Customer Reviews for

The Aviator's Wife: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is an amazing novel, it packed the most emotional punch of

This is an amazing novel, it packed the most emotional punch of any book I have read in years.

posted by AvidReaderWB on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Got bored with it

A little over halfway through this I was so bored with it I stopped reading. I loved the other books by this author but this one started out interesting and then got progressively duller.

posted by LynnJB on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Very enlightening.

    It was surprising to learn some of the details of the Lindberghs lives if everything in the book is true. It goes to show how everyone is the same... just living in different circumstances. Very well written. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Another great book from one of the best historical fiction writers

    This book is beautifully written as it recounts the life of one half of the one time world's most famous couple. Recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Can't recommend this one...

    The language in this is so overwrought and fawning. It's exhausting to read, like listening to the self centered upper class empty headed daughter of your nasty aunt who married a nouveau riche carpet salesman that sent his only daughter to finishing school. It's like a bad romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Fascinating historical novel about both Anne Morrow and Charles Lindberg

    This book was very simply written, not a fast read, but not one I had to "slog through" either. It held my attention to the very end, and I have suggested it as a selection for my book club. There is so much more to the Lindberg story than I ever knew, and I think they are both represented as being very human, and typically flawed, but amazing individuals. After reading the book I was encouraged to read all of Anne's and Charles' books, as well as their daughter Reeves' account of growing up with Anne and Charles. After reading some of the negative reviews saying that Anne was treated as a weak woman who always deferred to her husband, I would remind readers that she lived a time when wives were very much that way. In the end, Anne broke out of that mold, and forged her own life. Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the fictional account of aviator Charles Lindbergh and h

    This is the fictional account of aviator Charles Lindbergh and his wife Anne Morrow. Anne was the shy sister-- socially awkward and quiet-- when she meet Charles Lindbergh at a family party. In the story, she is shocked to discover that Lindbergh is interested in her, rather than her sister Elizabeth (the sickly yet pretty one that was socially in demand). After a rather sedate courtship, Lindbergh and Anne were married in May 1929.

    Soon she is Lindbergh's partner, learning everything she can about flying and soon sharing the workload on the worldwide flights together. Yet this was the 30s, and Anne was simply seen as the wife of Charles Lindbergh, despite her personal accomplishments.

    In 1930, their first son Charles Jr. was born. And, of course, that little baby was quite famously kidnapped for ransom at 20 months of age. Probably the most famous kidnapping in history. (His body was found months later about 4 miles from his home. It is speculated that the kidnapper dropped him when the ladder broke as he carried Charles Jr. down, and the infant died.)

    The author outlined her goal in a note at the end of the book:

    "...I wanted to make Anne the heroine of her own story, finally-- as in memory (both her written accounts and the public's perception), she is far too often overshadowed by the dominant personality that is Charles Lindbergh. (p. 336)"

    I think this book succeeded on that point. You find yourself frustrated with the lack of acknowledgement of her accomplishments, since she did some pretty amazing things.

    My final word: The book isn't poorly written, isn't horribly boring or filled with drivel. It simply wasn't very exciting, nor did I find it very interesting. I didn't find myself hanging on the book's every word, wondering what would happen next. In fact, it was so forgettable that I didn't think I had finished it, since I couldn't remember anything about the ending. So I picked it up to finish it, and found I recognized everything I was reading, and realized I'd finished this book a month or so ago, and totally forgot it. I thought Lindbergh was really unlikable. I just don't get the public's love affair with him. He was sympathetic to Hitler, and yet they loved him. He could do no wrong. I found some of the dialogue to be unrealistic. This is one of those books that I would have been happy to have never read, even though I like Melanie Benjamin's writing well enough.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Read for book club. We all enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Wonderful read - full of historical events

    Well written story about a wife who stood by her husband through the storms of life, even when she doubted him.

    I felt like I was in the room with Anne as she told her life story as the wife of Charles Lindbergh.

    Highly recommended this as a must read for book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    This was an excellent story. I shall never forget it.

    This was an excellent story. I shall never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Easy and Interesting Summertime Read

    OK, I admit I haven't quite finished it yet, but really enjoy the style of writing plus I'm getting an education. Sure, it is a novel, but some of it must be true! It's a great book for easy summertime reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    A Different Perspective

    Not knowing much about the history beyond the flight across the Atlantic and the kidnapping,this book revealed much about the man and his hangups. I am convinced, after reading LOVING FRANK and THE PARIS WIFE, that genius has a definite downside. A good look at life with the famous from the partner's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Great biographical-type book

    I enjoyed this book about LIndbergh and especially his wife. It was a great read, and enjoyed a story about a strong woman in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Preferred Mrs. Tom Thumb

    Read this for a book club. And I had such a hard time getting into it, I bought the audio version to make sure I finished it in time. If you like the Lindberg story, you may like this book. I was not thrilled with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Please everyone-- read this if you will... but then read the REA

    Please everyone-- read this if you will... but then read the REAL Anne Morrow Lindbergh, a treasure of American writers. Her diaries and letters (even if "heavily edited" as Ms. Benjamin says) are exquisitely written. Her voice is completely different from this historical novel. Fiction is ok, but nothing is like the wonder of reality ...
    Give it a try! She also has some good fiction ("The Steep Ascent")...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    This book was an outstanding look at a section of history I knew

    This book was an outstanding look at a section of history I knew littel about. I shared the book with my 89 year old mother who absolutely LOVED it and wants to read the original works written by Ann Morrow Lindberg.
    It is beautifully and personally written and really captures the inner thoughts and feelings of Ann Morrow Lindberg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Highly a great read

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. Couldn't put it down. If you heard about Charles Lindburgh you would really be interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I don't know if it is the book I disliked so much, or just the c

    I don't know if it is the book I disliked so much, or just the characters (who were based on real people). Lindy came across as an overbearing nut, and I question if he loved Anne at all. Anne, after a while, drove me crazy with her constant whining and self reflection. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Quick read

    Interesting view from Lindbergh's wife! Fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was a great read! It gave you new insight on Anne and Charles Lindbergh's marriage and trials that they faced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    A soaring tale

    Melanie Benjamin writes a credible account of a woman whose name we know but of whom many of us knew little. Anne Morrow Lindbergh is a woman who comes into her own because of and in spite of her domineering husband. Benjamin's research is spot on, as she weaves political and social change into her narrative. In her afterword, Benjamin answers an obvious question by explaining how she blended real events into this fictionalized biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9