Customer Reviews for

The Aviator's Wife: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is an amazing novel, it packed the most emotional punch of

This is an amazing novel, it packed the most emotional punch of any book I have read in years.

posted by AvidReaderWB on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Got bored with it

A little over halfway through this I was so bored with it I stopped reading. I loved the other books by this author but this one started out interesting and then got progressively duller.

posted by LynnJB on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted May 2, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting read.

    Very interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    March is Women in history month. Today I am sharing all about A

    March is Women in history month. Today I am sharing all about Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Melanie Benjamin’s novel The Aviator’s Wife is a fictional account of her life. When I was little I loved reading about women and their biographical stories. What can we learn about Anne Lindbergh?
    Synopsis:
    Anne’s story is told in two different story lines. One is in 1974 where the family including Anne is on the way to take Charles Lindbergh to his final resting place. She has a few questions that need answering by Charles before he dies. Will the answers be satisfactory for Anne? The other story line starts in the mid-1920s when an Ambassador’s daughter meets the colonel (Charles Lindbergh) that is famous all over the land. She is the middle daughter and therefore not the one that is expected to marry first. That honor was supposed to go to her sister Elizabeth, but she was not chosen by the famous Lindbergh. What will life be life with him?
    My Thoughts:
    I had wanted to read this novel for a while. I initially did not realize that the subject matter would be Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Ms. Benjamin gives the reader a front row seat for what her life might have been like. You get to understand what it would have been like to be married to Charles Lindbergh. Then also what happened during the Lindbergh baby kidnapping, and how it affected the family.
    I liked this novel. I would definitely read another of Ms. Benjamin’s novel. What I found most interesting was the notes that are included at the end of the novel. It gave me a different perspective on her writing style and what she the author was trying to convey through this novel. She explored the question: Did Anne know about Charles affairs? What was it like for her to be married to a hero? by Jencey Gortney/Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2015

    Read her books and you will see it was a very odd marriage

    He was gone a great deal didnt want her to be with the children and rather forced her to go on flights that were dangerous he had very peculiar ideas about child raising and her interest in anything he was rude and disliked while she covered up for him on the grounds he was shy and unassuming and a genius. he was from an equally disfunctional family an only child she lived to a great age and had all her dairies journals destroyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Very Engaging.

    This book grabs you and doesn't let you go. I learned a lot about Lucky Lindy that I never knew and about his wife Anne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Anne Morrow lived a happy life in the shadows of her political f

    Anne Morrow lived a happy life in the shadows of her political father and her beautiful sister. However, her life turned into a majestic fairytale when she meets Charles Lindbergh, who opens up the whole world to her. Anne lived during a time where women were not their own selves, but carried the identity of being their husbands’ wives. Yet through the encouragement and support of Charles, Anne pushed her limits and accomplished goals she never dreamed were possible. Unfortunately, Anne’s life with the Aviator is not going to be smooth sailing, yet one that is filled with turbulence and heartbreaking events. The Aviator’s Wife tells Anne Morrow Lindbergh’s side of this famous, whirlwind romance.




    Written like a romanticized memoir, Melanie Benjamin transports readers straight into the heart and mind of Anne Morrow Lindbergh. The setting flashes from Anne’s present self in 1974, back through time as she remembers significant events in her relationship with her hero, Charles. Anne’s internal monologue is poetic, with several phrases that will remain in readers’ minds long after they have finished the book. This book brings about some debatable issues when it comes to Charles’ personality and Anne’s acceptance of daily life. Nevertheless, whether or not you like the Lindbergh couple or even remember why you recognize their name, this book is a definite must read.




    Notes:
    This review was written for My Sister's Books.
    This review was originally posted on the Ariesgrl Book Reviews website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Aviator's Wife is the story of a famous man's (Charles Lindb

    The Aviator's Wife is the story of a famous man's (Charles Lindbergh) wife and the strength she possessed to live in his world. In many ways, this was a tribute to how strong a woman can be. I was thrilled to read all of Anne's accomplishments in the field of aviation, ones that were overshadowed in the history books by her husbands feats. The little I knew about Anne was mostly centered on the abduction of her child. Kudos to Melanie Benjamin for giving this woman a voice and her own story.
    I was captivated by this story from the start and drawn into the pages with each chapter. It is well-written and makes you want to keep turning the page to find out what happens next, even when you know how the story progresses. It is not an easy thing to do to write sympathetic characters that do bad things but Benjamin's writing and look at Anne's life gave reason and humanity for some the not-so-nice things about this couple or the times they lived in.
    History may remember the Lindbergh's for Charles' Paris flight and the abduction of their baby but those that read this book will remember them for Anne's strength of character.
    I thoroughly enjoyed this peek behind-the-veil of a story I only thought I knew.
    VIctoria Allman
    Author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    A very good read

    Loved that is was true to the charaters. Well written. Intend to read her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Compelling

    This is a great book club choice offering the reader all the issues and emotional upheavals of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Wonderful historical novel

    A great novel for those of us who love historical novels, the book peaks an interest to learn more about the Lindberg family. THE AVIATOR'S WIFE was our book club selection for April and it was rated highly by all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Recommend highly

    Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Engaging from first to last!

    One of the most fascinating historical novels I have read, and a fine character study!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly recommend this book

    Great historical fiction book. I couldn't put it down. Great writing and great story line. I would read other books by Melanie Benjamin and I recommend it for book groups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    you need to read this book

    I am doing this for my book club. It is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Excellent book

    The Aviator's Wife is an excellent book. Great read for a book club......From start to finish it's a page turner. Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    highly recommend

    may not all be true but quite interesting - many facts not known about Lindberg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    I loved this book. Up there with the best ones I have read...and I have read a lot of books!

    Melanie Benjamin tells an engrossing tale of the wife of famous aviator Charles Lindberg, Anne Morrow Lindberg. She took a backseat position to her husband for much of her life, supporting him and raising their children. This story tells us the other side of this wonderful woman, about her great courage and self realization and strength in her own self.

    I loved her tale so much I am now ready Anne Lindberg's own book called "Gifts from the Sea".

    Sandine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Thought provoking, excellent read!

    This book was very interesting, historically correct with a story about a husband and wife, it made me want to find out more about this famous couple and the events surrounding the abduction of their son. I found myself trying to put myself in the wife's shoes.....how would I have reacted, what would I have done? Great read for a book club!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    A great first-hand account of historical happenings.

    As a wife of a former small pilot, I was particularly interested in the flying detail and life style of Mrs. Lindberg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    A great read!

    I really loved this book. So well written and moving. Learned a lot about the Lindberghs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Again I am sucked into a Melanie Benjamin historical fiction boo

    Again I am sucked into a Melanie Benjamin historical fiction book.  This time the narrator is Anne Morrow Lindbergh the wife of aviator Charles Lindbergh.  Anne fell for Charles immediately and you might say Charles felt the same.  He taught how to fly an airplane and they traveled to europe.  They did married and have children. In fact the family was famous but just maybe you heard of the Lindbergh’s after their first son had been kidnapped.




    Just like in Alice I Have Been and The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb,  Melanie Benjamin creates a new voice that feel so real you can’t help but in way hear the voice of Anne Lindbergh in your head.  Just beautifully written and applauses for picking Anne Morrow Lindbergh as a subject to write about.




    I really don’t have any problems with the book except that I wanted more of it.  I read this as slow as possible so I could savor it.




    You can tell a lot of research goes into Melanie Benjamin book.  I can’t wait to see who she chooses to write about next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9