BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society is a great squeal to the Fri

The Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society is a great squeal to the Friendship Bread. This book introduces new characters but also keeps you involved with a few of the characters from the first book. Darien does a wonderful job of showing you the lives of her characters. Sh...
The Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society is a great squeal to the Friendship Bread. This book introduces new characters but also keeps you involved with a few of the characters from the first book. Darien does a wonderful job of showing you the lives of her characters. She lets you see their happy moments, struggles, and heartaches all while they try to preserve memories. It's wonderful how she can show how a community can come together to help those in need. Just as the Friendship Bread got you baking, the Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society will get you scrapbooking in no time. I can't wait to see what else Darien can bring us from this small town of Avalon.

posted by KiraE on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Among the aspects of scrapbooking I¿ve always appreciated is the

Among the aspects of scrapbooking I’ve always appreciated is the creator’s ability to shape reality.

When I’m choosing subject matter, I can emphasize happy moments and minimize — or entirely omit —  ugly ones.

When I’m cropping photos, I can crop out my fat thighs.

...
Among the aspects of scrapbooking I’ve always appreciated is the creator’s ability to shape reality.

When I’m choosing subject matter, I can emphasize happy moments and minimize — or entirely omit —  ugly ones.

When I’m cropping photos, I can crop out my fat thighs.

When I’m adding a caption, I can be the clever girl I never manage to be in person.

In the end, all the disparate pieces and parts of my life fit neatly into a scrapbook page with the perfect background and pretty embellishments.
That’s how I felt Darien Gee wrote “The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society.”

It’s all a little too neat and sweet.

It’s well paced and I enjoyed most of the characters, and I even found tears welling up in my eyes as certain emotional moments played out.

So I liked it.

But I don’t believe it.

An heiress runs away from her controlling family to become … a plumber? Really?

A woman whose husband leaves her and impregnates another woman before he dies suddenly …. becomes friends with her dead husband’s mistress? Really?

The town’s eccentric scrapbooking saleswoman is still going strong … at 77? Sorry, no. I’m a scrapbooker. I worked for a scrapbooking company. I’ve attended hundreds of scrapbooking workshops. And I know how heavy scrapbooking supplies are. Seventy-seven-year-olds pushing paper packs and albums are rare indeed.

It’s all cute and described delightfully, but in the end the town of Avalon and its scrapbookers are a fun distraction without a whole lot of substance.

posted by MindfulMonica1 on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Among the aspects of scrapbooking I¿ve always appreciated is the

    Among the aspects of scrapbooking I’ve always appreciated is the creator’s ability to shape reality.

    When I’m choosing subject matter, I can emphasize happy moments and minimize — or entirely omit —  ugly ones.

    When I’m cropping photos, I can crop out my fat thighs.

    When I’m adding a caption, I can be the clever girl I never manage to be in person.

    In the end, all the disparate pieces and parts of my life fit neatly into a scrapbook page with the perfect background and pretty embellishments.
    That’s how I felt Darien Gee wrote “The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society.”

    It’s all a little too neat and sweet.

    It’s well paced and I enjoyed most of the characters, and I even found tears welling up in my eyes as certain emotional moments played out.

    So I liked it.

    But I don’t believe it.

    An heiress runs away from her controlling family to become … a plumber? Really?

    A woman whose husband leaves her and impregnates another woman before he dies suddenly …. becomes friends with her dead husband’s mistress? Really?

    The town’s eccentric scrapbooking saleswoman is still going strong … at 77? Sorry, no. I’m a scrapbooker. I worked for a scrapbooking company. I’ve attended hundreds of scrapbooking workshops. And I know how heavy scrapbooking supplies are. Seventy-seven-year-olds pushing paper packs and albums are rare indeed.

