Customer Reviews for

The Attorney (Paul Madriani Series #5)

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    Disappointing

    Details for everyday mundane tasks aren't exciting reading. In this book I became bored of the incessant details the author provides of everyday activities. For example if the main character is driving the author descibes every turn made in the car and its irrelevant to the story. After reading through details like this I put the book down because it seemed a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    'The Attorney' Falls Flat

    This is my first reading of Martini's work. Hope his earlier stuff was much better. Not in the same league as Michael Connelly. I was greatly disappointed with the ending. My impression was he had written 400 pages and he was having a difficult time in figuring out how to neatly tie things up. Medical detail at trial (DNA) required too many pages and was boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Excellent book once you make it all the way until the end.

    Excellent book once you make it all the way until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Series Entry

    In this, the fifth book of Martini's Paul Madriani series, Paul has moved to San Diego to be near his new love, Susan McKay. Susan is the head of the county's Child Protective Services agency, and they met at a conference about children's rights. Now they are pitted together in a case that will strain their relationship.

    One of Paul's old clients, Jonah Hale, comes to him for help. Since the first time Paul helped him, Jonah has won a lottery and is now newly rich. He and his wife continue to live modestly, however, their main focus raising their granddaughter, Amanda. Amanda's mother has had trouble with drugs for years and the petty crime that surrounds that has landed her in prison so the grandparents have custody.

    Now Jessica, the mother, is out of prison and demanding money or she will take her daughter away from the loving grandparents. Jonah comes to Paul when Amanda is kidnapped. They are sure Jessica has taken her away, aided by a fiery feminist who makes it her life work to help mothers in custody battles. Her name is Zo Suade, and she is notorious for using any tactics imaginable to win.

    Jonah hires Paul to find Amanda and bring her home. The stakes are raised when Zo is found murdered, Jonah the top suspect. The battle shifts to the courtroom where Jonah is charged with first degree murder. Can Paul free Jonah? Will the conflict between Jonah's case and Susan's career affect their relationship?

    Readers of the Paul Madriani series will welcome this new one. Those, like this reviewer, who come to the series cold will find that prior knowledge of the characters is not necessary. This is a satisfying, courtroom and behind the scenes look at the legal profession. This book is recommended for mystery lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    An ok book

    An attorney takes a case involving a rich man and his grand-daughter who has been taken by his daughter. His daughter is a druggie and he is worried. The attorney's girlfriend works for child protective services. It is suspenseful but too much court stuff for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    the attorney

    Do you want to read a thriller with some really great twist and turns? Then I suggest that you read The Attorney by Steve Martini.


    Having moved to San Diego to be closer to the woman in his life, Madriani takes on the case of Jonah Hale, an elderly man in dire straits. As a result of their only child Jessica's longtime drug addiction, Jonah and his wife have been raising their eight-year-old granddaughter, Amanda. On the heels of Jonah's multimillion-dollar state lottery win, Jessica revives her interest in mothering. Now with all this crazy twist and turns this crazy lady name Suade makes Paul's life a nightmare to search and find clues to find Amanda. But when Suade gets shot Jonah is soon to be blamed for her death. But maybe we'll never know if he really did or if Paul was able to get Amanda back. You may never know unless you read this compelling book.


    Paul Madriani isn't like your average PI he tries everything in his power to get to the truth and getting justice. Steve Martini portrays Paul as a kind man with a heart that wants to help weak. I think that Paul is pretty much a cookie cut character of a hero that wants to save the weak. Steve Martini uses some great suspense that kept me thinking throughout the whole book it was really good. I enjoyed great factor of the whole thing was able to fit together.

    Things that I liked about the book were the great suspense thrills and chills it gave me. The book was in first person and was really easy to follow. The book didn't disappoint me at all. The whole thing was good. I recommend that you read and I give it two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Outstanding and I'm not done reading.

    I don't read books except the bible. This is my second novel. I can't remember what my first novel was. I didn't think I would complete reading this book. I started reading a week ago and I am on chapter 22 now. The suspense is killing me. I can't wait to the end. I am hooked on Steve Martini. For now on I will only buy these novels. He need to make the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    A Great Law Book

    This book was my 1st Steve Martini book and it was great. I kind of bogged down in the court room details but am glad I stuck with it to the end. Very interesting ending and well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    what a great book

    this is the first law book i ever read, i finished this book in 2 days and on the second day i went out and bought more (one of which is "the judge" by steve martini which is also awesome!) this book got me into this kind of genre, i went back and read it the other day, and realized it wasn't as good as when i first read it, but it did a lot for a first time reader. i totally recomend it this is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    Another Good Martini Novel!

    I enjoyed this book as with all of his...but my favorite Martini novel is The Judge...go out and get it before you get any others and you will be hooked on Steve Martini!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Okay, but not great.

    I've read all of Martini's books and he seems to have taken a turn for the worse in his recent writing. This book was okay, but not nearly as entertaining as his previous books. However, some of the characters are really funny and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Another Hit

    He had me convinced that the killer was one person and it turned out to be another. Very clever writing. The ending was a shocker!!! Like his other books..very detail...its like you can visualize the scene. Court room drama is very real. Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Dont Stop Reading This Book!!

    Just when you think you know where the book is going it takes another turn....I found that he did an excellant job with this book. The ending really surprised me....but he did an excellent paul harvey at least he told you the end.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    Fabulous

    'The Attorney', brings likeable characters back . It was a great story line with lots of believable action. For the most part, though it was lots and lots of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    I guessed who did it!!!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this one by Mr. Martini. Subtle and smooth, his writing keeps a good pace, with fast action. Book flys by with hours of diversion....if you haven't read anything by this man,,,,you are really missing a good author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    Better than a Movie!

    Mr. Martini certainly has a way of putting the reader into the scene. With phrases such as: 'Cops seem to have a sixth sense, a traction beam that carries them to the scene of violent death, like iron filings drawn to a magnet.'; his descriptions rival a movie scene. The Attorney has a surprise around every corner. Just when the reader thinks he knows what's about to happen, a totally new element is introduced. Great writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    Martini's Best Yet!

    This is a real page turner. Can't put it down. It is the best Martini's yet.'Shaken not Stirred' After reading critical mass I thought that Martini had reached the top, but this one is better than the others by far. Great twists and turns and the end will take your breath away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2