Customer Reviews for

The Asylum Interviews: Bronx: An Asylum Tales Short Story

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Prequel short story

I received a free copy if this ebook from the author from a giveaway on a blog/book review site, Literal Addiction. I haven't read any of Jocelynn's other work...but that will change :-)
The Asylum Inerviews:Bronx is a short story that is 64 pages long and tells the ta...
I received a free copy if this ebook from the author from a giveaway on a blog/book review site, Literal Addiction. I haven't read any of Jocelynn's other work...but that will change :-)
The Asylum Inerviews:Bronx is a short story that is 64 pages long and tells the tale of how Gage, the owner of Asylum Tattoo and Bronx, a troll met and came to work together. You also meet Parker, an incubus and a couple of other magical beings. There is a bit of action but it is mostly about world and character development.
I am glad that I won the drawing and had a chance to read a story and discover an author I may not have otherwise. I will definitely be adding Jocelynn Drake to my authors to read list and will be checking out the next short story, The Asylum Interviews:Trixie when it is released in September and then Angel's Ink in October!

P.S. you get a sneak peek at Angel's Ink (first two chapters) at the end of the story.

Tami P

posted by navywife001 on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The story read like a bunch of women trying to be men

Let me start this review by saying that since it was a short work, the review will be shorter than usual. That being said, I did not enjoy this novella as much as I wanted to. Drake wrote from the first person perspective of Gage, a male tattoo artist. However, Gage, no...
Let me start this review by saying that since it was a short work, the review will be shorter than usual. That being said, I did not enjoy this novella as much as I wanted to. Drake wrote from the first person perspective of Gage, a male tattoo artist. However, Gage, nor any of the other men in the novel, came across as men. They came across as a bunch of gossiping women. It was very clear that a female was writing this instead of a man, and I couldn't buy the male perspective for a minute. Men just don't sit around drinking and talking about feelings. They sit around drinking and talking about obscene things, video games, and sports. Not how much they love someone. That just really bugged me. Because of that, I couldn't get into the story.


The world Drake created was intriguing, at least. I really love it when all of the supernatural creatures are out in the open like they are in this book. The way the world operates reminded me of Kim Harrison's The Hollows series. The writing itself was good, too, and the pacing was pretty spot on. I was never bored throughout this novel. As I said, my main (and really only) problem with this book is that I just didn't buy that the story was being told by a man about himself and his male friends. It just wasn't believable. However, the rest of the book was excellent, and I will be giving the full length novel a try as well before making a final judgment on the series.


Overall, I'd say give this a try since it's just a novella. It gives you a chance to get to know the characters, for one thing, even if they do act like a bunch of gossipy old women. Also, it introduces you to the captivating world that Drake has created. Fans of Kim Harrison and Laurell K Hamilton will love this series.

posted by Falln2books on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Good short story

    Also helps to plump up main story. I like Bronx.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    A good start.

    I am still a bit lost, hower it made me want to read the 2nd short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1