    It’s all cute and described delightfully, but in the end the town of Avalon and its scrapbookers are a fun distraction without a whole lot of substance.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society is a great squeal to the Fri

    The Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society is a great squeal to the Friendship Bread. This book introduces new characters but also keeps you involved with a few of the characters from the first book. Darien does a wonderful job of showing you the lives of her characters. She lets you see their happy moments, struggles, and heartaches all while they try to preserve memories. It's wonderful how she can show how a community can come together to help those in need. Just as the Friendship Bread got you baking, the Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society will get you scrapbooking in no time. I can't wait to see what else Darien can bring us from this small town of Avalon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I write this today, which is the book release of The Avalon Ladi

    I write this today, which is the book release of The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society: A Novel by author Darien Gee, who also writes under the name Mia King. Her first novel, Friendship Bread is a tasty fiction book full of Amish Friendship Bread recipes.

    This is breaking news! For any author the release date has to be seen as giving birth day when your book is released into the public and from there it will truly have a chance to grow and be shared with many. So today is the birth day of The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society by Darien Gee. Will you help it grow? It is already ranked and off to a great start. 

    The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society (ALSS) book is set in Avalon population 4,243 and is a small river town in Illinois. The book is about a group of women who form deep friendships and sharing together, bringing in other women into their circle by way of scrapbooking. The leader and founder of ALSS, Bettie shares her passion of scrapbooking and wants everyone to preserve their precious memories. Through this group, the women share their past and work together to help one another move into their future by dealing and working through their life issues. 

    Just like Friendship Bread, ALSS is chocked full of carefully developed characters which Gee shares with us in this town of Avalon. The book made me laugh, shout for joy, shed tears of sadness as well as tears of joy. Gee crafts the novel to draw the reader into Avalon and be a part of the town which is why I felt all those emotions reading the book. I truly felt the emotions of the characters. Now this, friends, is a perfect example of a book full of developed characters. 

    In case you are wondering, yes you can read this book if you haven't read the first book, Friendship Bread and if you aren't into scrapbooking ;) Did I mention the book has recipes? I love fiction books with recipes which Darien Gee and Mia King books always include.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Cozy book

    This book made me feel as though these people were people I knew and I enjoyed reading about them and their lives. The happy and the sad..and finding renewal after some tough bumps in the road.It was a comforting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Fluffy

    Despite the fact scrapbooking isn't my thing, the story sounded interesting. It really wasn't. Characters were rather simple, but pleasant. In its favor it was a quick read and somewhat entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Small town life at its best.

    Having grown up in a very small town, this book was like going home-a reminder of the friendships and caring found where people really get to know each other. As a scrapbooker, I enjoyed the scrap booking, but a love of scrap booking is not a requisite for the enjoyment of this story. The author makes us care about the characters-about their strengths, weaknesses and struggles. There is sadness, joy, and laughter. I liked Avalon, IL and it's residents.
    My only difficulty with this book is the way the author jumps suddenly from one character to another making for difficult transitions when there are so many names to keep straight.
    I do praise the author for her compassionate treatment of one character's struggle with Dementia and the townspeople's reaction and support.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    recommended

    easy read---great story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Enjoyable

    This is a gentle, happy read. The trials and tribulations of small-town living are brought to life by the colorful citizens of Avalon, Illinois.
    As the Amish Friendship Bread is featured in Gee's book FRIENDSHIP BREAD, this sequel (although not necessary to read in order)highlights the pleasures of scrapbooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Ok, but...

    I love scrapbooking, and don't mind many characters in a book, but this one just spent too much time jumping around. Finally I gave up about 200 pages in. I just didn't care enough to find out how it resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    check I tout

    really good cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Do all pieces have to fit?

    Unlike a puzzle, no. A scrapbook is a record, and these members bring all sorts of stories, pictures, losses, gains, why's and what's together to make a one of a kind scrapbook of lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Love Darien's books!

    Love Darien's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book brings us back to Avalon IL, and our friends from Frie

