to my bed. I was exhausted. I nearly did a nosedive into my cereal thirty minutes later. I knew what I was going to do, I was going to get some sleep without that... thing bothering me. But how? <br>
    I saw the answer later while getting dressed on my older brother's bedside table. A fully loaded .45 cal. <br>
    Another borring day of school. As soon as I got home I ran upstairs and emptied my backpack. In place of my school supplies, I stored $50, a matchbox, a flashlight, a neon yellow bunge chord, and a few cans of pork and beans. I threw my bag over one shoulder and shoved my brother's pistol in my left pocket, along with my dad's pocket knife. I left a note simply saying that I would be back before dark and had all that I would need. <br>
    I walked out the back door and into the woods. I traveled for about 15 minutes before I was sure it was following me. Nowt all I needed was to get it in good range where I could make sure I had a good shot. I had used this gun before at a shooting range, and my dad said I was a "da<_>mn fine shooter." Well, time to put that to the test. <br>
    I walked in circles for the next few hours and finally decided to rest. It was all nice and calm except for the distant crunching of leafs. It was really close. I looked at my pack lying next to me and took out the pocket knife and bunge chord, tying it around the tree and splicing it with a branch so that I could find out where I hid my things. I then proceeded to cover my pack with leafs. <br>
    I shouldn't have done that. <br>
    As I continued stacking leaves over my pack, my finger struck a large bleach-white stone. I went to pick it up and my fingers sunk into two deep holes right next to each other. I jerked my fingers out and uncovered it. What I saw was not a stone at, it was a human skull. I threw myself back in fear. Then I realized that I didn't hear the distant crunching of leafs anymore. Something right behind me was breathing heavily. <br>
    I looked up and stared right into the glowing eyes of the guardian. I scrambled for the gun in my pocket when it brought a long clawed hand down across my arm, cutting a deep gash in the flesh. I bled horribly, it must have ruptured a blood vessel. The last thing I remember was watching two men in all-white clothing with surgical masks and caps on step forward and stand over me. <br>
    That was when I blacked out.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Asylum Regular

    Psych-ic ward is where i belong.

    0 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2