    This book brings us back to Avalon IL, and our friends from Friendship Bread and Madeline's Tea Room. How great to be able to spend time again with these remarkable women. We also meet some of the other residents of this great town.
    Bette has done with scrap booking what friendship bread did for the community in the last book. Although, loaves of this amazing starter keep showing up.
    Bette is an awesome, sweet, elderly lady, that runs a scrap booking business. She is suffering from a form of dementia, and the sweet soul is actually quite funny. She gives away a lot of her supplies, and makes each and everyone feel special. She has been gifted with a talent to help one find their inner self.
    Isabelle is Bette's neighbor, and don't think she ever knew when and where Bette would appear. We find a gruff exterior in Isabelle as the book opens, but I never expected what would happen.
    Madeline is still running the tea shop, and Connie still lives with her, now including a goat named Serena...keeping them on their toes!
    This story comes at you from a lot of directions, some have lost love ones because of deceit, others from divorce, and others from death. We have couple of stories of adoption, and the heart ache both good and bad that comes with it. We enjoy life with adorable Max, a precocious three year old!
    Don't miss this one, would recommend you read the first book, but this can stand alone. We end with an epilogue, which I loved! Also included are some great tips for Scrap Booking, and then some recipes that were used in the book!!

    I received this book through Net Galley and Random House Publishing, and was not required to give a positive review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    THE AVALON LADIES SCRAPBOOKING SOCIETY is an amazing read!  I ha

    THE AVALON LADIES SCRAPBOOKING SOCIETY is an amazing read!  I have never read a book where numerous characters were introduced and their personalities developed with such skill and emotional insight. Here you encounter a goat and a young Chinese girl as the story begins, and shortly thereafter you're making the acquaintance of an elderly scrapbook maven (who I happened to find extremely endearing), a plumber, the mother of many boys, a crotchety old man, and the list goes on. Life for these people is much the same as it is for all of us. They have pasts with joy and some regrets, and now in the present they are trying to hold onto their memories or, in some instances, forget them or reconcile them in order to move on in their life. Memory keeping becomes the thread that pulls them together and binds them.  In at least one instance, they keep memories alive for one of their fellow citizens who has become such a part of them and their memories. I never thought of so many ways of "keeping" memories until I read this book! If you must put this book down in between chapters as I was forced to do, (life has its demands.), don't fret, because you can pick this book up where you left off, and all of these lovely people will still be there waiting for you to join in the living of their lives. Pick up your cup of tea, get comfy, and pick up where you left off.  I must say, that as the final chapter came to a close, I had a difficult time leaving Avalon. it had become a part of me. I then did what i had to do:  I picked up my unread copy of FRIENDSHIP BREAD and began reading.  Ahhhh....back in Avalon!                  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful stories that will leave you feeling good.  After read

    Wonderful stories that will leave you feeling good. 

    After reading The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society byDarien Gee, I want to move to Avalon, Illinois. Who wouldn't want to live in a small town where everyone knows each other and even the meanest and grumpiest of the inhabitants are really good at heart? 




    The author deftly uses the Scrapbooking Society as a metaphor for the theme of community and support throughout the book. Just like their individual stories, each of their scrapbooks were different and unique, but like the community, they were also full of examples of sharing and collaboration. In other words, like the lives of the characters they were both separate and yet intertwined. The support that they gave to each other in their everyday lives was a great example of all that is good and right in towns and communities all over the world. This spirit was never more in evidence than when trouble befell one of the inhabitants and the town pulled together. 




    I was a bit confused, at first, by the author's lack of introduction to the characters and thought that the beginning of the book was the weakest part. It seemed that she just jumped into talking about them without really giving the background of who they were or why they were paired together, as in the case of Madeleine and Connie. It was almost like we should already know that information. I realized part way through that, in fact, not only was it her second book, but many of the characters had also appeared in her first book. I still haven't read Friendship Bread, but I think that if I had I would have already been familiar with the characters and therefore the beginning would have flowed better for me. I will give her credit, though, as she filled in the missing pieces, or enough of them, as the book progressed, to make this book work well as a stand alone. By the end of the book, the only reason that I wanted to read Friendship Bread was because I was in love with Avalon and it's inhabitants, not because I felt the need for any extra explanation on the characters in the Scrapbooking Society. What more could a reader ask for? 




    In the end, what really sold me on this book was the strong characters that Ms. Gee filled the book with. And let me tell you, there are quite a few. Instead of being confusing, though, having such a large cast of characters and viewpoints in the story was what made it work for me. I found myself rooting for Frances and her family, wondering if Yvonne was going to succeed, how was Connie going to resolve her relationship with Serena, how would that affect her relationship with Madeleine, how Ava was going to make a place for her and Max, and how Isabel was going to solve her dilemmas. And through it all there is Bette, the president of the Scrapbooking Society and the tie that binds them all together. As I followed them all past their struggles, through their decisions, and to the conclusion of their stories I just felt good. 




    So - I am picking up a copy of Friendship Bread at the library this week and anxiously awaiting Ms. Gee's next installment in the life and times of Avalon, Ill. I hope she is already working on one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Darien Gee, the author of Friendship Bread takes us back to Aval

    Darien Gee, the author of Friendship Bread takes us back to Avalon, Illinois, population 4243.




    Madeline’s Tea Salon is the place residents meet and catch up and even occasionally get together as a group like the members of The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society founded by Bettie Shelton. Under Bettie’s guidance, even the most reluctant of Avalon’s residents come to terms with their past and make bold decisions about their future.




    Isabel Kidd is fixing up her ramshackle house while sorting through the complications of her late husband’s affair. Ava Catalina is mourning the love of her life and helping her young son grow up without his father. Local plumber Yvonne Tate is smart, beautiful, and new to Avalon, but finds that despite a decade of living life on her own terms, the past has a way of catching up—no matter where she goes. And Frances Latham, mother to a boisterous brood of boys, eagerly anticipates the arrival of a little girl from China—unprepared for the emotional roller coaster of foreign adoption.




    Bettie has helped so many people and now she is facing a trial of her own. Everyone needs to come together and create something truly memorable just for her.








    Darien Gee writes about friendship and she does it masterfully. I was actually sad when I reached the last page. Bettie may not be adored by everyone in Avalon but she sure is the glue that holds the town together. She believes the answer to every problem is scrapbooking and saving memories. It is also the community of scrapbookers and their families that gather together to share their projects and support each other through good times and bad.




    While Bettie is the main character of this story, the supporting characters are written just as well. A few characters return from Gee’s first story but we are introduced to new ones as well. There are several prominent supporting characters. You need to take your time, this is not a book to rush through, so you can really get to know these fabulous. characters and their stories.  I said in my review of Friendship Bread that is was a story to be savored and the same is true with this story. The characters are rich and their stories feel real. One story line reminds me of similar circumstances in the Miss Julia Series by Ann B. Ross.




    Gee has written another heartwarming and inspiring story that you will want to share with all your friends. I can only hope that this is not our last trip to Avalon. Both books are fabulous and can be read as stand alone but you will want to read both and then you will want to bake bread, start scrapbooking and get together with all your friends and family. The recipes and scrapbooking tips are a real added bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

          Darien Gee's sequel to "Friendship Bread" contin

          Darien Gee's sequel to "Friendship Bread" continues to follow the lives of the residents of the quaint town of Avalon. If you've read the previous book, you're already familiar with several of the characters, and will get to know some new ones during this story as well. Activity centers around a cozy tea room and bakery and on the members of the scrapbooking society and their families. The community rallies when the aging society founder and leader begins to suffer with signs of dementia and later loses her home to fire. I enjoyed this book - the characters are well developed, diverse, and easy to relate to. Their heartaches, sorrows, victories and joys are a lot like our own. The story stands on its own whether you've read the previous book or not, but I highly recommend you read them both. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    ¿It¿s a day of sharing and togetherness, of family and friends,

    “It’s a day of sharing and togetherness, of family and friends, of memories to be made and not easily forgotten.” The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society (TALSS) by Darien Gee takes you into a town you wish existed and you could move to. Where else can you become friends/family with someone you believe to be your enemy. Where love is so strong you take care of friends like family, when a memory fades due to health. Nowhere but Avalon, join them for scrapbooking and tea. Let the ladies of TALSS show you what true friends are and how family (no matter what form two or four-legged) stands behind you. An excellent follow up to Friendship Bread, Gee’s earlier novel. The starter for the friendship bread lives on (recipe included in Friendship Bread or her blog) and the scrapbooking memories (tips included) will keep your memories in a place you see every day and in your heart. I had the privilege of an early release copy and enjoyed it so much. We can hope that Gee takes us back to Avalon, since we can’t move there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2